SAI Softball Technical Officials 2026: 40 Khelo India Youth Games Engagements, 100-Mark Selection, Applications to 12 November
The Sports Authority of India (SAI) has invited online applications from eligible Softball Technical Officials for the conduct of the Softball competition at the Khelo India Youth Games (KIYG) 2026, Telangana. The notice is dated 1 November 2026, carries Notification No. 05/2026/Softball and administrative file reference 01-28003(01)/32/2026-HO – Events and Competition. SAI intends to select 40 officials for the Games. Online applications opened on 2 November 2026 and must be completed by 12 November 2026 at 5:00 PM IST, the cut-off displayed on SAI's official jobs page.
Understand the opportunity before applying: This notice concerns an event-specific engagement as a Softball Technical Official, not the advertisement of 40 permanent Government of India sports posts. It does not announce a regular pay matrix, monthly salary, fixed honorarium, tenure in months, a written recruitment examination, a personal interview schedule or an application fee. Applicants should not assume any such entitlement or event date from the title of the opportunity.
Official vacancy and organising authority
SAI has not published a UR/OBC/SC/ST/EWS vacancy roster for these 40 engagements. Its separate directions on the male:female mix and the State/UT ceiling concern the final selection composition. They must not be mistaken for additional posts or for vertical caste-category reservations.
Mandatory licence: the first eligibility checkpoint (20 marks)
A valid officiating licence or a pass in an officiating examination is expressly marked mandatory. An applicant meeting the documentary requirement receives 20 marks in this component. The notification distinguishes the relevant authority as follows:
- National Technical Officials (NTOs): an officiating examination or certificate issued by a competent authority up to the year 2026 is the evidence considered.
- International Technical Officials (ITOs): a relevant certificate must have been issued by the appropriate International Federation. The notification says preference will be given to International Technical Officials.
This wording is about Softball officiating credentials. A general sports participation certificate, a coaching certificate, a college degree or attendance at a tournament is not automatically equivalent to an official licence or an officiating examination pass. The two-page notice does not prescribe a minimum Bachelor's degree, B.P.Ed., M.P.Ed., a diploma subject, or a minimum overall number of service years; none should be read into the essential eligibility test.
For practical preparation, examine the name of the certificate issuer, whether the document expressly evidences an officiating examination or licence, the sport/discipline it covers, and the date/year of issue. Upload clear self-attested evidence. For international credentials, retain the federation-issued certificate rather than relying solely on a self-declared international designation.
Exactly how the 100-mark scrutiny works
The entire prescribed scoring system consists of one mandatory licence component and two independent experience-based components. This is a document-based scrutiny matrix, not a newly announced 100-question written exam.
📊 Maximum marks across the three SAI scrutiny components
Total maximum: 100 marks. The two tournament-experience categories are scored separately. Do not assume that the first 40 automatically replace the second 40, or that every event is eligible under both headings. Present genuine event-wise records so the relevant competent authority can decide how each documented officiating assignment fits the published categories.
State/National-level tournament experience: up to 40 marks
Only officiating in tournaments held during 2021–2026 is considered. For this category, the official brackets are:
There is no progressive 10-mark increase after a fifth tournament: this category is capped at 40. A record of six or seven qualifying tournaments stays in the 40-mark bracket. A tournament dated 2020 is outside the specified window, even if the applicant has many years of experience. The notification does not provide an additional score for merely attending, coaching, or playing in a tournament; the criterion concerns officiating experience.
Khelo India Games / National Games experience: another 40 marks
This is a separately identified component. The same 2021–2026 event window and the same count-based brackets apply:
📊 Event-count scoring within either experience category
Worked scoring illustration, not a selection prediction: An applicant with the required valid licence (20), three documented State/National-level officiating assignments (30), and five documented qualifying Khelo India/National Games assignments (40) would have a provisional mathematical total of 90/100, assuming the applications and supporting evidence are accepted and correctly assigned to those two experience categories. This example does not guarantee selection or resolve any possible counting overlap; SAI's scrutiny and final composition rules still apply. A licence alone contributes 20 marks but does not satisfy a 50-mark benchmark where one is expressly imposed.
Female TO provision, 60:40 composition and State/UT limit
The two-page notification contains three selection-level conditions that materially affect an applicant's prospects:
- Male:female Technical Official composition is to be maintained at 60:40. The mathematical ratio on a panel of 40 is 24:16; these are derived proportional counts, not a separately published final sex-wise seat roster or assurance of selection for any individual.
- Female Technical Officials attaining a minimum of 50 marks are stated to be selected directly. Candidates still need the mandatory valid officiating credential and substantiated records. The same notice also provides the overall ratio and State/UT ceiling, but does not explain precisely how the rules would be reconciled in every competing case. An applicant should not treat 50 marks as an unconditional guarantee regardless of those other published constraints.
- At most five Technical Officials may be selected from any one State or Union Territory. A strong 100-mark score alone therefore does not promise a position where the relevant State/UT cap affects the final list.
🥧 Official male:female composition specified by SAI
SAI expressly reserves ties affected by these conditions for resolution by its Steering Committee, which finalises the shortlisted official(s). The announcement does not publish a detailed tie-break score sequence, an interview tiebreaker, a specific certificate-date priority, or a State-wise allotment table; do not assume one.
Age condition: read it precisely
The official wording is that candidates aged 60 or more shall not be considered. This means an applicant must be under 60 at the relevant age-assessment point. The two-page notice does not give an explicit date on which age will be measured. It also does not state a distinct minimum age or an automatic relaxation category. Applicants close to 60 should check SAI's application guidance/clarification rather than infer a cut-off birthday from the application closing date.
What records should a serious applicant prepare?
SAI requires applicants to upload self-attested documents supporting the published criteria. Prepare evidence in a way that lets the scrutiny team independently verify the marks claimed:
The first three rows describe records directly connected to the notification's stated evidence requirements; the latter two are sensible application-preparation guidance, not a new mandatory document checklist invented by SAI. The advertisement does not prescribe exact upload file sizes, a specific document naming convention, or a mandatory Aadhaar/PAN list. Follow whatever the live application interface actually requests rather than relying on unofficial instructions.
Application dates and exact official method
Applications are handled online via SAI's job portal; the two-page notice expressly rejects applications submitted by email or post. The active SAI listing leads to a dedicated Softball Technical Officials recruitment form. This is not a conventional vacancy requiring a printed application addressed to the New Delhi office.
To apply, visit the official Softball application or the SAI official jobs page. Select the Softball Technical Officials KIYG 2026 entry, register/sign in as directed, supply your officiating licence and event-wise work history, upload self-attested evidence, and submit the complete application before the published cut-off. Confirm that you used the Softball 2026 entry rather than the separate Yogasana or other jobs displayed on the same portal. Save any submission acknowledgement supplied by the system.
If the site or eligibility record needs clarification, use official portal support rather than a third-party recruiter. The official application system displays an IT query contact; this does not make emailed job applications valid.
Pay, fee, duty period and Games dates: what is not announced
Remuneration/honorarium: The two-page recruitment notification provides no specific salary, consolidated monthly pay, event honorarium, travel allowance, boarding arrangement or reimbursement amount. This absence does not mean an award of zero rupees, nor does it establish a guaranteed government pay level. The published number of 40 is a headcount, not a salary figure.
Application fee: No application fee amount or category-wise exemption schedule is stated in the official notice. Do not assume that a fee is zero or invent a payment date. Follow the official online page for any actual operational payment instruction.
Work schedule and venue: Telangana is named as the Games location, but the notice does not identify the precise Softball ground, reporting date, number of duty days, accommodation or daily deployment schedule. Likewise, it does not announce a new written examination, admit-card issue, answer-key publication or interview date for this selection. Experience and licensing examinations mentioned in the eligibility criteria refer to previous credentials, not a new recruitment exam.
Why this opportunity is different from a regular SAI recruitment
The principal applicant advantage here is verifiable prior officiating experience, not a general academic syllabus or a fresh government recruitment test. An applicant who holds an officiating licence but cannot document eligible 2021–2026 tournaments has a much weaker evidence base for the 80 experience marks. Conversely, someone with extensive experience but without the mandatory valid officiating credential is not excused from the licence requirement merely because their tournament count is high. The final 40-person panel is also constrained by female-TO provisions, the intended 60:40 composition, and the maximum of five officials from each State/UT. The Steering Committee resolves relevant ties.
The three most consequential practical checks before pressing Submit are: (i) does your uploaded certificate establish a valid national or international Softball officiating credential; (ii) can every tournament counted for marks be proven as an officiating engagement within 2021–2026 and correctly placed in the advertised component; and (iii) did you submit through the correct SAI Softball online form before 12 November 2026, 5 PM IST? These checks directly follow the official criteria and can prevent avoidable rejection or inaccurate scoring.
Original government sources
All scoring thresholds, experience windows, notice identity and engagement-specific restrictions above come from SAI's official notice; the precise 5 PM closing hour is displayed on its government job listing. Conditions that SAI did not specify are identified as such rather than silently filled with standard government-service assumptions.