
Institute of Hotel Management and Catering Technology, Kovalam
Autonomous hospitality education institute under the Ministry of Tourism, Government of India, located at Kovalam, Kerala.

IHMCT Kovalam, an autonomous body under the Ministry of Tourism, advertises 2 LDC posts (UR 1, EWS 1; one ESM horizontal reservation) under CMD/IHMCT/002/2026 dated 31 October. Recognised 10+2, 40 WPM typing and computer knowledge essential; age 18–28 as of 1 October, 7th CPC Level-2 ₹19,900–₹63,200. Online-only CMD applications close 30 November 2026 at 5 pm. Written/skill assessment may be conducted; dates not announced.
Organization information attached to this recruitment record.

Autonomous hospitality education institute under the Ministry of Tourism, Government of India, located at Kovalam, Kerala.
Recruitment-specific overview from the published record.
Original notice: CMD/IHMCT/002/2026, issued 31 October 2026 by the Institute of Hotel Management and Catering Technology, Kovalam, an autonomous body under the Ministry of Tourism, Government of India. The Centre for Management Development (CMD), Kerala operates the recruitment application process. The role is Lower Division Clerk (LDC), not a hotel-management faculty position. Candidates from across India should assess the typing and computer requirements before paying the fee.
| Recruitment fact | Official position |
|---|---|
| Recruiting institution | IHMCT, Kovalam; selection administration through CMD, Kerala |
| Advertisement | CMD/IHMCT/002/2026 dated 31 October 2026 |
| Post | Lower Division Clerk (LDC) |
| Vacancies | 2: 1 Unreserved and 1 Economically Weaker Section |
| Ex-servicemen reservation | 1 of the two vacancies, horizontal/overlapping — not a third seat |
| Minimum education | 10+2 / Higher Secondary School from a recognised institution |
| Essential practical skills | 40 words per minute typing and working knowledge of computers |
| Desirable experience | One year in computer applications as of 1 October 2026; not a mandatory minimum |
| Age | 18–28 years as of 1 October 2026; specific DOB window 2 Oct 1997–1 Oct 2008, both inclusive, before applicable relaxation |
| Pay | ₹19,900–₹63,200, Level 2, Seventh Central Pay Commission |
| Mode | Online application only via the CMD recruitment listing |
| Applications open | 31 October 2026 at 10:00 am |
| Deadline | 30 November 2026 at 5:00 pm |
📊 How the two LDC vacancies are distributed
| Vertical category | Vacancies |
|---|---|
| Unreserved (UR) | 1 |
| Economically Weaker Section (EWS) | 1 |
| Total | 2 |
The notification separately states that one vacancy is reserved for Ex-servicemen (ESM). It does not assign that horizontal reservation exclusively to UR or EWS. It would be inaccurate to show UR 1 + EWS 1 + ESM 1 = 3 vacancies. Likewise, the notice does not create separately earmarked OBC, SC, ST or PwBD seats. Eligible applicants must follow the notified reservation and relaxation rules; this distinction matters particularly for an ESM applicant claiming both vertical-category and ex-servicemen benefits.
Education: Applicants must have passed 10+2 / Higher Secondary from a recognised educational institution. A claimed equivalent qualification needs a competent-authority equivalency certificate. The recruitment instructions explicitly state that an unsupported equivalence claim can lead to rejection.
Typing: The stated essential typing speed is 40 WPM. The notice does not prescribe a confirmed typing-test duration, accepted language, error tolerance, keyboard layout, software, or specific scoring rubric. Do not rely on an unofficial practice syllabus as if it were the published IHMCT test scheme. Maintain practical proficiency while watching CMD's official notices.
Computer literacy: Working knowledge of computers is essential. One year's experience in computer applications as of 1 October 2026 is explicitly desirable; candidates without it should not mistakenly assume the notice makes it an absolute disqualification. If claiming experience, prepare a properly signed certificate recording the role, dates, responsibilities, seal and authorised signatory.
Nationality: Indian citizenship is required. The original notice does not prescribe a particular Indian state of domicile as an application condition; the advertised location is Kovalam, Kerala.
For the unrelaxed 18–28 age bracket, IHMCT provides the actual inclusive date-of-birth interval: 02.10.1997 through 01.10.2008. The relevant age date is 01.10.2026, not the publication date or application deadline. Eligible SC/ST, OBC, PwBD, ESM and other categories receive relaxation only under the applicable Government of India instructions; the PDF does not publish a new universal relaxation number for each category. For ESM, the notice specifically cites DoPT OM DOPT-1766747426976 dated 25 December 2025.
Serving Defence Personnel: Only those whose Specific Period of Engagement (SPE) is due to end on or before 31 January 2027 meet the printed condition for this recruitment. Such applicants must upload the prescribed Serving Defence Personnel Certificate (Annexure I), where applicable. ESM applicants also need the undertaking in Annexure II and their discharge certificate/PPO when discharged. EWS applicants need the authorised Income and Asset Certificate in the required Annexure III format.
📊 Compare officially stated application fees
| Applicant group expressly described in the notice | Application fee (₹) |
|---|---|
| General category | 500 |
| SC/ST category | 300 |
| Ex-servicemen eligible for ESM reservation | 0 |
Additional online transaction charges apply where applicable, beyond the fee. The fee must be paid online, and the notice states that fees once paid are not refundable. The PDF does not separately state the precise fee treatment for every OBC, EWS or PwBD applicant. Such applicants should verify the category-specific amount displayed in the official CMD application interface before paying rather than assuming a concession. Exemption is specifically advertised for eligible ESM applicants.
The advertised Seventh CPC Level-2 pay scale is ₹19,900–₹63,200. The lower number is the scale minimum; the upper is the scale ceiling, not an offered starting salary. The notice does not provide an exact monthly gross, allowances by location or in-hand amount. Actual gross and take-home salary: Not specified. Likewise, the document does not give a separate guaranteed increment or promotion schedule.
The advertisement authorises CMD/IHMCT to decide the selection process, which may include application screening, criteria-based screening, a written test and a typing/skill/proficiency assessment. These are potentially applicable stages, not a confirmed dated examination calendar. The recruitment text does not specify a question count, examination duration, negative marking, topic-by-topic written syllabus, qualifying score, test centre or the dates of either assessment. Any claim that a CBT, admit card, answer key, result or cutoff has already been issued would be unsupported.
Practical sequence for candidates: complete the online application and online payment if required → retain the registration details → monitor the registered email/mobile and the CMD government recruitment page for shortlist, call-letter and stage instructions → attend only those written/proficiency assessments actually notified → produce original records and supporting certificates when requested → await the officially published selection outcome. The appointment remains subject to document verification and the competent authority's decisions. CMD says only shortlisted candidates will receive SMS, email or phone intimation.
Typing speed of 40 WPM and computer literacy are stated essential job eligibility, so candidates should prepare for possible proficiency verification. However, there is no official notification of a written-paper syllabus or confirmed marks distribution in this four-page advertisement. Prepare using the published essential requirements; do not treat a generic clerical syllabus or another institution's exam pattern as the official IHMCT examination.
Important: The notification mentions Annexures I–III for defence/ESM/EWS proof. If the four-page PDF opened here does not include the annexure forms themselves, obtain only the applicable prescribed templates through the issuing recruitment authority before submission. Do not use random unofficial templates.
| Milestone | Authoritative date |
|---|---|
| Notification signed | 31 October 2026 |
| Online portal opens | 31 October 2026, 10:00 am IST |
| Last online submission | 30 November 2026, 5:00 pm IST |
| Age & desirable experience reference date | 1 October 2026 |
| Serving Defence Personnel SPE cut-off | 31 January 2027 |
| Written test, typing assessment, call letter | Not announced |
| Merit/result publication | Not announced |
The official notice describes the application deadline by reference to the Employment News issue 31 October–6 November 2026, but expressly resolves the closing clock to 30 November 2026, 5 pm. Do not replace this with a guessed midnight submission cutoff.
The recruiting institute is IHMCT at Kovalam, Kerala. The recruitment PDF does not confirm an exact workplace allocation, testing centre or interview venue. Applicants should not confuse CMD's Thiruvananthapuram office or the online application's technology provider with the eventual LDC posting location. The job involves clerical functions consistent with a Lower Division Clerk's title, but the notice does not publish a detailed task-by-task official duty charter.
Document rejection traps: mismatch between entered information and originals; insufficient typing proficiency; illegible photo/signature; uploading only a marksheet in place of the qualification certificate; missing equivalence certificate where an equivalent qualification is claimed; unsupported ESM/EWS documentation; missing current-employer NOC; and incomplete online payment where required. Experience certificate substitutes such as appointment letters, salary certificates and payslips are explicitly disallowed. All such conditions are subject to the issuing authority's scrutiny.
The notification reserves the right to change the selection process, vacancies or advertisement, and to determine its shortlisting/cutoff rules. It does not announce any cutoff score. Do not confuse the 40-WPM typing requirement with a final written-test cutoff.
Is there an interview date? No. The published PDF does not specify one and does not guarantee an interview stage.
Is one ESM seat in addition to the two vacancies? No. The total remains two, with one ESM reservation within that total.
Is one year of computer-application experience mandatory? No; it is listed as desirable.
Can I apply without a typing certificate? The notice requires 40 WPM typing speed, but it does not explicitly prescribe a named typing certificate at application time. CMD may assess proficiency separately.
Do I need to send a paper application? No. Online applications only are accepted.
Are examination date, result, admit card or answer key available? None is released in the original four-page recruitment notification.
What should I do if the application form fails? CMD gives a help-desk phone number 0471 2320101, available 10 am–5 pm on working days, Monday–Friday. Avoid sending personal information to unofficial intermediaries.
All application deadlines, requirements and vacancies above derive from the original institution/CMD advertisement. Subsequent corrigenda, shortlist and examination instructions must be checked against the same official CMD recruitment listing. The external form host, where used by the official listing, is deliberately not reproduced here as an independent third-party source.
Open a post to view qualification, experience, age, salary, location, responsibilities and post-specific instructions.
Essential: 10+2/Higher Secondary from recognised institution AND 40 WPM typing AND working knowledge of computers. Equivalent education requires competent-authority equivalence certificate. One year of computer applications experience on 1 October 2026 is only desirable, not mandatory.
Required: No · Description: One year of experience in computer applications as on 1 October 2026 is DESIRABLE only. It is not stated as an essential experience floor. Claimed experience must have proper evidence; the notice disallows appointment letters/payslips as substitutes.
Description: 18–28 as on 1 October 2026; for the ordinary age band DOB inclusive 2 October 1997–1 October 2008. Relaxations for SC/ST, OBC, PwBD, ESM and other eligible categories are governed by applicable Government of India rules; numerical concessions not individually specified in this notice. ESM reference DoPT OM DOPT-1766747426976 (25 Dec 2025).
Official vertical roster: UR 1, EWS 1. One ex-servicemen (ESM) reservation overlaps the notified total, rather than creating a third vacancy. The institute is an autonomous body under the Government of India's Ministry of Tourism; CMD Kerala runs the selection intake.
Must have: recognised 10+2 / Higher Secondary; ability to type at 40 words per minute; working knowledge of computers. This is a combined eligibility requirement, not an alternative in which computer knowledge replaces typing. Candidates claiming an equivalent 10+2 qualification require formal equivalence certification. One year of computer-application experience is desirable only, assessed on 1 October 2026.
Age: 18–28 on 1 October 2026. The notice supplies the precise inclusive ordinary DOB interval 2 October 1997–1 October 2008. Statutory eligible relaxations apply only where supported by valid category records. Salary: Level 2, basic pay range ₹19,900–₹63,200; exact gross/in-hand: Not specified.
Application fee: General ₹500; SC/ST ₹300; eligible ESM exempt; online transaction charges extra where applicable. Fee for categories not separately spelled out by the notice should be checked on the official CMD application page. Application is exclusively online, from 31 October 2026 at 10 am until 30 November 2026 at 5 pm.
CMD/IHMCT may use application screening, criteria-based shortlisting, written assessment and typing/other proficiency test. No exam date, shift, syllabus, test duration, marking scheme or result date is announced. Keep registered email/mobile active; only shortlisted candidates are contacted. Prepare typing at 40 WPM, but do not mistake this eligibility speed for a published test pass mark. Employer NOC, relevant category claims, experience proof and all original education certificates may be scrutinised.
Uploaded documents: JPG photo under 200 KB; full handwritten signature in JPG under 50 KB; original or provisional qualifying certificate (marksheet-only upload is rejected); EWS/ESM/serving-defence annexures as applicable; NOC for government employees; correct equivalence proof when relevant. Do not rely on payslips or appointment letters as replacements for a qualifying experience certificate. Work location is associated with IHMCT Kovalam; a separate test venue is not announced.
Official reference: IHMCT LDC four-page recruitment notice and CMD Kerala recruitment listing.
Lower Division Clerk role at IHMCT Kovalam. The four-page notification does not publish a specific official day-to-day responsibility or posting-unit charter.
Two total seats: UR 1, EWS 1. One seat is reserved for Ex-servicemen within this total (horizontal), not an extra position. Notice does not attribute horizontal ESM to one specific vertical seat.
Recruitment-level qualifications and eligibility rules. Post-specific conditions are also shown inside each vacancy card.
10+2/Higher Secondary essential. Competent-authority certificate needed if claiming equivalent qualification. Original or provisional qualification certificate is required at upload; marksheet-only evidence is rejected.
Applicants must possess typing speed of 40 WPM AND working knowledge of computers. A separate dated proficiency assessment is not yet confirmed.
The notification states that applicants must be citizens of India.
One year of computer applications experience as on 1 Oct 2026 is desirable, not mandatory. Claimed experience needs evidence under document rules.
Recruitment-level age criteria. Post-specific age conditions remain visible inside each vacancy card.
Category-wise application fee information.
₹500 basic fee plus applicable online transaction charges. Online payment only; fee not refundable.
₹300 plus applicable online transaction charges. No refund once paid.
Explicitly exempt from application fee. Other applicant category fee amounts not separately itemised in the notice; verify the official online application screen.
Post-wise salary, stipend or pay-matrix information.
Basic pay range in original IHMCT notification. Starting actual gross, DA/HRA and net in-hand salary: Not specified.
Selection stages in the order configured for this recruitment.
CMD/IHMCT may screen complete online applications for recognised 10+2, 40 WPM typing, computer knowledge, age, ESM/EWS entitlement and submitted certificates. No shortlist date announced.
The notice says selection MAY include written assessment, to be decided by CMD/IHMCT. No date, test syllabus, question count, scoring or final confirmation published.
The notice says selection MAY include a skill/proficiency test. Typing at 40 WPM is an essential eligibility requirement. No timing, format or passing criteria beyond notified typing speed published.
Original education and reservation/employment/experience evidence may be scrutinised; final decision and cutoff/shortlisting rules reserved to CMD/IHMCT. No result or merit list issued with initial notification.
Application and recruitment milestones published with this job.
Age 18–28 as on 01.10.2026; one-year desirable computer applications experience assessed as of same date.
Printed notice CMD/IHMCT/002/2026; Employment News issue 31 Oct–6 Nov is mentioned separately.
Opening clock expressly stated 10:00 am.
Last date 30 November 2026 at 17:00 IST; not midnight.
Only relevant serving defence candidates whose SPE ends by this date are eligible under stated condition.
Application links, notification documents and verified sources in one place.
सरकारी नौकरी, भर्ती, परीक्षा और career information को सरल, सटीक और उपयोगी रूप में समझाने पर केंद्रित