
University of Jammu
State University established under the Kashmir and Jammu Universities Act, 1969. Public teaching and research institution in Jammu and Kashmir; distinct from Central University of Jammu.

University of Jammu Department of Botany announced one DBT-BUILDER Project Associate-I on 23 October 2026. Master’s in Botany/Plant Sciences, upper age 35, ₹31,000+18% HRA for qualifying national-selection route or ₹25,000+18% HRA otherwise. Sealed-envelope application within 15 days of newspaper publication (calendar date not verified); interview details by email/mobile.
Organization information attached to this recruitment record.

State University established under the Kashmir and Jammu Universities Act, 1969. Public teaching and research institution in Jammu and Kashmir; distinct from Central University of Jammu.
Recruitment-specific overview from the published record.
University website announcement: 23 October 2026 | Department: Botany, Faculty of Life Sciences, University of Jammu | Position: Project Associate-I (01) | Project: DBT–BUILDER–University of Jammu Interdisciplinary Life Science Programme for Advanced Research and Education
The Department of Botany has published a new call for one Project Associate-I under a Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Government of India-funded interdisciplinary life-science research programme. This is an initially one-year, temporary project engagement, not a sanctioned permanent University teaching post. The decisive application rule is not an online countdown: a sealed envelope must reach the Botany department within 15 days of the advertisement's appearance in a newspaper. The university's webpage is dated 23 October; the PDF itself leaves its printed “No.” and “Date” lines blank. It does not establish the newspaper-publication date. Treating 23 October as the newspaper date and printing a definitive 7 November deadline would therefore be unsound.
Official university announcement · Original one-page advertisement · Department of Botany
| Information | What the University actually states |
|---|---|
| Employer / employing research unit | Department of Botany, University of Jammu, Jammu–180006, Jammu and Kashmir |
| Funding and project | DBT, Government of India; interdisciplinary life-science BUILDER programme |
| Advertisement identity | Department of Botany Project Associate-I notice on the University's 23 October announcement page; the PDF does not print an advertisement number |
| Position | Project Associate-I — one vacancy |
| Required degree | Master's Degree in Botany or Plant Sciences, from a recognised university, or an accepted equivalent |
| Preferable experience | Plant reproductive biology and/or field biology; no fixed number of years specified |
| Upper age | 35 years; age reckoning date and relaxation rules are not printed |
| Pay route A | ₹31,000 basic monthly fellowship + 18% HRA where notified national-test/selection route applies |
| Pay route B | ₹25,000 basic monthly fellowship + 18% HRA for other eligible appointees |
| Application | Physical sealed envelope, not an announced online form or email submission |
| Deadline | Within 15 days from newspaper advertisement publication; exact calendar date not verified |
| Interview | Only eligible applicants will receive the date by email/mobile; no fixed date announced |
| Interview documents | Original documents compulsory; no TA/DA |
| Contract | Initially one year, further extension conditional on the candidate's progress, ending no later than the project's continuation |
Before posting the application: Ask the Department of Botany or check the newspaper advertisement to confirm the actual publication date and consequently the receipt deadline. The website's posting date is a separate fact. The requirement is that the application reach the office, not merely be dispatched before the deadline.
The University has listed only one position. There is no separate vacancy for Botany versus Plant Sciences, no parallel seat for candidates with NET/GATE, and no independent vacancy for a non-NET candidate. Degree alternatives determine eligibility; the national-eligibility criterion determines which pay rate applies to the candidate eventually selected. None creates extra posts.
The announcement is issued by the Department of Botany and signed Prof. Namrata Sharma, Co-Principal Investigator, DBT-BUILDER Project. Her university faculty profile identifies plant reproduction as a specialization. This is credible context for the desirable reproductive-biology/field-biology experience, but it is not evidence of an unpublished task list, experimental protocol, or eligibility minimum.
The university's own Botany information describes a botanical garden, greenhouse/glasshouse and herbarium facilities and its research portfolio includes plant reproductive biology. These institutional facilities provide a useful picture of the working academic environment. The recruitment advertisement does not say that this particular associate must operate any named facility, travel on a fixed schedule, perform molecular analysis or complete a particular field-sampling target. Such expectations must be confirmed at the interview.
The precise essential phrase is “Masters Degree in Botany/Plant sciences from a recognized University or equivalent.” A Master's in Botany and a Master's in Plant Sciences are explicitly named alternatives. A Master's with a different title—Biotechnology, Microbiology, Zoology, Environmental Science or another life-science specialisation—cannot be treated as automatically accepted merely because the research project is interdisciplinary. The word “equivalent” does not give applicants unilateral authority to declare equivalence. Where degree nomenclature differs, obtain the University department's decision and supporting recognition documents.
The advertisement does not prescribe a universal 55% or 60% qualifying score, a compulsory PhD, a compulsory NET certificate, or a mandatory number of years in field work. Importing such requirements from older DBT-BUILDER advertisements would change the eligibility conditions. Conversely, an applicant with NET but without an eligible Master's degree does not become eligible merely through NET.
Experience priority: Experience in plant reproductive biology/field biology is marked desirable. It can help demonstrate research readiness, but this notice does not make it a compulsory minimum. Candidates can support relevant projects through truthful field notebooks, dissertation methods, published work, supervisors' letters or employment certificates rather than claiming a fabricated number of required years.
| Age question | Official position |
|---|---|
| Maximum age | 35 years |
| Minimum age | Not stated |
| Cut-off date for calculating age | Not stated |
| SC / ST / OBC / EWS / PwBD relaxation figures | Not stated in this notification |
| Other general university/DBT relaxations | Not established for this specific notice |
A Master's-degree research appointment naturally has adult applicants, but no numerical minimum age has been notified here. Do not publish “18–35”, “21–35” or “relaxation up to 40/45” as verified conditions. Where a candidate is close to the 35-year boundary, the applicable reckoning date and any lawful relaxation should be confirmed with the recruitment office before application.
This call uses a precise two-track structure. The University lists ₹31,000 per month plus 18% House Rent Allowance for candidates selected through (a) national eligibility examinations such as CSIR–UGC NET (including Assistant Professorship/lectureship) or GATE, or (b) qualifying national-level selection processes conducted by central-government departments and their agencies or institutions. Other eligible selected candidates fall under ₹25,000 per month plus 18% HRA. The notice does not convert NET/GATE into a mandatory gateway for every applicant.
Monthly fellowship by qualifying route
| Selection-based fellowship category | Monthly base (INR) |
|---|---|
| National-eligibility / qualifying national-selection route | 31000 |
| Other eligible candidates | 25000 |
The differential is ₹6,000 in monthly base pay. This is not a post-rank difference or two separate positions.
| Monthly component | Route A — national eligibility | Route B — other eligible |
|---|---|---|
| Basic monthly fellowship | ₹31,000 | ₹25,000 |
| HRA at 18% | ₹5,580 | ₹4,500 |
| Arithmetic total (base + HRA) | ₹36,580 | ₹29,500 |
| Monthly difference (including HRA) | ₹7,080 above Route B | — |
Important accounting distinction: The total is an arithmetic consequence of the advertisement's stated 18% HRA, not a separately quoted fixed gross salary, take-home amount or promise of any further allowance. Pay conditions, deductions and actual disbursement must follow appointment documents.
Base fellowship and HRA within the ₹36,580 calculation
| Higher-route pay component | Amount (INR) |
|---|---|
| Monthly base fellowship | 31000 |
| HRA at 18% of base | 5580 |
This component-share illustration answers a different question from the base-rate comparison above: what fraction of the higher-route total is HRA? ₹5,580 is about 15.3% of ₹36,580; HRA is 18% of the base, not 18% of the total package. Do not add both salary routes together or infer their applicant-wise distribution from one notified vacancy.
What the one-page PDF does not establish: an application fee or fee-exemption schedule, a payment portal, a separate exam registration, a publication-date-based calendar deadline, a downloadable application form, a named email submission address, any reservation-wise distribution, or an interview hall/date/time. None should be invented to make a job card look complete.
The advertised desirable area is specific: plant reproductive biology and field biology. An applicant with evidence of those disciplines can build a more credible application than one who merely lists routine M.Sc. laboratory courses. For example, an academic dissertation involving flowering phenology, pollination observations, breeding-system measurements, plant population surveys, reproductive success or properly documented field sampling could be relevant—but these are illustrative evidence categories, not a University-mandated syllabus or compulsory methods.
| Evidence type | Potential relevance | How to substantiate it |
|---|---|---|
| Flowering, phenology and reproductive observations | Plant reproduction | Thesis chapters, dated observations, validated data sheets |
| Pollination and breeding-system analysis | Reproductive biology | Research protocols, supervised report, publications |
| Field identification and repeatable sampling | Field biology | Field logbooks, supervisor-certified projects, sampling records |
| Data integrity and reproducible observations | Either desirable stream | Traceable notebooks, spreadsheet methodology, data dictionary |
| Experience with herbarium/botanical surveys | Contextually useful field background | Institutional letter or documented work product |
Preparation, not a promised interview syllabus: Refresh pollen–stigma interactions, flowering phenology, sexual reproductive systems, sample bias, field replication, data-sheet integrity and safe handling of living specimens. The University has not announced a written examination or a formally weighted interview rubric. A candidate should explain what they personally did in previous research and avoid crediting themselves for a supervisor's work.
The University has advertised other DBT-BUILDER associates through different departments and in previous years. The shared funding umbrella does not make their notices interchangeable. This 23 October Department of Botany call announces one Project Associate-I, specific Botany/Plant Sciences eligibility, desirable reproductive/field biology, and a sealed envelope at the Department of Botany. An earlier School of Biotechnology DBT-BUILDER call in October 2026 described two positions with a wider list of disciplines and different desirable expertise. Do not transfer those vacancies, reference numbers, investigator names or application instructions into this notice.
The University Department's public research-project information identifies the broader DBT-BUILDER interdisciplinary project, while the one-page advertisement supplies the precise recruitment-specific requirements. These sources complement each other; background project information does not change the eligibility notice.
The only confirmed dated milestone is the University's 23 October website announcement. Other milestones are conditions or future steps, and they must remain undated until the relevant newspaper notice or employer communication exists.
| Stage | Status as of 23 October 2026 | Candidate action / evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Official recruitment announcement | Confirmed — University page dated 23 October | Check the original one-page notice and this specific Department of Botany post |
| Newspaper publication trigger | Date not available in PDF | Confirm print publication to determine the 15-day clock |
| Physical applications | Advertised process | Ensure complete sealed envelope is received in time |
| Administrative eligibility screening | Inferred prerequisite to interview invitations | Retain proof of degree/equivalence; no screening marks or timetable released |
| Interview call / contact | Officially described, date pending | Monitor email/mobile; notice says eligible candidates will be informed |
| Original-document verification | Explicitly required at interview | Bring originals; copies can be confirmed with department |
| Interview | Officially planned, date pending | Attend in person; no TA/DA reimbursed |
| Selection / outcome communication | No result notice or date announced | Follow only official communication; do not create a fictional result or merit list |
| Initial joining / project engagement | Conditional on selection | Initial one-year term, co-terminus with funded project |
| Performance review / possible extension | Conditional, no fixed date | Extension depends on progress and availability of project |
Exam: No separate written test has been announced; therefore there is no official examination date or paper pattern. Syllabus: The Botany teaching syllabus and any Ph.D. admission syllabus on the University's site are not recruitment syllabi for this Project Associate-I appointment. Admit card: An email/mobile interview intimation is a contact step; it is not proof that a conventional written-exam admit card is being issued. Answer key: Not applicable unless a future official examination is explicitly added. Cutoff / merit list: No category-wise marks cutoff, normalized score, merit formula or publicly dated merit list was published. Result: Do not invent one; link a genuine employer-issued outcome to this exact recruitment if and when available.
Critical editorial rule: Eligible candidates being informed of an interview implies screening but does not authorize claims about the number of interview rounds, marks weighting, shortlist ratio, mock-test pattern or formal result-publication date.
Is 7 November 2026 the official last date? Not established. The University posted the recruitment online on 23 October but the signed PDF has blank “No.” and “Date” lines. The 15-day window starts from the newspaper publication date, not necessarily the webpage publication date. Ask the department for the exact date.
Do all candidates need CSIR-UGC NET or GATE? No. An applicant can satisfy the Master's qualification without those tests. The notice distinguishes ₹31,000 + 18% HRA for qualifying national-test/selection routes from ₹25,000 + 18% HRA for the other eligible route.
Are Biotechnology or Microbiology Master's degrees expressly eligible? No. This notice expressly names Botany and Plant Sciences, with equivalence left for the University to determine. Do not assume the earlier School of Biotechnology advertisement's degree list applies here.
Is there any age relaxation? The notification lists 35 years as the upper limit but gives no relaxation table or cut-off date. An eligible relaxation must be backed by a University clarification or applicable binding rule; none is specified here.
Is the interview on 23 October? No. That is the date of the University website notice, not an interview schedule. Date information will come by email/mobile to eligible candidates.
Will the appointment continue beyond one year? Not automatically. The first term is one year; further extension depends on the candidate's progress and the project's continued operation, whichever is earlier.
Is there a direct Apply Online link? No such link is stated in this announcement. The printed method is an offline sealed-envelope application, delivered to the Department of Botany.
Has a written test or official result been declared? No. The notice specifies interview communication but neither a separate written test nor dated result/cutoff. Future confirmed updates belong to this recruitment's lifecycle, not to a generic admission-exam page.
Primary: University announcement, 23 October 2026 and original Department of Botany PDF. Additional institutional context: Botany department research facilities and projects, university-sponsored research projects, and official faculty profile.
All undated milestones and missing conditions above are reported as unknown rather than filled in by inference. If the University subsequently releases the newspaper date, an extension, interview schedule or selection notice, its official communication should supersede the corresponding item while keeping this one-vacancy advertisement identity unchanged.
Open a post to view qualification, experience, age, salary, location, responsibilities and post-specific instructions.
Essential: Master’s Degree in Botany or Plant Sciences from a recognised university or equivalent. Desirable: experience in plant reproductive biology/field biology. Neither PhD nor national-test qualification is an essential degree condition in this notice; CSIR-UGC NET/GATE or qualifying national selection governs the higher fellowship route.
Required: No · Description: Relevant plant reproductive biology or field biology experience desirable only; the notice specifies no minimum compulsory period. Proof of prior field/research work can be presented truthfully.
Description: Upper age 35 years in signed Botany_2.pdf. Neither reference date for age calculation nor SC/ST/OBC/EWS/PwBD age relaxation is specified; do not infer a numerical concession.
Eligibility: Master’s in Botany or Plant Sciences from a recognised University, or accepted equivalent. Desirable experience in plant reproductive biology/field biology is not mandatory. Age: 35 years maximum; cut-off date and relaxations not mentioned. Monthly remuneration: qualifying national-test/selection route ₹31,000 basic +18% HRA (₹36,580 arithmetic total); other selected eligible candidates ₹25,000 +18% HRA (₹29,500). Salary alternatives do not divide the one seat into separate vacancy categories.
Apply: Deliver a complete sealed-envelope application to Office of the Department of Botany, University of Jammu, Jammu–180006, marked “Application for DBT-BUILDER Project Positions.” Deadline: 15 days from NEWSPAPER publication; the university webpage dated 23 October 2026 cannot conclusively establish that newspaper date. Selection: interview intimation by email/mobile; original documents mandatory; no TA/DA. Initial duration one year, extension conditional on progress and project continuity.
Interview preparation (non-official, non-syllabus): explain genuine project work in plant reproduction and field sampling, keep data provenance, and be clear about your own role. There is no separate written test or advertised marks pattern. Project Associate-I is a temporary research position, not a permanent university appointment.
Temporary work as Project Associate-I in the DBT-BUILDER interdisciplinary life sciences research programme. The advertisement does not prescribe a daily duty roster or mandatory laboratory technique list.
Only a single post is advertised; no reservation category (UR/SC/ST/OBC/EWS/PwBD), roster, or local preference is specified. Do not invent allocation for one seat.
Recruitment-level qualifications and eligibility rules. Post-specific conditions are also shown inside each vacancy card.
A recognised Master’s Degree in Botany or Plant Sciences is essential; equivalence requires employer recognition. No universal 55/60% minimum, PhD or NET/GATE mandatory eligibility stated.
Desirable only; the notice does not set a mandatory number of months/years. Do not deny eligibility purely for lack of such experience.
₹31,000+18% HRA if selected via qualifying CSIR-UGC NET/GATE or stated national-level selection route; ₹25,000+18% HRA otherwise. This is remuneration classification, not an essential exam requirement.
Office of Department of Botany must receive complete sealed-envelope application within 15 days from actual newspaper publication. Exact newspaper date not printed in uploaded notice.
Recruitment-level age criteria. Post-specific age conditions remain visible inside each vacancy card.
Post-wise salary, stipend or pay-matrix information.
Two mutually exclusive fellowship base routes for one position: ₹31,000/month plus 18% HRA (₹5,580; total ₹36,580) for qualifying CSIR-UGC NET/GATE or central-government national selection route; otherwise ₹25,000/month plus 18% HRA (₹4,500; total ₹29,500). Amounts exclude hypothetical deductions or benefits.
Selection stages in the order configured for this recruitment.
University of Jammu posted the Department of Botany Project Associate-I one-post advertisement on 23 October 2026 (official page 9911). The notice number/date spaces inside PDF are blank.
PDF requires applications to reach the department within 15 days from newspaper publication. Actual newspaper issue/date is not supplied; check it before calculating any deadline.
Deliver to Department of Botany, University of Jammu, Jammu–180006 in a sealed envelope superscribed “Application for DBT-BUILDER Project Positions.” Last receipt date/time not explicitly printed.
Eligibility will precede the interview call, as candidates deemed eligible will be contacted; precise method, screening marks and date not separately published. Check named MSc/recognized equivalence; desirable experience is not compulsory.
Eligible applicants are to be informed through email/mobile contact. Date, time, venue room and number of interview panels are not yet announced. This is not a written-exam admit-card stage.
All applicants must bring original documents on interview date. Exact documentary checklist, credential-verification result date and copy count not prescribed in the advert.
Interview planned by the Department of Botany; no written test, exam pattern, marks allocation, cutoff or answer key stated. No travel or daily allowance.
A necessary subsequent employer decision but no selection/result publication mode, date or provisional merit list is officially announced. Do not create an actual result record without employer notice.
If selected, determine ₹31,000+18% HRA versus ₹25,000+18% HRA from qualified selection route; appointment and joining dates are not announced.
Project post initially for one year. Possible extension depends on candidate progress and funded project continuation; not assured, no fixed extension date.
Application and recruitment milestones published with this job.
Official University announcement page /node/9911 explicitly dated 23 October 2026; does NOT establish newspaper publication or calendar closing date.
Application links, notification documents and verified sources in one place.
सरकारी नौकरी, भर्ती, परीक्षा और career information को सरल, सटीक और उपयोगी रूप में समझाने पर केंद्रित