

NIFT 2026 Deputation: 19 Registrar & Director Posts, Five APAR Years and 16 Campus Vacancies
NIFT has advertised 19 Level-13 leadership posts on three-year, non-extendable deputation: 1 Registrar, 2 Head Office Directors and 16 Campus Directors. Regular analogous-post eligibility, five annual APARs, original integrity/vigilance/cadre clearances and a 20 Nov 2026, 5 PM hard-copy receipt deadline are decisive.
About the Recruiting Organization
Organization information attached to this recruitment record.

About this Recruitment
Recruitment-specific overview from the published record.
NIFT deputation 2026: 19 senior posts, but not an open-entry recruitment
National Institute of Fashion Technology (NIFT), a statutory institute under the Ministry of Textiles, published Advertisement 03/Estt./NIFT-HO/2026-27 on 21 October 2026. It seeks 19 officers on deputation: one Registrar, one Director (Head Office), one Director (Finance & Accounts) and 16 Campus Directors. Applications must reach the Registrar, NIFT, Hauz Khas, New Delhi by 5:00 PM on 20 November 2026. The closing date is also the test date for age, eligibility and qualifying experience. 🏛️
Who should stop here before spending time on the form? This is not an entry-level recruitment for any graduate with a management degree. Each advertised role requires an eligible officer already holding an analogous post on a regular basis in the Central/State Government, Union Territory, an autonomous organisation or a PSU. Officers already serving on deputation are ineligible, and casual, contractual, ad-hoc or consultancy work without a substantive post/lien does not count toward the requisite experience. The advertisement does not state a general minimum educational degree or a freshers' route. Selection is through an interview/interaction or other criteria NIFT may prescribe; no written-paper syllabus or interview date is published.
Vacancy roster: 16 of 19 appointments are Campus Directors
| Post | Advertised seats | Posting stated in notice |
|---|---|---|
| Registrar | 1 | New Delhi |
| Director (Head Office) | 1 | New Delhi |
| Director (Finance & Accounts) | 1 | New Delhi |
| Campus Director | 16 | 16 campus locations named below |
| Total | 19 | 3 Head Office + 16 campus vacancies |
| Post | Vacancies |
|---|---|
| Registrar | 1 |
| Director (Head Office) | 1 |
| Director (Finance & Accounts) | 1 |
| Campus Director | 16 |
| Appointment group | Vacancies |
|---|---|
| Campus Directors | 16 |
| Registrar and two Head Office Directors | 3 |
The arithmetic matters: Campus Directors account for 16/19 = 84.21% of advertised seats. This does not establish a higher individual probability of selection: the pool of eligible applicants, experience restrictions and employer-controlled selection remain unknown. NIFT says it has 20 campuses overall; the advertised 16 Campus Director locations are not a 20-seat national drive. Nor is the lack of reservation a claim that every seat belongs to the UR category. The official notice explicitly states that there is no reservation provision for these deputation posts under the cited DoP&T instructions; no vertical category split is advertised.
Sixteen Campus Director locations—and a preference that does not bind the employer
The 16 named locations are Bengaluru, Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Chennai, Gandhinagar, Hyderabad, Jodhpur, Kangra, Kolkata, Kannur, Mumbai, New Delhi, Patna, Raebareli, Shillong and Srinagar. Campus Director applicants must name three campus preferences in order of priority in Annexure-I. However, these posts are transferable among NIFT campuses and the appointing authority can place a selected officer outside those three choices. In other words, the preference list is an expression of interest, not a guaranteed station. A serving official should consider household relocation, present cadre clearances and all-India transfer mobility before applying.
Position-specific eligibility: the experience is not identical
| Position | Mandatory official gate | Useful evidence in service records |
|---|---|---|
| Registrar | An analogous regular post and experience in administration, establishment or academic matters | Detailed service-history chronology demonstrating the relevant functions performed |
| Director (Head Office) | Analogous regular post and relevant administration, establishment, admissions or academic experience | Responsibilities in institutional administration/admissions, recorded against the substantive post |
| Director (Finance & Accounts) | Analogous regular post and relevant financial, accounting and audit experience | Finance/accounts/audit responsibilities, appointment and reporting documents |
| Campus Director | Analogous regular post and at least 2 years at Government-of-India Director level or equivalent, with relevant administration/establishment/admissions/academic experience | Date of appointment at the comparable level, actual tenure and matching functions |
Do not transfer the Campus Director two-year rule to the other three posts: the advertisement states it specifically for Campus Director. Conversely, an MBA or another academic qualification by itself does not replace the required analogous regular officer post for any of these roles. Note that the notice allows officers from PSU/autonomous employers as well as government departments; it does not restrict eligibility to an IAS cadre or to employees currently based in Delhi.
Pay: Level 13, not an advertised take-home rupee range
All four posts carry Pay Matrix Level 13 (7th CPC). The same official table gives the historic 6th CPC PB-4 ₹37,400–₹67,000 plus Grade Pay ₹8,700 as a pay-band cross-reference. NIFT states that an appointee's pay on deputation will be regulated by DoP&T O.M. No. 6/8/2009-Estt.(Pay II), dated 17 June 2010, as amended. The historic pay-band endpoints are not a newly guaranteed net monthly salary, and the 7th CPC Level 13 is not ₹13. The advertisement does not promise a specific in-hand figure, individual starting basic pay, HRA amount or deputation allowance. Readers should obtain individual pay-fixation advice from the parent employer and NIFT before treating a number as their payable salary.
| Post | Official current level | Old pay-band reference | Monthly take-home salary |
|---|---|---|---|
| Registrar | Level 13 (7th CPC) | PB-4 + GP ₹8,700 (6th CPC) | Not specified |
| Director (Head Office) | Level 13 (7th CPC) | PB-4 + GP ₹8,700 (6th CPC) | Not specified |
| Director (Finance & Accounts) | Level 13 (7th CPC) | PB-4 + GP ₹8,700 (6th CPC) | Not specified |
| Campus Director | Level 13 (7th CPC) | PB-4 + GP ₹8,700 (6th CPC) | Not specified |
Five years of APARs, ten years of penalties: the most consequential document check
A candidate's academic profile or interview preparation cannot replace their parent-office forwardable service dossier. The prescribed documentation requires:
- Annexure-I, signed bio-data/CV for the specific post with a recent photo signed across; applicants for more than one post must file separate applications. Campus Director applicants must give three campus choices.
- A Statement of Purpose of at most 1,000 words addressing four actual prompts: why NIFT, why the candidate fits the job, how they would create value, and a significant defining professional experience. The SOP is not a published scored essay test.
- Original Integrity Certificate (Annexure-II) endorsed by an officer of at least Deputy Secretary rank.
- Penalty history or NIL Certificate (Annexure-III) covering the preceding 10 years.
- Original Vigilance Clearance (Annexure-IV) and original Cadre Clearance (Annexure-V).
- Five annual APARs, 2020–21 through 2024–25 (Annexure-VI), with each page attested by an officer not below Under Secretary rank. If a required year's APAR is administratively unavailable/under process, the notice permits an earlier year's APAR instead. Where a parent department uses numerical grade points, submit the corresponding year-wise grades, not just raw points.
- Matriculation certificate for age proof, self-attested relevant qualification/experience evidence, and attested translation for material not in Hindi or English.
Practical calculation: the APAR span has five reporting years; the penalty declaration looks back ten years. They are two different screening windows, not a demand for ten APARs. The forwarding authority must also certify the selected officer can be relieved within one month of receiving the appointment offer. That is an employer-side readiness requirement, not a guaranteed NIFT joining date.
Deadline strategy: advance copy and proper-channel copy are not interchangeable
Send the prescribed packet through the parent employer to The Registrar, National Institute of Fashion Technology, NIFT Campus, Hauz Khas, Near Gulmohar Park, New Delhi – 110016, so it arrives on or before 20 November 2026 at 5:00 PM. An application submitted directly or as an advance copy is considered only provisionally; the fully certified and properly forwarded version must subsequently reach NIFT before the interview. This later provisional-copy exception does not erase the 20 November receipt deadline. NIFT does not announce an online application portal for this deputation drive, an application fee or a regular e-application route.
Recommended administrative sequence (candidate guidance, not official extra stages): establish eligibility and substantive-post status → obtain department approval to forward → reconcile service records/penalty history/APARs → prepare the <=1,000-word SOP and annexures → arrange delivery sufficiently before 5 PM on the closing date → monitor your registered email/NIFT website for the interaction notice. Delayed postal/internal dispatch can invalidate an otherwise strong candidate's application.
How selection and subsequent deputation actually work
The official selection provision leaves NIFT/its Selection Committee authority to use personal interview/interaction or other selection criteria. NIFT states that the interview/interaction date and mode will be communicated by email to shortlisted applicants; its notice also permits recruitment communications to be uploaded on the NIFT website. Online or offline mode is the employer's decision. No mark allocation, 100-mark interview, qualifying percentage, written-exam syllabus, admit-card release or result date is announced. Do not assume every eligible applicant will be called. No TA/DA is payable for the selection visit.
The deputation term is three years, and the vacancy circular expressly says the tenure shall not be extended further. This is not a permanent direct appointment: officers remain tied to applicable deputation/pay and relieving rules. There is no stated category-reservation roster for these 19 deputation openings. Withdrawal, transferring a filed application to a different role or keeping it in reserve for a later hiring cycle is not permitted under the notice.
Before applying: a four-question decision check
- Service status: Do you hold an analogous post regularly, rather than as an ad-hoc/contract consultant or while already on deputation?
- Role match: Can your official record prove administration/academics, finance and audit, or the Campus Director's two-year Director-equivalent requirement as appropriate?
- Forwarding readiness: Can the parent office produce original vigilance, integrity and cadre clearances, the 2020–21 to 2024–25 APARs, and the one-month release certificate?
- Mobility: Are you comfortable that three chosen campuses are preferences, not guaranteed postings, for a non-extendable three-year term?
Dates distinction: 21 October is the notification's printed publication date, not a separately notified application-start date. The confirmed receipt cutoff is 20 November 2026 at 5:00 PM.
Original evidence: NIFT Advertisement 03/Estt./NIFT-HO/2026-27, 13-page official PDF, pp. 1–5 for seats, eligibility, pay, exclusions, documents, mobility and receipt cutoff; pp. 6–13 contain the proforma, SOP and clearance annexures. Check the NIFT website for any later addendum or revised interview notice.
Post-wise Vacancies
Open a post to view qualification, experience, age, salary, location, responsibilities and post-specific instructions.
1 vacanciesRegistrar
Qualification: No separate minimum educational degree is prescribed. Officer must hold an analogous post on regular basis under a Central/State/UT Government, autonomous organisation or PSU. Relevant experience: administration, establishment or academic matters. Officers already on deputation are not eligible; service without a substantive post/lien does not count toward qualifying experience.Age: Maximum 56 yearsPay: Pay Matrix Level 13 (7th CPC); historical 6th CPC PB-4 ₹37,400–67,000 + GP ₹8,700
Registrar
No separate minimum educational degree is prescribed. Officer must hold an analogous post on regular basis under a Central/State/UT Government, autonomous organisation or PSU. Relevant experience: administration, establishment or academic matters. Officers already on deputation are not eligible; service without a substantive post/lien does not count toward qualifying experience.
Required: Yes · Description: Analogous regular post plus relevant administration/establishment/academic experience; the circular does not impose a separate numeric minimum experience in years on the Registrar role.
Registrar — 1 post, New Delhi. Deputation eligibility hinges on a regular, analogous post and experience in administration, establishment or academic matters. Unlike the Head Office Director criteria, the Registrar clause does not expressly list admissions. NIFT specifies neither a separate minimum academic degree nor a minimum number of experience years for this position; applicants must instead demonstrate the analogous regular post and relevant responsibilities in the service chronology. The advertised term is three years without extension. Parent-office forwarding, the five APAR years and original clearances remain necessary.
- Application must reach the Registrar, NIFT New Delhi by 17:00 on 20 Nov 2026 via proper channel.
- Parent service organisation must forward integrity, vigilance and cadre certificates and five annual APARs (2020–21 to 2024–25).
- An advance/direct copy is provisional; fully forwarded packet must reach before interview.
- Officers already on deputation are not eligible.
- Interview/interaction details for shortlisted applicants will be communicated by email; check NIFT website for uploaded recruitment notices as well.
No reservation provision for the advertised deputation posts, as explicitly stated in the official notice with reference to DoP&T O.M. 36011/1/2022-Estt(Res-I), 28 March 2024; this is NOT a declared 100% UR vacancy roster.
1 vacanciesDirector (Head Office)
Qualification: No separate minimum educational degree is prescribed. Officer must hold an analogous post on regular basis under a Central/State/UT Government, autonomous organisation or PSU. Relevant experience: administration, establishment, admissions or academic matters. Officers already on deputation are not eligible; service without a substantive post/lien does not count toward qualifying experience.Age: Maximum 56 yearsPay: Pay Matrix Level 13 (7th CPC); historical 6th CPC PB-4 ₹37,400–67,000 + GP ₹8,700
Director (Head Office)
No separate minimum educational degree is prescribed. Officer must hold an analogous post on regular basis under a Central/State/UT Government, autonomous organisation or PSU. Relevant experience: administration, establishment, admissions or academic matters. Officers already on deputation are not eligible; service without a substantive post/lien does not count toward qualifying experience.
Required: Yes · Description: Analogous regular post plus relevant administration/establishment/admissions/academic experience. No post-specific minimum number of years is printed.
Director (Head Office) — 1 post, New Delhi. The relevant experience test explicitly includes admissions as well as administration, establishment and academic matters. It is not interchangeable with the Finance & Accounts Director role: the latter specifies finance, accounting and audit. NIFT requires an analogous regular post, not a named fresh academic qualification, and prints no extra fixed number of service years for this Director position. The three-year deputation is non-extendable; interview/interaction arrangements will be announced to shortlisted officers.
- Application must reach the Registrar, NIFT New Delhi by 17:00 on 20 Nov 2026 via proper channel.
- Parent service organisation must forward integrity, vigilance and cadre certificates and five annual APARs (2020–21 to 2024–25).
- An advance/direct copy is provisional; fully forwarded packet must reach before interview.
- Officers already on deputation are not eligible.
- Interview/interaction details for shortlisted applicants will be communicated by email; check NIFT website for uploaded recruitment notices as well.
No reservation provision for the advertised deputation posts, as explicitly stated in the official notice with reference to DoP&T O.M. 36011/1/2022-Estt(Res-I), 28 March 2024; this is NOT a declared 100% UR vacancy roster.
1 vacanciesDirector (Finance & Accounts)
Qualification: No separate minimum educational degree is prescribed. Officer must hold an analogous post on regular basis under a Central/State/UT Government, autonomous organisation or PSU. Relevant experience in financial, accounting and audit matters. Officers already on deputation are not eligible; service without a substantive post/lien does not count toward qualifying experience.Age: Maximum 56 yearsPay: Pay Matrix Level 13 (7th CPC); historical 6th CPC PB-4 ₹37,400–67,000 + GP ₹8,700
Director (Finance & Accounts)
No separate minimum educational degree is prescribed. Officer must hold an analogous post on regular basis under a Central/State/UT Government, autonomous organisation or PSU. Relevant experience in financial, accounting and audit matters. Officers already on deputation are not eligible; service without a substantive post/lien does not count toward qualifying experience.
Required: Yes · Description: Analogous regular post with relevant financial, accounting and audit matters experience. The notice does not specify an additional fixed numeric period for this role.
Director (Finance & Accounts) — 1 post, New Delhi. Applicants should be able to evidence regular analogous-post service with relevant handling of financial, accounting and audit matters. General administrative service alone does not automatically satisfy the specific finance/audit experience requirement. The notice does not mandate a separate CA/MBA degree or specify a numeric minimum number of years for this position. Deputation is for a fixed, non-extendable three years, with Level 13 pay subject to the cited DoP&T pay rules.
- Application must reach the Registrar, NIFT New Delhi by 17:00 on 20 Nov 2026 via proper channel.
- Parent service organisation must forward integrity, vigilance and cadre certificates and five annual APARs (2020–21 to 2024–25).
- An advance/direct copy is provisional; fully forwarded packet must reach before interview.
- Officers already on deputation are not eligible.
- Interview/interaction details for shortlisted applicants will be communicated by email; check NIFT website for uploaded recruitment notices as well.
No reservation provision for the advertised deputation posts, as explicitly stated in the official notice with reference to DoP&T O.M. 36011/1/2022-Estt(Res-I), 28 March 2024; this is NOT a declared 100% UR vacancy roster.
16 vacanciesCampus Director
Qualification: No separate minimum educational degree is prescribed. Officer must hold an analogous post on regular basis under a Central/State/UT Government, autonomous organisation or PSU. At least two years holding a post at Government of India Director level or equivalent and relevant administration/establishment/admissions/academic experience. Officers already on deputation are not eligible; service without a substantive post/lien does not count toward qualifying experience.Age: Maximum 56 yearsPay: Pay Matrix Level 13 (7th CPC); historical 6th CPC PB-4 ₹37,400–67,000 + GP ₹8,700
Campus Director
No separate minimum educational degree is prescribed. Officer must hold an analogous post on regular basis under a Central/State/UT Government, autonomous organisation or PSU. At least two years holding a post at Government of India Director level or equivalent and relevant administration/establishment/admissions/academic experience. Officers already on deputation are not eligible; service without a substantive post/lien does not count toward qualifying experience.
Required: Yes · Description: Analogous regular post plus at least 2 years at Government of India Director level or equivalent, alongside relevant administration, establishment, admissions or academic experience. · Minimum Years: 2
Campus Director — 16 advertised locations. In addition to holding an analogous regular post, the candidate must have at least two years at Government-of-India Director level or equivalent, with relevant administration, establishment, admissions or academic experience. This two-year test is specific to Campus Director; it should not be imported into the other three job profiles. Annexure-I asks applicants for three ordered campus preferences, but selected officers can be posted outside these choices and transferred across NIFT campuses. All 16 locations are in the official vacancy table; none is a guaranteed permanent station.
- Application must reach the Registrar, NIFT New Delhi by 17:00 on 20 Nov 2026 via proper channel.
- Parent service organisation must forward integrity, vigilance and cadre certificates and five annual APARs (2020–21 to 2024–25).
- An advance/direct copy is provisional; fully forwarded packet must reach before interview.
- Officers already on deputation are not eligible.
- Interview/interaction details for shortlisted applicants will be communicated by email; check NIFT website for uploaded recruitment notices as well.
- Fill three campus preferences; transfer/posting outside these choices is possible.
No reservation provision for the advertised deputation posts, as explicitly stated in the official notice with reference to DoP&T O.M. 36011/1/2022-Estt(Res-I), 28 March 2024; this is NOT a declared 100% UR vacancy roster.
Eligibility & Qualification
Recruitment-level qualifications and eligibility rules. Post-specific conditions are also shown inside each vacancy card.
Indian citizenship
Applicants must be Indian citizens. Official notice page 3.
Regular analogous post under an eligible public employer
Applicants must hold an analogous substantive/regular post in Central/State Government, UT, autonomous organisation or PSU. Existing deputation officers are not eligible. Ad hoc, part-time, contract and consultant employment without substantive post/lien is not qualifying regular service.
Campus Director has an additional two-year seniority threshold
Only Campus Director expressly requires at least two years on a post equivalent to Government of India Director level with relevant administration, establishment, admissions or academic work; other roles require their separately specified analogous regular post and relevant experience.
Mandatory parent-office originals and APAR evidence
Original integrity, vigilance and cadre clearances; 10-year penalty history/NIL statement; five annual APARs 2020–21 through 2024–25 with requisite attestations. The forwarding office must confirm relief within one month of receiving offer.
Proper-channel packet and separate application for each role
Submit Annexure-I, a <=1000-word Statement of Purpose and parent-certified annexures. Applicants for multiple posts must submit separate applications. A direct/advance copy is provisional only; the proper-channel packet must reach before interview.
Campus choices are nonbinding
Campus Director candidates provide three preferences, but NIFT may post selected officers outside their choices or transfer them to another campus.
Age Limit & Relaxation
Recruitment-level age criteria. Post-specific age conditions remain visible inside each vacancy card.
Salary & Pay Scale
Post-wise salary, stipend or pay-matrix information.
Official 7th CPC Pay Matrix Level 13 for deputation. Notice separately prints 6th CPC PB-4 ₹37,400–67,000 + Grade Pay ₹8,700 as historical reference. Individual deputation pay is governed by DoP&T O.M. 6/8/2009-Estt.(Pay II), as amended; no specific monthly gross/in-hand or starting basic amount is prescribed. The minimum and maximum amount fields are deliberately null to avoid falsely turning the 6th CPC PB-4 limits into current contractual salary.
Official 7th CPC Pay Matrix Level 13 for deputation. Notice separately prints 6th CPC PB-4 ₹37,400–67,000 + Grade Pay ₹8,700 as historical reference. Individual deputation pay is governed by DoP&T O.M. 6/8/2009-Estt.(Pay II), as amended; no specific monthly gross/in-hand or starting basic amount is prescribed. The minimum and maximum amount fields are deliberately null to avoid falsely turning the 6th CPC PB-4 limits into current contractual salary.
Official 7th CPC Pay Matrix Level 13 for deputation. Notice separately prints 6th CPC PB-4 ₹37,400–67,000 + Grade Pay ₹8,700 as historical reference. Individual deputation pay is governed by DoP&T O.M. 6/8/2009-Estt.(Pay II), as amended; no specific monthly gross/in-hand or starting basic amount is prescribed. The minimum and maximum amount fields are deliberately null to avoid falsely turning the 6th CPC PB-4 limits into current contractual salary.
Official 7th CPC Pay Matrix Level 13 for deputation. Notice separately prints 6th CPC PB-4 ₹37,400–67,000 + Grade Pay ₹8,700 as historical reference. Individual deputation pay is governed by DoP&T O.M. 6/8/2009-Estt.(Pay II), as amended; no specific monthly gross/in-hand or starting basic amount is prescribed. The minimum and maximum amount fields are deliberately null to avoid falsely turning the 6th CPC PB-4 limits into current contractual salary.
Selection Process
Selection stages in the order configured for this recruitment.
Regular-post eligibility and proper-channel document scrutiny
NIFT examines eligibility for analogous regular posts, post-specific relevant experience (Campus Director minimum two Director-equivalent years), age as of 20 Nov, service dossiers and forwarding authority originals. A directly submitted advance copy is provisional. No scored screening formula is published.
NIFT shortlisting and interview / interaction
NIFT communicates interview/interaction date and online/offline mode to shortlisted officers by email; general recruitment communications may also appear on the official NIFT website. Selection rests on interaction or other NIFT/Committee criteria. No exam date, score weights, qualifying marks, published paper, result/cutoff, or selection calendar is announced.
Parent-cadre clearance, deputation offer and relieving formalities
Selected deputation officer must receive employer clearance; forwarding authority certifies release within a month after appointment offer. Deputation term three years and is not extendable further. This administrative completion is not a separately scored selection test.
Important Dates
Application and recruitment milestones published with this job.
Publication date 21 October 2026 is printed on page 1 of the official 13-page advertisement.
NIFT Hauz Khas New Delhi, strictly received by 5 PM. A direct/advance copy is only provisional until proper-channel papers reach before interview.
Official Links & Resources
Application links, notification documents and verified sources in one place.
Official actions
Verified sources
सरकारी नौकरी, भर्ती, परीक्षा और career information को सरल, सटीक और उपयोगी रूप में समझाने पर केंद्रित