

BEL E-II Probationary Engineer 2026: 350 Electronics & Mechanical Seats, 125-Q CBT and Two-Year Service Bond
BEL’s 28 October 2026 E-II engineer notification offers 350 regular positions (200 Electronics, 150 Mechanical), with a fully disclosed UR/EWS/OBC/SC/ST roster and 45 identified PwBD slots including backlog—not 45 extra vacancies. Applicants face a 125-question, 120-minute CBT (−0.25 per wrong answer), 1:5 interview shortlisting, 85:15 final weighting, a two-year service agreement with a ₹2 lakh breach clause, and a documented contradiction over the EWS application fee. Apply online by 18 November 2026, 11:59 PM; the CBT is only tentatively set for 22 December.
About the Recruiting Organization
Organization information attached to this recruitment record.

About this Recruitment
Recruitment-specific overview from the published record.
BEL E-II Probationary Engineer 2026: 350 seats, 125-question CBT and the service agreement you must read
Bharat Electronics Limited (BEL) has announced a focused all-India executive-engineering recruitment: 200 Probationary Engineer vacancies in Electronics and 150 in Mechanical, both in E-II Grade under Advertisement No. 17556/HR/All-India/2026, dated 28 October 2026. The 350 advertised positions include backlog vacancies; they are not split across computer science, electrical engineering or unrelated disciplines. BEL is a Navratna defence-electronics public-sector enterprise under the Ministry of Defence, but these positions are BEL engineering posts, not direct military commissions or graduate apprenticeships.
The first filter is not a test score. It is whether your actual engineering degree discipline appears among BEL’s named specialisations, you meet the First Class/Pass Class rule for your reservation category, and your date of birth satisfies the 1 October 2026 age reference. Only then do the 125-question CBT, separate qualifying requirements in CBT and interview, and the 85:15 final merit weighting become relevant. The other decisive condition is a two-year service agreement carrying a ₹2,00,000 breach amount. A candidate comparing BEL with other PSU offers should assess that commitment before applying.
🗓️ The application window and why the time matters
| Milestone | Official provision |
|---|---|
| Advertisement issued | 28 October 2026 — 17556/HR/All-India/2026 |
| Online registration opens | 28 October 2026 at 2:00 PM IST |
| Application and fee payment close | 18 November 2026 at 11:59 PM IST |
| Computer-Based Test (CBT) | 22 December 2026 — tentative, not a guaranteed date |
| CBT call-letter issue date | Not announced |
| Interview date and reporting arrangements | Not announced |
| Answer key / result dates | Not announced |
Candidates apply through the official BEL Careers / Job Notifications section, using the portal associated with this exact advertisement. Do not assume that reaching Step-I registration means the form has been submitted. BEL’s instructions require Step-I contact registration, Step-II full application, document uploads and applicable online fee payment. The final submitted form cannot be edited; candidates should save the PDF and transaction acknowledgement before the portal closes. No printed application or document bundle is to be sent to BEL.
🔍 Reading the 350-seat offer correctly
📊 Compare the two engineering streams by notified seats
| Engineering stream | Vacancies |
|---|---|
| Electronics — E-II | 200 |
| Mechanical — E-II | 150 |
The Electronics stream accounts for 200/350 seats, but a candidate with a Mechanical degree cannot switch streams merely because another discipline has more seats. The education certificate must match the permitted discipline. BEL may increase or reduce the stated vacancy totals at its discretion based on recruitment needs, so the published 350 is the current notified count—not a lifetime guarantee.
📊 The actual vertical reservation roster, combined across both streams
📊 See the five-way reservation share of all 350 seats
| Reservation category | Vacancies |
|---|---|
| Unreserved (UR) | 143 |
| Other Backward Classes — Non-Creamy Layer (OBC-NCL) | 94 |
| Scheduled Castes (SC) | 52 |
| Economically Weaker Sections (EWS) | 35 |
| Scheduled Tribes (ST) | 26 |
The pie uses five mutually exclusive vertical categories adding to 350. A disability-reserved post may also belong to one of these categories; therefore PwBD numbers must not be added again to 350.
| Post / reservation | UR | EWS | OBC-NCL | SC | ST | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Electronics | 81 | 20 | 54 | 30 | 15 | 200 |
| Mechanical | 62 | 15 | 40 | 22 | 11 | 150 |
| Combined | 143 | 35 | 94 | 52 | 26 | 350 |
How to interpret these figures: General-category applicants and eligible applicants from reserved categories can compete for UR seats under applicable rules; UR does not mean an additional caste reservation. OBC here means the Central OBC Non-Creamy Layer category supported by valid documentation; an OBC applicant in the creamy layer cannot claim that concession.
♿ PwBD: 13 currently identified reserved slots plus 32 backlog = 45, not 395 total jobs
The notification’s disability-reservation table is more nuanced than most one-line job summaries. The 200 Electronics positions show 7 PwBD reserved plus 20 PwBD backlog = 27. The 150 Mechanical positions show 6 reserved plus 12 backlog = 18. Across both streams that is 13 + 32 = 45 identified PwBD slots. Those are horizontal-reservation figures within BEL’s advertised recruitment framework—not additional vertical vacancies on top of 350.
📊 Compare the official PwBD sub-category distribution across both streams
| PwBD sub-category (Annexure table A–E) | Identified posts including backlog |
|---|---|
| A | 13 |
| B | 13 |
| C | 5 |
| D | 7 |
| E | 7 |
| Official PwBD count | Electronics | Mechanical | Combined |
|---|---|---|---|
| Reserved as shown in main table | 7 | 6 | 13 |
| Backlog as shown in main table | 20 | 12 | 32 |
| Total including backlog | 27 | 18 | 45 |
Eligibility is disability-type specific. For instance, an impairment identified as suitable for Electronics may not be listed identically for Mechanical. The advertisement’s page 2 and page 3 suitability tables and the certificate format control eligibility; a broad online label such as “PwD eligible” is insufficient. The minimum benchmark disability for this reservation is 40%. BEL excludes temporary disability conditions categorised “likely to improve” from the reservation under the published conditions.
🎓 Exact degree nomenclature: a branch mismatch can end candidature
| E-II discipline | Permitted academic disciplines printed by BEL |
|---|---|
| Electronics — 200 | Electronics; Electronics and Communication; Electronics & Telecommunication; Communication; Telecommunication |
| Mechanical — 150 | Mechanical |
| Qualifying route | B.E., B.Tech. or four-year B.Sc. Engineering in the above disciplines from AICTE-approved colleges, subject to advertisement requirements |
| Other specifically accepted routes | First-Class AMIE / AMIETE / GIETE in the corresponding notified disciplines |
| UR / OBC-NCL / EWS class requirement | First Class |
| SC / ST / PwBD class requirement | Pass Class in the relevant degree or permitted qualification context |
| Equivalent/dual specialisations | Not considered by the advertisement |
This is not a general invitation to every electronics-adjacent, electrical, instrumentation, mechatronics, computer science or other engineering degree. The exact label on the certificate matters. In particular, candidates who have both an approved engineering degree and a degree certificate naming a different branch should not rely on a generic “similar syllabus” argument. BEL states that a mismatch between the degree-certificate specialisation and branch entered in the application will prevent interview consideration.
Do not invent a blanket 60% threshold: the 16-page notice says First Class or Pass Class but does not set one universal numeric minimum percentage. If the university used CGPA/SGPA/GPI, keep its official conversion certificate or conversion formula; shortlisted candidates may have to produce it at interview. Failure to produce the conversion evidence is expressly disqualifying.
Education and experience decisions applicants often get wrong
- A four-year B.Sc. Engineering is not the same as a general three-year B.Sc.; the notification explicitly says four years.
- BEL permits the specified First-Class AMIE/AMIETE/GIETE routes but does not open the door to every self-declared equivalent course.
- A separate minimum number of previous employment years is not specified for these external E-II graduate positions. That is different from assuming that every short-term BEL employee can be absorbed automatically.
- BEL’s current Trainee/Project/Fixed-Tenure Engineers seeking these posts must apply as external candidates under the stated conditions, with their unit’s HR intimation before interview; the PDF also contains separate rules for internal candidates.
🎂 Age assessment: 1 October 2026, not the November application deadline
📊 Compare notified upper-age ceilings by eligible category
| Applicant category | Upper age (years) |
|---|---|
| General / EWS | 25 |
| OBC-NCL | 28 |
| SC / ST | 30 |
| PwBD — General / EWS | 35 |
| PwBD — OBC-NCL | 38 |
| PwBD — SC / ST | 40 |
The age concession is additive in BEL’s published PwBD examples: 10 years for PwBD on top of any admissible OBC-NCL (+3) or SC/ST (+5) concession. The Ex-Servicemen relaxation is five years as per applicable Government guidance, with its prescribed certificate/Annexure-3 requirements. BEL does not prescribe a universal minimum applicant age in this advertisement; it is therefore Not specified, not an invented 18 or 21.
Proof of age: the accepted primary document is a Matriculation/Higher Secondary certificate recording date of birth; where that record lacks the date, an authorised birth certificate may be considered. Age and qualification are assessed against the employer’s stated rules—not the date a candidate first opens the registration screen.
💰 What the E-II salary actually guarantees—and what it does not
| Pay element | Employer’s stated figure |
|---|---|
| Executive grade | E-II, Electronics and Mechanical |
| Basic pay matrix | ₹40,000 – 3% – ₹1,40,000 |
| Approximate annual CTC | ₹13 lakh, not a fixed cash-in-hand figure |
| Allowances | DA, HRA, conveyance, performance-related pay, medical reimbursement and other admissible benefits |
| Pay revision | Listed as due from 1 January 2027, not an already confirmed revised rate |
| Exact starting gross / monthly take-home | Not specified |
A pay-band ceiling of ₹1.40 lakh is not the salary offered on joining, and approximate CTC is not the annual basic salary. The 3% figure describes the notified progression within the pay scale. Actual deductions, posting-related HRA, admissible perks, performance pay and any future revision cannot responsibly be converted into a single guaranteed monthly “in-hand” number from this notice. Both engineering streams share the same published E-II scale.
📄 Six-month orientation, two-year service commitment, ₹2 lakh breach amount
BEL states that selected candidates undergo six months of orientation/on-the-job training and must execute an agreement to serve the Company for two years. Breach of that agreement attracts a ₹2,00,000 amount under the advertised terms. The PDF does not establish that this sum is an application fee, a security deposit taken at registration or a guaranteed amount every departing employee automatically owes regardless of contract terms. Candidates should read the executed service agreement carefully before accepting the offer.
Final appointment remains conditional on BEL medical fitness. The employer expressly lists colour blindness as unsuitable for these two Probationary Engineer disciplines. This is a material condition to check early, not a procedural detail to discover only at joining.
💳 Application fee: BEL's own PDF contains an EWS contradiction
| Applicant category | Fee position stated in dedicated fee section / FAQs |
|---|---|
| General / UR | ₹1,180 (₹1,000 + GST) |
| OBC-NCL | ₹1,180 (₹1,000 + GST) |
| EWS | Conflicting instructions — verify with BEL |
| SC / ST | Exempt |
| PwBD | Exempt |
| Ex-Servicemen | Exempt |
Why EWS applicants must not rely on one paragraph alone: the main fee section on pages 5–6 and the FAQs on pages 15–16 explicitly include EWS among candidates paying ₹1,180. However, the online instructions on page 11 and the payment directions on page 13 include EWS in a fee-exempt list. Those instructions directly conflict within the same official advertisement. The published material does not conclusively reconcile them. Confirm the live portal’s applicable fee or an official BEL clarification through its Helpdesk 9152028159 before paying; do not use unofficial payment links. Fees paid under the advertisement are non-refundable.
📑 Certificate dates that can matter at interview
| Document | Specific BEL instruction |
|---|---|
| EWS income-and-asset certificate | Based on income for FY 2025–26; issued on/after 1 April 2026, with signed/stamped photograph |
| OBC-NCL certificate | Valid Central-list non-creamy-layer status; prescribed certificate issued on/after 1 October 2025 |
| SC/ST certificate | Prescribed Government of India format; community in appropriate official list |
| PwBD certificate | Latest valid format, degree of disability at least 40%, eligible condition/category |
| CGPA-to-percentage conversion | Original institution/university formula or conversion certificate for shortlisted interview candidates |
| No-Objection Certificate | Required at interview from eligible currently employed Govt/PSU/autonomous-body applicants |
These are real documentary filters. An applicant can perform well in the CBT and still be disqualified if the degree branch, class, certificate, NOC or original records do not satisfy the advertisement.
🧠 Selection process: 125 raw test marks, but 85:15 final merit
📊 See how BEL weights CBT versus interview in final selection
| Final merit component | Weightage (marks out of 100) |
|---|---|
| Computer-Based Test | 85 |
| Interview | 15 |
The first stage is a 120-minute computer-based paper of 125 one-mark questions, not a 100-question examination. There are 100 technical questions and 25 General Aptitude & Reasoning questions. Each wrong answer costs 0.25 mark, and unanswered/marked-for-review items receive zero. The test is available in Hindi and English, with the English version governing where translations differ.
Minimum qualifying percentages apply separately in CBT and interview: 35% for General/OBC-NCL/EWS; 30% for SC/ST/PwBD. Passing that minimum is not equivalent to securing an interview: based on CBT performance, BEL provisionally shortlists candidates in a 1:5 ratio, discipline-wise and category-wise. After interview, final merit draws 85 weighted marks from CBT and 15 from interview; BEL has not specified a complete normalisation formula in this advertisement. A speculative “safe cutoff” should not be represented as an official mark.
For the detailed official CBT pattern and a discipline-aware preparation discussion, consult the BEL E-II Probationary Engineer CBT exam section associated with this recruitment. Official notices and eventual hall-ticket updates are published via BEL Careers.
🪪 The complete candidate lifecycle: what exists now and what comes later
| Lifecycle stage | Confirmed status / applicant action |
|---|---|
| Job Notification | Issued — original 16-page PDF, 28 October 2026 |
| Online Applications | 28 Oct, 2 PM–18 Nov, 11:59 PM |
| Exam record | BEL E-II Probationary Engineer CBT; tentative 22 December |
| Syllabus | Official broad scope in PDF page 7; core engineering and General Aptitude/Reasoning, no chapter-by-chapter distribution |
| CBT Admit Card | BEL portal download with registered credentials; release date not announced |
| CBT Exam City | Five preferences; exact city/centre allotted by BEL, not promised by choosing it |
| CBT Answer Key / Objections | Not announced — do not trust invented objection dates |
| CBT Shortlist | BEL website query mode after CBT; no date announced |
| Interview | After 1:5 shortlisting; call date, place and time not announced |
| Final Result | To be published on BEL website; no date announced |
| Document & Medical Verification | Original eligibility proof + BEL fitness standards |
A detailed syllabus guide may legitimately explain degree-level subjects as suggested revision areas, but it must not pretend BEL has published an official engineering chapter list. Similarly, an admit-card procedure is official, while an admit-card download date is not.
🗺️ Where the work may be: posting locations are not CBT centres
The vacancies concern production/support-service work at BEL locations including Bengaluru, Ghaziabad, Pune, Nagpur and Navi Mumbai, Hyderabad and Ibrahimpatnam, Chennai, Palasamudram, Nimmaluru and Machilipatnam, Panchkula and Kotdwara. BEL reserves the right to post selected engineers anywhere in India at any relevant unit/office/department. None of these locations is a guarantee of a candidate’s eventual posting; neither is a CBT exam-city preference.
For the CBT itself, Annexure A lists many tentative cities. Jharkhand candidates will see Jamshedpur, Ranchi, Dhanbad and Bokaro Steel City in that annexure. BEL requires each applicant to select five preferred centres; it does not guarantee any of them. There is no travel reimbursement for the CBT. The PDF allows qualifying outstation interview candidates reimbursement of eligible AC Chair Car/III AC train fare by the shortest route, subject to the stated conditions.
🖥️ Online form checklist: two-step registration, careful uploads, no edit after final submission
- Open BEL’s official recruitment notice and confirm Advt. 17556/HR/All-India/2026, not an old BEL engineer drive or third-party mirror.
- Confirm the degree branch and class of award from the actual certificate, not just an informal college subject list.
- In Step-I, register personal and contact details, verify both mobile and email OTPs and retain your application sequence number and password.
- In Step-II, provide personal/address/qualification details, choose the correct Electronics or Mechanical branch and select five CBT test-city preferences.
- Upload a recent white-background photograph in JPG/JPEG (100–200 KB, approximately 3.5×4.5 cm, 200 dpi) and a black-ink signature in JPG/JPEG (80–150 KB) as instructed.
- Complete the declaration and preview all details. A category or branch mistake may not be repairable after the final Submit action.
- Pay applicable non-refundable fees using the linked SBI e-Pay Lite gateway and retain the acknowledgment. EWS candidates must resolve the PDF fee contradiction before payment.
- Download/print the final submitted application PDF and payment receipt before 18 November, 11:59 PM. The portal says the ability to print may end after closure. Do not courier a hard copy to BEL.
Multiple applications for the same post do not create multiple chances: BEL states that only the one with the higher Application Sequence Number will be considered, and a fee paid for a different number will not be adjusted. Use the portal’s official Helpdesk for technical errors rather than submitting speculative duplicate payments.
✅ Applicant decision guide: five checks before spending money or time
| Question | Why it changes the decision |
|---|---|
| Does my degree name exactly match BEL’s list? | Equivalent and dual specialisations are expressly excluded |
| Is my First Class/Pass Class eligibility correct? | The requirement depends on UR/OBC/EWS versus SC/ST/PwBD status |
| Is my 1 Oct 2026 age and relaxation correct? | BEL does not use 18 November as the age reference date |
| Can I accept the two-year service bond and any-India posting? | The contract and location flexibility may affect career plans |
| Can I prepare effectively for 100 technical +25 aptitude questions? | The CBT dominates final weighted merit and uses negative marking |
❓ Frequently asked questions — answers from this exact advertisement
Is this the old 2025 BEL Probationary Engineer drive? No. This is Advertisement 17556/HR/All-India/2026, dated 28 October 2026, with 350 notified Electronics/Mechanical posts. Do not interchange its numbers with 2025 recruitment records.
Can Electrical, Instrumentation, Computer Science or an unspecified interdisciplinary degree apply? Only the precise discipline labels BEL publishes are accepted. Other equivalent or dual specialisations are expressly excluded, so an outside discipline must not be treated as eligible without official clarification.
Are 45 PwBD slots added to 350? No. The published main PwBD count is 13 reserved plus 32 backlog; the five disability subcategory totals equal 45. This is not a new 395-post advertisement.
Does 35% CBT qualification guarantee interview? No. It only meets the minimum for the applicable category; further selection is 1:5 by discipline and category on CBT performance.
Is ₹13 lakh guaranteed annual take-home? No. BEL quotes approximately ₹13 lakh CTC and an E-II basic pay scale. Exact in-hand: Not specified.
Is the CBT fixed for 22 December? No. The advertisement calls that date tentative, and BEL can revise it.
When will the admit card and answer key arrive? Not announced. BEL says the CBT call letter will be made available through the official website, to be downloaded and printed using credentials.
What is the official CBT syllabus? Core engineering subjects from the relevant branch plus General Aptitude & Reasoning. BEL has not published a chapter-by-chapter allocation in this advertisement.
Do Ex-Servicemen get fee exemption? Yes, the dedicated fee section exempts Ex-Servicemen, subject to the prescribed eligibility/documentation.
Why is EWS fee status flagged? BEL’s main fee section/FAQs say EWS pays ₹1,180; later online instructions list EWS as exempt. This internal conflict requires official clarification; neither reading can responsibly be concealed.
Official verification: BEL Job Notifications and the 16-page external advertisement PDF. For application issues use the integrated portal Helpdesk or BEL’s published number 9152028159 (Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM as given in the detailed instructions). Recruitment particulars may change only through BEL’s official corrigendum/addendum notices.
Post-wise Vacancies
Open a post to view qualification, experience, age, salary, location, responsibilities and post-specific instructions.
200 vacanciesBEL Probationary Engineer — Electronics (Executive Grade E-II)
Qualification: Only exact recognised Electronics, Electronics and Communication, Electronics & Telecommunication, Communication and Telecommunication discipline(s). Four-year B.E., B.Tech. or B.Sc. Engineering from AICTE-approved college; qualifying First-Class AMIE/AMIETE/GIETE routes expressly accepted. UR/OBC-NCL/EWS: First Class; SC/ST/PwBD: Pass Class. No substitute unlisted degree/dual specialisation. No blanket numerical First-Class percentage stated. CGPA-to-percentage formula/certificate required when applicable at interview.Age: Maximum 25 yearsPay: ₹40,000 – ₹1,40,000 / month
BEL Probationary Engineer — Electronics (Executive Grade E-II)
Only exact recognised Electronics, Electronics and Communication, Electronics & Telecommunication, Communication and Telecommunication discipline(s). Four-year B.E., B.Tech. or B.Sc. Engineering from AICTE-approved college; qualifying First-Class AMIE/AMIETE/GIETE routes expressly accepted. UR/OBC-NCL/EWS: First Class; SC/ST/PwBD: Pass Class. No substitute unlisted degree/dual specialisation. No blanket numerical First-Class percentage stated. CGPA-to-percentage formula/certificate required when applicable at interview.
Required: No · Description: The external E-II notice does not prescribe a separate minimum years-of-experience requirement. Eligibility remains degree/class/age/other advertised conditions; current BEL short-term engineers have additional external-application/HR-intimation rules.
Description: Crucial date 1 October 2026: GEN/EWS 25, OBC-NCL 28, SC/ST 30; PwBD GEN/EWS 35, PwBD OBC 38, PwBD SC/ST 40; ESM five-year rule as applicable. Minimum age not stated. Do not apply the Nov deadline as age reference.
Electronics E-II — 200 notified vacancies with a distinct Electronics eligibility filter
What the actual seat table says. This discipline has 200 positions, including any BEL-notified backlog, divided into UR 81, EWS 20, OBC-NCL 54, SC 30 and ST 15. These five numbers sum to 200; they represent the vertical reservation roster for this engineering branch, not separate recruitment advertisements.
| Electronics reservation | Vacancies |
|---|---|
| UR | 81 |
| EWS | 20 |
| OBC-NCL | 54 |
| SC | 30 |
| ST | 15 |
| Notified Electronics total | 200 |
PwBD is not extra headcount. BEL additionally identifies 7 PwBD reserved positions and 20 PwBD backlog positions, together 27 for this branch. The original PwBD sub-category A/B/C/D/E table reports 8/8/3/4/4, adding to 27. These cross-cutting disability figures must not be added to the 200 vertical roster.
📊 Inspect the PwBD sub-category distribution for Electronics
| PwBD category in BEL table | Identified posts including backlog |
|---|---|
| A | 8 |
| B | 8 |
| C | 3 |
| D | 4 |
| E | 4 |
Eligibility in practical terms: Electronics, Electronics and Communication, Electronics & Telecommunication, Communication and Telecommunication. A candidate needs the prescribed B.E., B.Tech. or four-year B.Sc. Engineering qualification, or the officially accepted professional-body route where eligible, with First Class for UR/OBC-NCL/EWS and Pass Class for SC/ST/PwBD. BEL specifies no general numerical conversion of First Class to “60%”. If the institution reports GPA, obtain its authorised percentage-conversion certificate/formula for interview.
The qualifying branch list is explicit. A degree titled Electrical Engineering, Instrumentation, Computer Science or an unlisted hybrid specialisation should not be assumed acceptable simply because it contains overlapping subjects. BEL says other equivalent and dual specialisations are not considered. A recognised four-year B.Sc. Engineering is named; an ordinary three-year B.Sc. is not the same qualification. If claiming the First-Class AMIE/AMIETE/GIETE route, review the precise wording and retain the award evidence.
Technical preparation emphasis (editorial guidance only): the official CBT technical syllabus is undergraduate core engineering subjects, not a chapter-wise list. Electronics applicants can map circuit analysis, devices, analog/digital design, signals, communication systems and any degree-specific electronics specialisations against their own university curriculum; none is assigned a promised BEL question weight. Understand the difference between a 125-question raw test and the final 85:15 weighted outcome.
Age and remuneration: General/EWS maximum 25 on 1 October 2026; OBC-NCL +3 years; SC/ST +5; PwBD +10 in addition to an applicable social-category relaxation. The minimum age is Not specified. Both branches share the basic E-II ₹40,000–3%–₹1,40,000 pay range, approximate ₹13 lakh annual CTC and the applicable allowances. Exact take-home salary: Not specified.
Selection and obligations: Candidates must first meet degree, age and document conditions, then sit a 125-question, 120-minute CBT worth 85% of final merit, with −0.25 penalty per wrong answer. BEL provisionally calls candidates to interview 1:5 discipline-wise and category-wise; the interview makes up the remaining 15%. CBT and interview each have separate 35% or 30% minimums depending on category. Appointment requires medical fitness, including the colour-vision standard, and a two-year BEL service agreement with ₹2 lakh breach provision following six-month orientation/on-the-job training. Posting is at BEL's discretion across India.
Apply by 18 November 2026 at 11:59 PM IST, after verifying the correct branch and supporting documents. The fee for EWS is inconsistent across pages of the original PDF; seek BEL's official clarification before paying. Save the final application PDF and receipt; do not send physical documents to BEL. The CBT date of 22 December 2026 is tentative; admit card, interview and result dates remain unpublished.
Regular BEL Probationary Engineer E-II in Production/Support Services. The 16-page notice does not publish a fixed discipline-specific duty roster; actual duties and section/unit allocation will follow BEL management requirements and appointment terms.
- Perform engineering work assigned within BEL Production/Support Services after orientation/on-the-job training; detailed unit-specific responsibilities not specified in the notice.
- Work at any BEL unit/office across India as allocated under company requirements.
- Meet employer medical and employment conditions, including colour-vision suitability and the two-year service agreement.
- Use the exact Electronics academic branch nomenclature accepted by BEL; no equivalent/dual specialisations are allowed.
- Meet First Class (UR/OBC/EWS) or Pass Class (SC/ST/PwBD) rule, and carry university CGPA conversion formula if grades were used.
- Check 1 October 2026 reference date and documentary evidence for any category-specific age relaxation.
- Check PwBD medical suitability individually; 40% minimum benchmark disability and the relevant subcategory requirement apply.
- Select five CBT-city preferences, understanding that allocation and 22 December 2026 tentative date may change.
- Upload correctly formatted recent photo/signature; verify branch and category before final Submit, because editing later is barred.
- General/OBC fee is ₹1,180; SC/ST/PwBD/ESM exempt; EWS fee wording is internally inconsistent in the official PDF, so confirm with BEL before paying.
- Retain submitted form and receipt; no hard-copy application submission to BEL.
- Consider the six-month training, two-year service undertaking and ₹2 lakh contractual breach amount before accepting the position.
Official Electronics vertical roster: UR 81 + EWS 20 + OBC-NCL 54 + SC 30 + ST 15 = 200. BEL also lists PwBD 7 reserved + 20 backlog = 27 by horizontal disability categories; do not add the PwBD numbers to the 200 vertical total.
150 vacanciesBEL Probationary Engineer — Mechanical (Executive Grade E-II)
Qualification: Only exact recognised Mechanical Engineering discipline(s). Four-year B.E., B.Tech. or B.Sc. Engineering from AICTE-approved college; qualifying First-Class AMIE/AMIETE/GIETE routes expressly accepted. UR/OBC-NCL/EWS: First Class; SC/ST/PwBD: Pass Class. No substitute unlisted degree/dual specialisation. No blanket numerical First-Class percentage stated. CGPA-to-percentage formula/certificate required when applicable at interview.Age: Maximum 25 yearsPay: ₹40,000 – ₹1,40,000 / month
BEL Probationary Engineer — Mechanical (Executive Grade E-II)
Only exact recognised Mechanical Engineering discipline(s). Four-year B.E., B.Tech. or B.Sc. Engineering from AICTE-approved college; qualifying First-Class AMIE/AMIETE/GIETE routes expressly accepted. UR/OBC-NCL/EWS: First Class; SC/ST/PwBD: Pass Class. No substitute unlisted degree/dual specialisation. No blanket numerical First-Class percentage stated. CGPA-to-percentage formula/certificate required when applicable at interview.
Required: No · Description: The external E-II notice does not prescribe a separate minimum years-of-experience requirement. Eligibility remains degree/class/age/other advertised conditions; current BEL short-term engineers have additional external-application/HR-intimation rules.
Description: Crucial date 1 October 2026: GEN/EWS 25, OBC-NCL 28, SC/ST 30; PwBD GEN/EWS 35, PwBD OBC 38, PwBD SC/ST 40; ESM five-year rule as applicable. Minimum age not stated. Do not apply the Nov deadline as age reference.
Mechanical E-II — 150 notified vacancies with a distinct Mechanical eligibility filter
What the actual seat table says. This discipline has 150 positions, including any BEL-notified backlog, divided into UR 62, EWS 15, OBC-NCL 40, SC 22 and ST 11. These five numbers sum to 150; they represent the vertical reservation roster for this engineering branch, not separate recruitment advertisements.
| Mechanical reservation | Vacancies |
|---|---|
| UR | 62 |
| EWS | 15 |
| OBC-NCL | 40 |
| SC | 22 |
| ST | 11 |
| Notified Mechanical total | 150 |
PwBD is not extra headcount. BEL additionally identifies 6 PwBD reserved positions and 12 PwBD backlog positions, together 18 for this branch. The original PwBD sub-category A/B/C/D/E table reports 5/5/2/3/3, adding to 18. These cross-cutting disability figures must not be added to the 150 vertical roster.
📊 Inspect the PwBD sub-category distribution for Mechanical
| PwBD category in BEL table | Identified posts including backlog |
|---|---|
| A | 5 |
| B | 5 |
| C | 2 |
| D | 3 |
| E | 3 |
Eligibility in practical terms: Mechanical Engineering. A candidate needs the prescribed B.E., B.Tech. or four-year B.Sc. Engineering qualification, or the officially accepted professional-body route where eligible, with First Class for UR/OBC-NCL/EWS and Pass Class for SC/ST/PwBD. BEL specifies no general numerical conversion of First Class to “60%”. If the institution reports GPA, obtain its authorised percentage-conversion certificate/formula for interview.
The Mechanical route is narrower than many internet summaries suggest: Mechanical is the printed discipline. The PDF does not automatically add Production, Automobile, Mechatronics, Aerospace or other degree labels merely because some modules overlap. Equivalent and dual specialisations are specifically excluded. Recognised B.E./B.Tech./four-year B.Sc. Engineering and the published AMIE/AMIETE/GIETE alternatives remain governed by the exact notice.
Technical preparation emphasis (editorial guidance only): revise core undergraduate mechanics, mechanics of solids, thermodynamics, fluid systems, heat transfer, manufacturing, theory of machines, machine design and quality/industrial systems to the extent present in your recognised curriculum. BEL does not allot a fixed number of questions to these illustrative clusters; the official fact is 100 engineering questions plus 25 general aptitude/reasoning, with negative marking.
Age and remuneration: General/EWS maximum 25 on 1 October 2026; OBC-NCL +3 years; SC/ST +5; PwBD +10 in addition to an applicable social-category relaxation. The minimum age is Not specified. Both branches share the basic E-II ₹40,000–3%–₹1,40,000 pay range, approximate ₹13 lakh annual CTC and the applicable allowances. Exact take-home salary: Not specified.
Selection and obligations: Candidates must first meet degree, age and document conditions, then sit a 125-question, 120-minute CBT worth 85% of final merit, with −0.25 penalty per wrong answer. BEL provisionally calls candidates to interview 1:5 discipline-wise and category-wise; the interview makes up the remaining 15%. CBT and interview each have separate 35% or 30% minimums depending on category. Appointment requires medical fitness, including the colour-vision standard, and a two-year BEL service agreement with ₹2 lakh breach provision following six-month orientation/on-the-job training. Posting is at BEL's discretion across India.
Apply by 18 November 2026 at 11:59 PM IST, after verifying the correct branch and supporting documents. The fee for EWS is inconsistent across pages of the original PDF; seek BEL's official clarification before paying. Save the final application PDF and receipt; do not send physical documents to BEL. The CBT date of 22 December 2026 is tentative; admit card, interview and result dates remain unpublished.
Regular BEL Probationary Engineer E-II in Production/Support Services. The 16-page notice does not publish a fixed discipline-specific duty roster; actual duties and section/unit allocation will follow BEL management requirements and appointment terms.
- Perform engineering work assigned within BEL Production/Support Services after orientation/on-the-job training; detailed unit-specific responsibilities not specified in the notice.
- Work at any BEL unit/office across India as allocated under company requirements.
- Meet employer medical and employment conditions, including colour-vision suitability and the two-year service agreement.
- Use the exact Mechanical academic branch nomenclature accepted by BEL; no equivalent/dual specialisations are allowed.
- Meet First Class (UR/OBC/EWS) or Pass Class (SC/ST/PwBD) rule, and carry university CGPA conversion formula if grades were used.
- Check 1 October 2026 reference date and documentary evidence for any category-specific age relaxation.
- Check PwBD medical suitability individually; 40% minimum benchmark disability and the relevant subcategory requirement apply.
- Select five CBT-city preferences, understanding that allocation and 22 December 2026 tentative date may change.
- Upload correctly formatted recent photo/signature; verify branch and category before final Submit, because editing later is barred.
- General/OBC fee is ₹1,180; SC/ST/PwBD/ESM exempt; EWS fee wording is internally inconsistent in the official PDF, so confirm with BEL before paying.
- Retain submitted form and receipt; no hard-copy application submission to BEL.
- Consider the six-month training, two-year service undertaking and ₹2 lakh contractual breach amount before accepting the position.
Official Mechanical vertical roster: UR 62 + EWS 15 + OBC-NCL 40 + SC 22 + ST 11 = 150. BEL also lists PwBD 6 reserved + 12 backlog = 18 by horizontal disability categories; do not add the PwBD numbers to the 150 vertical total.
Eligibility & Qualification
Recruitment-level qualifications and eligibility rules. Post-specific conditions are also shown inside each vacancy card.
Indian nationality
Only Indian nationals may apply (notification page 8).
Four-year engineering qualification in exact BEL-listed discipline
AICTE-approved B.E., B.Tech or four-year B.Sc. Engineering in Electronics/ECE/E&T/Communication/Telecommunication or Mechanical; accepted AMIE/AMIETE/GIETE routes within the published conditions. No other equivalent/dual specialisations. First Class UR/OBC/EWS; Pass Class SC/ST/PwBD.
Company medical fitness and colour-vision standard
Final appointment is subject to BEL medical authorities; the official notice says colour blindness is unsuitable for Electronics and Mechanical Probationary Engineers.
Two-year service agreement
Six-month orientation/on-job training; two-year company service agreement; ₹2,00,000 contractual breach amount. Willingness for all-India BEL posting required.
Valid category and degree evidence
EWS FY 2025–26 income/assets certificate issued on/after 01 Apr 2026; OBC-NCL issued on/after 01 Oct 2025 and caste in Central List; PwBD disability certificate generally at least 40%; original degree/grade conversion/NOC at interview where applicable.
Age Limit & Relaxation
Recruitment-level age criteria. Post-specific age conditions remain visible inside each vacancy card.
Application Fee
Category-wise application fee information.
₹1,000 + 18% GST; non-refundable via authorised SBI e-Pay Lite.
PDF pages 5–6 and FAQ p15–16 say EWS pays ₹1,180; pages 11 and 13 say EWS exempt. Official clarification / live portal confirmation essential. Amount here follows dedicated fee section, not a verified final reconciliation.
Official fee exemption. No amount is paid or refunded.
Salary & Pay Scale
Post-wise salary, stipend or pay-matrix information.
Common E-II BASIC pay-scale for both streams, not starting gross salary. Approximate annual CTC ₹13 lakh; separate allowances; pay revision due 01 Jan 2027. Exact monthly in-hand: Not specified.
Selection Process
Selection stages in the order configured for this recruitment.
Computer-Based Test (CBT)
Official 125-question, 120-minute CBT: 100 technical + 25 aptitude/reasoning; +1 correct, −0.25 wrong, 0 unattempted/marked-for-review. Bilingual Hindi/English (English prevails in discrepancies). Tentative 22 Dec 2026. Independent qualifying percentage 35% GEN/OBC/EWS or 30% SC/ST/PwBD; weighted 85 out of 100 for final merit.
Interview
CBT-shortlisted candidates called provisionally at 1:5 by discipline and category; independent interview qualifying percentage 35% GEN/OBC/EWS or 30% SC/ST/PwBD. Interview contributes 15 out of 100 to final selection. Date/venue not yet announced.
Document Verification and Medical Fitness
Check original four-year engineering degree, exact branch, class, CGPA conversion if relevant, category certificates, NOC and ESM documentation where applicable. BEL medical assessment controls final appointment; advertisement explicitly says colour blindness is unsuitable for Electronics/Mechanical E-II posts. Six-month training and two-year service agreement apply.
Important Dates
Application and recruitment milestones published with this job.
PDF page 1: Advt 17556/HR/All-India/2026, dated 28 Oct 2026.
Official PDF page 11: 02:00 PM opening time.
Official PDF page 11: 11:59 PM closing time.
Official Links & Resources
Application links, notification documents and verified sources in one place.
Official actions
Latest Recruitment Updates
Exam and lifecycle records directly connected to this recruitment.
सरकारी नौकरी, भर्ती, परीक्षा और career information को सरल, सटीक और उपयोगी रूप में समझाने पर केंद्रित