BRIC - Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology logo
BRIC - Rajiv Gandhi Centre for BiotechnologyNEWCheck application status

RGCB Technical Recruitment 2026: 8 Lab & Instrumentation Posts, 300-Mark Written Merit and Qualifying Practical

RGCB technical recruitment, 28 Oct 2026: 8 regular technical-grade openings in three codes (2 Officer, 3 Assistant G-II, 3 Assistant G-I), distinct first-class and documented experience rules. 100-MCQ Tier I (200), five-answer Tier II (100), Pass/Fail practical, zero fee; apply by 14 Dec 5 PM.

RGCB/Advt./TECH/01/2026Posted 28 Oct 202647 days left
Total vacancies
8
Last date
14 Dec 2026 ? 5:00 PM
Application mode
Online
Job location
India
Organization profile

About the Recruiting Organization

Organization information attached to this recruitment record.

BRIC - Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology logo
Recruiting AuthorityRecruiting authority

BRIC - Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology

AutonomousResearch InstituteCentralBiotechnology
Organization code
BRIC-RGCB
Official jobs
View all jobs
Official website
Sarkari Sapna

About this Recruitment

Recruitment-specific overview from the published record.

RGCB Technical Recruitment 2026: Eight laboratory and engineering careers — the 300-mark route, three distinct qualification gates and a pass/fail practical

BRIC–Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology (RGCB), Thiruvananthapuram | Advertisement RGCB/Advt./TECH/01/2026 | Dated 28 October 2026

A vacancy headline of “8 technical posts” hides three very different hiring decisions. RGCB is filling two Technical Officer (Level 7), three Technical Assistant Group II (Level 5), and three Technical Assistant Group I (Level 2) positions. The Officer pathway expects a relevant first-class engineering/MSc qualification plus two documented years; Group II asks for a first-class science bachelor's plus one relevant year; Group I accepts first-class Plus Two/Higher Secondary/VHSE or equivalent plus one relevant year. Every experience claim needs evidence from the specified institutional sectors, not merely a skill listed on a CV.

The advertisement is not a one-interview selection. It prescribes 100 objective questions worth 200 marks, five answers from ten descriptive questions worth 100 marks, followed by a qualifying practical skills test. Only Tier I + II scored marks determine the final ranking among people who also pass Tier III. This distinction matters more than superficial “selection through exam” summaries. All three examination tiers are held only in Thiruvananthapuram, even though selected employees may later be posted anywhere in India. Applications close 14 December 2026 at 17:00, with no application fee.

Editorial source boundary: Vacancy, qualification, experience, selection and timing facts below come from RGCB's 28 October 2026 official Positions notice. Pay-matrix entry amounts are a separate Central Government 7th CPC pay-matrix reference, not an RGCB promise of take-home pay. Practical preparation examples are advisory—not an extra official syllabus, test venue or employer requirement.

🧭 Applicant's decision desk — which code fits your evidence?

Apply forAdvertised vacanciesEssential academic pathRelevant institutional experienceBasic pay level
Code 1 — Technical Officer2, URFirst-class BE/BTech in four named engineering branches or first-class MSc in named sciencesAt least 2 years documentedLevel 7
Code 2 — Technical Assistant Group II3, UR 1 / OBC 1 / EWS 1First-class bachelor's degree in ScienceAt least 1 year documentedLevel 5
Code 3 — Technical Assistant Group I3, UR 2 / OBC 1First-class 12th / Higher Secondary / VHSE or accepted equivalentAt least 1 year documentedLevel 2

Do not substitute one post's academic requirement for another. A BSc holder may have a route to Group II but that degree alone is not listed as a Technical Officer qualifying route. A higher qualification does not automatically erase the requirement of first class at the stated essential level, nor does experience at a private startup automatically establish the explicitly specified employer-type test. Where recognition, first-class equivalence or a particular employer's status is uncertain, obtain clarification from RGCB rather than asserting eligibility from analogy.

📊 Vacancies — what the figures mean (and do not mean)

📊 View eight vacancies by post — pie

PositionVacancies
Technical Officer / Level 72
Technical Assistant Group II / Level 53
Technical Assistant Group I / Level 23

The small count deserves careful interpretation: Level 7 accounts for 2/8 seats, while each assistant grade accounts for 3/8. This is a post-level split, not a forecast of which grade is easiest. The mix of academic eligibility and previous relevant employment makes raw seat ratios unsuitable for calculating selection probability.

📊 View vertical reservation within eight posts — pie

CategorySeats
UR5
OBC-NCL2
EWS1

Across the advertised eight positions, the official vertical allocation is UR 5, OBC 2, EWS 1. UR means unreserved competition, not an assurance that only general-category candidates can compete. OBC and EWS seats here belong to Group II (one each) and an OBC seat in Group I. Technical Officer has two UR seats, not a separate OBC/EWS quota. The notice does not list a separately earmarked SC/ST/PwBD vacancy in these eight positions. That does not establish a prohibition on an otherwise eligible person's applying for an eligible UR vacancy; distinguish reservation entitlement from the underlying application eligibility.

Post codeUROBCEWSTotal
Technical Officer, Code 12002
Technical Assistant Group II, Code 21113
Technical Assistant Group I, Code 32103
Verified total5218

The selection panel can remain valid for one year from approval and notified vacancies are provisional; RGCB may draw further names if it decides to fill more positions within the notice's terms. Do not treat that discretion as nine or more confirmed vacancies today.

🧪 Experience audit — the gate a degree alone cannot open

📊 Compare mandatory relevant experience — bar

PostMinimum documented years
Technical Officer2
Technical Assistant Group II1
Technical Assistant Group I1

The ad requires documented relevant experience at Central/State Government research institutions, PSUs, autonomous bodies or universities. For Code 1 the minimum is two years; Codes 2 and 3 each need one year. Unlike generic technical vacancies, the institutional origin and relevance of prior work are part of the advertised eligibility. A one-year internship, private-lab service, freelance repair assignment or training period should not be assumed to count automatically: its documented duties, employer classification, dates and recognition require the recruiting institute's assessment.

Build an evidence folder: employer-issued appointment/experience certificates showing organisation, period, capacity and work actually performed; relevant academic marksheets/first-class evidence; recognised degree or VHSE record; and any category certificate claimed. The official notice requires supporting documents with the online form. It does not publish a universal experience-certificate template or a first-class numerical percentage; avoid inventing 60% as a formal cutoff where none is stated.

💰 Pay-matrix analysis: Level 7 ≠ fixed ₹1.42 lakh joining pay

📊 Compare pay-matrix entry basic by post — bar

7th CPC postEntry basic rupees per month
Technical Officer Level 744900
Technical Assistant Group II Level 529200
Technical Assistant Group I Level 219900

The RGCB notice specifies pay levels, not individual gross salary or in-hand offers. As an independent reference, the 7th CPC entry basic for Level 7 is ₹44,900, Level 5 ₹29,200 and Level 2 ₹19,900. The pay-matrix upper cells are not starting salaries. Actual joining pay fixation, DA/HRA eligibility, deductions and take-home depend on applicable institutional rules and circumstances; these are Not specified by this advertisement.

GradeOfficially notified levelIndicative 7th CPC entry basicGuaranteed gross / in-hand
Officer7₹44,900Not specified
Assistant Group II5₹29,200Not specified
Assistant Group I2₹19,900Not specified

This is not an eight-person project stipend drive. These technical roles are advertised against 7th CPC pay levels under the institute's recruitment process; nonetheless, the notice should not be paraphrased as a promise of lifelong tenure, a fixed promotion ladder, or a particular city of permanent posting.

🧰 Beyond the job title: what each technical career actually does

🔧 Code 1 — Technical Officer: scientific engineering, not just instrument attendance

At Level 7, the role sits where biomedical and laboratory equipment meets engineering decision-making. A credible candidate should be ready to explain why an instrument failed, how it would be checked safely and what evidence confirms recovery. The advertised work spans installation, calibration, fault diagnosis, prototype electronics, PCB/circuit debugging, sensor interfaces, embedded systems, reliability checks, procurement and service coordination. The applicant's portfolio should show technically meaningful interventions rather than a list of model numbers. For example, describing a documented fault → diagnostic reading → corrective action → calibration verification sequence is a stronger interview/practical narrative than “worked with instruments”; this is preparation advice, not an announced practical question.

Suitable profiles: First-class BE/BTech in Biotechnology, Biomedical Engineering, Instrumentation Engineering, Electronics & Communication Engineering, or first-class MSc in Biotechnology, Life Sciences, Physics or Chemistry, with two years of relevant documented experience in the permitted institution categories. There is no advertised generic “all BE/BTech branches” pathway. Be especially careful that a job title reading “Technical Officer” does not turn a nonlisted degree into an eligible equivalent.

🧫 Code 2 — Technical Assistant Group II: reproducibility and instrument discipline

This Level-5 post emphasises maintaining laboratories so experiments are repeatable, traceable and safe. Everyday tasks involve preparing buffers, reagents and samples; maintaining equipment-use records; supporting PCR, centrifugation, microscopy and other routine workflows; preserving stocks and coordinating with scientists and core facilities. Evidence of sample identification discipline, instrument logs, contamination control and chemical/biomedical waste compliance offers a meaningful fit discussion. You may use a documented example of catching a sample-label discrepancy or restoring an instrument log as an application-writing exercise, but these are not published employer scoring criteria.

Suitable profiles: first-class Science bachelor's with at least one year of relevant documented service in a named institutional sector. The ad does not name one exclusive BSc subject, and it does not independently require an MSc for Code 2. A pure classroom degree with no qualifying work evidence is insufficient under the stated wording.

🧾 Code 3 — Technical Assistant Group I: laboratory operations meet records and invoices

The Level-2 role is not merely a generic 12th-pass office vacancy. The operational portfolio includes routine scientific/clinical/molecular laboratory support, maintaining logs, hygiene, autoclave/waste-disposal discipline, simple purchase and indent processing, invoice movement and elementary accounting support. Candidates should be prepared to demonstrate accurate records, safe hand-offs, neat material registers and basic workflow control. A sample specimen receipt sheet or stock reconciliation practice exercise can help preparation; neither is a prescribed official form.

Suitable profiles: first-class Plus Two / Higher Secondary / VHSE or recognised equivalent and one year of documented relevant experience from an eligible institution. Merely being 12th-pass, without the first-class or experience conditions, does not meet the complete advert. An advanced science degree alone does not waive these essential requirements.

🗓️ Dates, geography and one-deadline document check

MilestoneOfficial positionWhat the applicant should do
Notice issued28 October 2026Identify correct code and reservation category
Age, degree and experience assessed14 December 2026All essential conditions must exist by cut-off
Application portal closes14 December 2026, 17:00Submit every separate position application before 5 PM
Tier I / Tier II / Tier IIIDates not announcedMonitor institute site for official notices
Practical shortlistAfter written tiers, date unknownLook at RGCB website and physical notice board
Selection resultNot yet releasedOfficial result page/email to successful candidates

All tests take place only at Thiruvananthapuram. Candidates living elsewhere should budget travel and verify examination-day instructions when issued. The appointment, however, can be any institute branch or office in India as RGCB's administrative needs dictate. Being examined in Kerala is therefore not a promise of a Kerala-only posting. Travel reimbursement is Not specified; do not assume it.

📝 Registration and application: the mistakes that cost a screening opportunity

Official Apply: RGCB technical recruitment registration/login. Source and future corrigenda: RGCB Positions — TECH/01/2026.

  1. Select Code 1, 2 or 3 only after matching both degree and mandatory institution-specific documented experience. Submit separate online forms for multiple post codes; the notice expressly allows this if each is filed independently. The practical assessment, too, is separate for candidates shortlisted across several codes.
  2. Prepare readable supporting academic and experience files, and OBC non-creamy-layer or EWS Income/Asset certificate when claiming those reserved seats. Avoid an unproven equivalence or undocumented employer. The notice warns that illegible/defective uploads can cause rejection before the examination.
  3. Check contact details and documents before final submission, retain the acknowledgement or form copy available on the portal, and finish before 17:00 on 14 December. No application fee is charged—any unauthorised payment demand deserves scrutiny.
  4. Government/PSU/autonomous-body employees must use the online portal, but also meet the proper-channel hardcopy or NOC-at-selection condition. This is not a general instruction for every applicant to courier a form; it applies to the specified serving candidates.
  5. For technical portal problems, the employer's published contact is jobs@rgcb.res.in. Do not send personal credentials or rely on unofficial agents.

🚨 Three factual traps on this notification

Trap A: “Three tiers means 300+ practical marks.” Incorrect. Tier I 200 + Tier II 100 = 300 scored marks; Tier III is Pass/Fail only, yet mandatory to remain eligible.

Trap B: “All three jobs accept any science graduate.” Incorrect. Code 1 has narrowly enumerated engineering and MSc alternatives, Code 2 requires first-class BSc-level Science, and Code 3 accepts first-class Plus Two/VHSE or equivalent; each also has a documented experience rule.

Trap C: “Paper 2 asks exactly five of ten questions in 90 minutes, so write all ten.” Incorrect. Officially only any five should be attempted; if a candidate answers more, only the first five attempted are evaluated. The preparation method should therefore emphasise choice, clarity and answer completeness, not indiscriminate extra writing.

🔍 A short, useful interview-prep substitute — when there is no interview stage

The notice does not prescribe an interview as a separate scored stage; it prescribes Tier I, Tier II and a qualifying practical. Candidates should practise reporting and explaining technical procedures because those skills are relevant to the descriptive and practical tests, but should not be told that an interview carries 15%, 25% or any other unannounced score. For Code 1, practise systematic fault logs and test evidence; for Code 2, repeatable reagent/sample and instrument operations; for Code 3, sample-handling records, stock-control and safe support workflows. These are topic-aligned editorial preparation suggestions, not past exam questions or an official question bank.

📣 Lifecycle: where the admit card, Tier III list and final result fit

Application screening → Tier I objective → Tier II descriptive → shortlist for Tier III → mandatory practical Pass/Fail → final written-mark merit ranking → verification and appointment. This order matters because a great written score alone does not overcome a failed Tier III. Conversely, the practical carries no extra numerical marks that can rescue a weak written total. Exact cut-offs are set by designated authorities and are not available yet.

Admit card: RGCB requires an institute-issued admit card plus an original valid Government-recognised photo-ID for each tier. The precise admit-card issue date, individual download URL and exam-day reporting time are not announced. Do not add a live “Download Admit Card” button before RGCB releases one.

Answer key: the notice does not confirm a publication date, objection window or answer-key challenge fee. If the institute publishes a later key/response notice, use the official website. A past recruitment's answer-key schedule does not apply automatically.

Tier III call list: RGCB states that shortlisted names will be displayed on its official website and Main Campus notice board and that individual emails will not be sent for this Tier III shortlisting. Keep checking the source even when an inbox remains silent.

Final result: final selection is published on the institute website; successful candidates receive email. As of 28 October 2026, the present notice has no exam result, cutoff, marksheet or appointment-order release date. Any such dates on a job aggregator would be speculation.

Official authority: BRIC–RGCB Technical Positions and update page | Online applicant login/register. Consult these for the binding recruitment rules and later corrigenda.

🔧 Code 1 | Technical Officer — Research Instrumentation and Engineering Systems — the role-specific candidate brief

Official opportunities: 2 positions, 2 UR; Level 7 (7th CPC); maximum 35 years on 14 December 2026, subject to rule-based age relaxation, not an invented fixed relaxation schedule. Mandatory documented experience: 2 years in eligible Central/State Government research institutions, PSUs, autonomous bodies or universities. Academic entry: First-class BE/BTech — permitted engineering branches OR First-class MSc — prescribed science disciplines.

What a senior applicant should notice: Engineers and MSc scientists should examine the precise wording: the engineering path is not a blanket eligibility for every BE/BTech branch, and the MSc route lists only specific sciences. The strength of the application is documented instrumentation/engineering work, not merely familiarity with scientific lab names. An institutional experience letter that identifies device commissioning, field-support, calibration and safety work directly helps demonstrate relevance; a general employer service certificate that omits duties may leave important questions unanswered.

Work-content analysis: A useful project portfolio can connect a measured instrument malfunction with test instruments used, fault isolation, calibration evidence, engineering drawings/logs and a supervised deployment. Do not publish a fabricated employment requirement such as MATLAB, Python, a mandatory government lab brand or a specific instrument certificate: the official ad does not impose such brand-specific prerequisites.

Relevant technical focus: Engineering instrument commissioning, biomedical electronics, calibration, embedded systems, prototyping, circuit/PCB debugging, sensor interfaces, reliability checks and transparent maintenance records.

Pay-check: Level-7 7th CPC, independent central pay-matrix entry basic ₹44,900/month versus upper matrix cell ₹142,400. Gross/in-hand/allowances for an appointed RGCB candidate are Not specified. Entry/basic and the high end of the pay scale are not alternative offers to new joiners.

Post-specific rejection-prevention checklist:

  • Do not count an unrelated BE/BTech discipline as automatically equivalent to the four named branches.
  • First class in the qualifying route is mandatory; official percentage not provided.
  • Two full documented years of relevant eligible-sector experience are needed by 14 Dec 2026.
  • The two advertised seats are both UR; the notice does not create an exclusive OBC or EWS vacancy at Code 1.
  • Tier II is technical/descriptive and Tier III practical; no separate interview score was announced.

Selection consequence: Tier I (200) + Tier II (100) establish a maximum 300-mark written score; Tier III is job-related Pass/Fail and must be cleared. This position has no separately announced interview or verbal-exam mark allocation. Application and exam logistics are covered in the linked recruitment and exam article; separate application and separate Tier III practical required if shortlisted for more than one code.

🧫 Code 2 | Technical Assistant Group II — Molecular Laboratory Operations — the role-specific candidate brief

Official opportunities: 3 positions, 1 UR, 1 OBC, 1 EWS; Level 5 (7th CPC); maximum 35 years on 14 December 2026, subject to rule-based age relaxation, not an invented fixed relaxation schedule. Mandatory documented experience: 1 year in eligible Central/State Government research institutions, PSUs, autonomous bodies or universities. Academic entry: First-class bachelor degree in Science.

What a senior applicant should notice: The daily work is a scientific operations responsibility: samples, buffers, routine molecular and biochemical assays, calibration/use records, stock, cleaning and contamination controls. Candidates should compare their actual prior duties to the facility tasks, not rely on a generic “one-year experience” label. Code 2 has one OBC and one EWS reserved seat in addition to one UR seat; reserved applicants must have the notice-described certificates to claim those reservations. A BSc first class and twelve months in a private laboratory must not be equated without verifying the employer category specified by RGCB.

Work-content analysis: For exam preparation, practise mapping an experiment from sample receipt to records: label integrity, reagent expiration, instrument status, blank/control handling and exceptions. The employer expects support across divisions, not ownership of a named research programme. The official notification is not a universal competency checklist for clinical laboratory licensing.

Relevant technical focus: Scientific laboratory setup, aliquoting and buffer/reagent preparation, PCR support, centrifuge, microscope and spectrophotometer care, sample logs, chemical and consumable inventories and biomedical waste handling.

Pay-check: Level-5 7th CPC, independent central pay-matrix entry basic ₹29,200/month versus upper matrix cell ₹92,300. Gross/in-hand/allowances for an appointed RGCB candidate are Not specified. Entry/basic and the high end of the pay scale are not alternative offers to new joiners.

Post-specific rejection-prevention checklist:

  • A first-class Science bachelor degree is the mandatory academic gate; an MSc is not separately compulsory.
  • One documented relevant year in the specified institutional sectors is mandatory.
  • Group II allocates UR 1, OBC 1 and EWS 1; this is not a three-UR vacancy.
  • Work and experience evidence should be legible and dated; incomplete uploads can be rejected at first screening.
  • Tier III practical covers Group-II job tasks and must be passed despite carrying no added marks.

Selection consequence: Tier I (200) + Tier II (100) establish a maximum 300-mark written score; Tier III is job-related Pass/Fail and must be cleared. This position has no separately announced interview or verbal-exam mark allocation. Application and exam logistics are covered in the linked recruitment and exam article; separate application and separate Tier III practical required if shortlisted for more than one code.

🧾 Code 3 | Technical Assistant Group I — Laboratory Records and Operational Support — the role-specific candidate brief

Official opportunities: 3 positions, 2 UR, 1 OBC; Level 2 (7th CPC); maximum 35 years on 14 December 2026, subject to rule-based age relaxation, not an invented fixed relaxation schedule. Mandatory documented experience: 1 year in eligible Central/State Government research institutions, PSUs, autonomous bodies or universities. Academic entry: First-class Plus Two, Higher Secondary, VHSE or equivalent.

What a senior applicant should notice: The Group-I title can sound clerical, but this is work inside research/clinical/molecular laboratories where mistakes in logs, cleaning, sample hand-offs or material indents can propagate into scientific workflows. The 12th-pass route is not an experience-free freshers opening. First-class Higher Secondary or VHSE and one year of relevant documented eligible-sector experience both matter. Two UR seats and one OBC seat are allocated, with no separate EWS seat for this code.

Work-content analysis: A realistic readiness drill is to explain how to handle an unlabeled sample without guessing its identity, document an inventory discrepancy and check the chain from lab indent to receipt to invoice. Such scenarios help demonstrate safe administrative judgement and are not a published list of precise Tier-III questions.

Relevant technical focus: Lab registers, daily operational logs, inventory and indent tracking, simple invoice processes, hygiene, autoclave and waste-disposal awareness, reception/hand-offs and reliable records.

Pay-check: Level-2 7th CPC, independent central pay-matrix entry basic ₹19,900/month versus upper matrix cell ₹63,200. Gross/in-hand/allowances for an appointed RGCB candidate are Not specified. Entry/basic and the high end of the pay scale are not alternative offers to new joiners.

Post-specific rejection-prevention checklist:

  • First class in Plus Two/Higher Secondary/VHSE or equivalent is required, not bare pass class.
  • One documented relevant year from the listed institutional sector categories is essential.
  • Do not misreport Grade I as 3 OBC vacancies; it is 2 UR plus 1 OBC.
  • Monthly entry basic is a Level-2 reference, not a guaranteed in-hand salary.
  • Practical skill assessment is separately required if also shortlisted for Group II or Officer.

Selection consequence: Tier I (200) + Tier II (100) establish a maximum 300-mark written score; Tier III is job-related Pass/Fail and must be cleared. This position has no separately announced interview or verbal-exam mark allocation. Application and exam logistics are covered in the linked recruitment and exam article; separate application and separate Tier III practical required if shortlisted for more than one code.

🧭 Final applicant decision — who should proceed?

Proceed if the essential academic path, relevant documented public-research/PSU/autonomous/university experience, first-class record and valid application documents genuinely match the chosen code by 14 December 2026. Resolve first if your experience is freelance/private-only, your percentage classification is ambiguous, your BE/BTech specialisation is absent from Code 1 or your certificate is incomplete. Do not apply blindly because the fee is zero: institutional screening can reject a form before any exam access.

This page is an independently written applicant analysis grounded in the official RGCB notice and the Government's published pay matrix; it does not reproduce the recruitment announcement verbatim, claim an unannounced examination timetable, or pretend hypothetical practice questions were issued by the recruiter.

Full TimeRegularOnsiteBiotechnology
Sarkari Sapna

Post-wise Vacancies

Open a post to view qualification, experience, age, salary, location, responsibilities and post-specific instructions.

12 vacancies

Technical Officer — Research Instrumentation and Engineering Systems

Qualification: First-class BE/BTech — permitted engineering branches (Biotechnology / Biomedical Engineering / Instrumentation Engineering / Electronics & Communication Engineering) OR First-class MSc — prescribed science disciplines (Biotechnology / Life Sciences / Physics / Chemistry); minimum 2 documented relevant year(s) from explicitly named institute/employer categories. First class required; no exact minimum numerical percentage stated.
Age: Maximum 35 years
Pay: ₹44,900 – ₹1,42,400 / month
UR: 2
Educational qualification

First-class BE/BTech — permitted engineering branches (Biotechnology / Biomedical Engineering / Instrumentation Engineering / Electronics & Communication Engineering) OR First-class MSc — prescribed science disciplines (Biotechnology / Life Sciences / Physics / Chemistry); minimum 2 documented relevant year(s) from explicitly named institute/employer categories. First class required; no exact minimum numerical percentage stated.

Experience

Required: Yes · Description: At least 2 documented year(s) of relevant work in Central/State Government research institutions, PSU, autonomous body or university. Employer class, work nature and period matter; private-only experience is not explicitly accepted. · Minimum Years: 2

Age relaxation

Description: Upper age 35 on 14 December 2026; relaxation according to RGCB/Government of India rules. Official notice gives no numeric category-by-category relaxation table. Minimum age is Not specified.

Job location
India
Skills
Engineering instrument commissioningbiomedical electronicscalibrationembedded systemsprototypingcircuit/PCB debuggingsensor interfacesreliability checks and transparent maintenance records
Post description

🔧 Code 1 | Technical Officer — Research Instrumentation and Engineering Systems — the role-specific candidate brief

Official opportunities: 2 positions, 2 UR; Level 7 (7th CPC); maximum 35 years on 14 December 2026, subject to rule-based age relaxation, not an invented fixed relaxation schedule. Mandatory documented experience: 2 years in eligible Central/State Government research institutions, PSUs, autonomous bodies or universities. Academic entry: First-class BE/BTech — permitted engineering branches OR First-class MSc — prescribed science disciplines.

What a senior applicant should notice: Engineers and MSc scientists should examine the precise wording: the engineering path is not a blanket eligibility for every BE/BTech branch, and the MSc route lists only specific sciences. The strength of the application is documented instrumentation/engineering work, not merely familiarity with scientific lab names. An institutional experience letter that identifies device commissioning, field-support, calibration and safety work directly helps demonstrate relevance; a general employer service certificate that omits duties may leave important questions unanswered.

Work-content analysis: A useful project portfolio can connect a measured instrument malfunction with test instruments used, fault isolation, calibration evidence, engineering drawings/logs and a supervised deployment. Do not publish a fabricated employment requirement such as MATLAB, Python, a mandatory government lab brand or a specific instrument certificate: the official ad does not impose such brand-specific prerequisites.

Relevant technical focus: Engineering instrument commissioning, biomedical electronics, calibration, embedded systems, prototyping, circuit/PCB debugging, sensor interfaces, reliability checks and transparent maintenance records.

Pay-check: Level-7 7th CPC, independent central pay-matrix entry basic ₹44,900/month versus upper matrix cell ₹142,400. Gross/in-hand/allowances for an appointed RGCB candidate are Not specified. Entry/basic and the high end of the pay scale are not alternative offers to new joiners.

Post-specific rejection-prevention checklist:

  • Do not count an unrelated BE/BTech discipline as automatically equivalent to the four named branches.
  • First class in the qualifying route is mandatory; official percentage not provided.
  • Two full documented years of relevant eligible-sector experience are needed by 14 Dec 2026.
  • The two advertised seats are both UR; the notice does not create an exclusive OBC or EWS vacancy at Code 1.
  • Tier II is technical/descriptive and Tier III practical; no separate interview score was announced.

Selection consequence: Tier I (200) + Tier II (100) establish a maximum 300-mark written score; Tier III is job-related Pass/Fail and must be cleared. This position has no separately announced interview or verbal-exam mark allocation. Application and exam logistics are covered in the linked recruitment and exam article; separate application and separate Tier III practical required if shortlisted for more than one code.

Duties

Own hands-on engineering support for scientific instrumentation; investigate equipment faults; support calibration, PCB and embedded prototyping, field deployment, technical documentation, procurement coordination and safe instrument usage.

Responsibilities
  • Own hands-on engineering support for scientific instrumentation; investigate equipment faults; support calibration, PCB and embedded prototyping, field deployment, technical documentation, procurement coordination and safe instrument usage.
  • Observe research/laboratory safety and record accuracy associated with the notified role.
  • Comply with RGCB institute rules and participate in role-specific skills testing where shortlisted.
Post-specific instructions
  • Do not count an unrelated BE/BTech discipline as automatically equivalent to the four named branches.
  • First class in the qualifying route is mandatory; official percentage not provided.
  • Two full documented years of relevant eligible-sector experience are needed by 14 Dec 2026.
  • The two advertised seats are both UR; the notice does not create an exclusive OBC or EWS vacancy at Code 1.
  • Tier II is technical/descriptive and Tier III practical; no separate interview score was announced.
  • Apply before 14 December 2026, 17:00; online only, no fee; separate application per chosen post code.
  • First-class classification/experience will be reckoned at the official 14 December closing date.
  • All three exam tiers are held only in Thiruvananthapuram; successful appointment may be elsewhere in India.
  • Official details: https://rgcb.res.in/positions/
Reservation note

Official Code 1 vertical split: UR 2 = 2. Do not add OBC/EWS seats that are not earmarked for this code; UR open competition. No distinct PwBD count in this recruitment table.

Selection stages for this post
Institutional Screening Committee — Essential CredentialsTier I — 100 Objective MCQs (200 Marks)Tier II — Descriptive Academic/Role Paper (100 Marks)Tier III — Position-Specific Practical Pass/FailFinal Written-Merit Ranking And Verification/Appointment
23 vacancies

Technical Assistant Group II — Molecular Laboratory Operations

Qualification: First-class bachelor degree in Science (Science); minimum 1 documented relevant year(s) from explicitly named institute/employer categories. First class required; no exact minimum numerical percentage stated.
Age: Maximum 35 years
Pay: ₹29,200 – ₹92,300 / month
UR: 1EWS: 1OBC: 1
Educational qualification

First-class bachelor degree in Science (Science); minimum 1 documented relevant year(s) from explicitly named institute/employer categories. First class required; no exact minimum numerical percentage stated.

Experience

Required: Yes · Description: At least 1 documented year(s) of relevant work in Central/State Government research institutions, PSU, autonomous body or university. Employer class, work nature and period matter; private-only experience is not explicitly accepted. · Minimum Years: 1

Age relaxation

Description: Upper age 35 on 14 December 2026; relaxation according to RGCB/Government of India rules. Official notice gives no numeric category-by-category relaxation table. Minimum age is Not specified.

Job location
India
Skills
Scientific laboratory setupaliquoting and buffer/reagent preparationPCR supportcentrifugemicroscope and spectrophotometer caresample logschemical and consumable inventories and biomedical waste handling
Post description

🧫 Code 2 | Technical Assistant Group II — Molecular Laboratory Operations — the role-specific candidate brief

Official opportunities: 3 positions, 1 UR, 1 OBC, 1 EWS; Level 5 (7th CPC); maximum 35 years on 14 December 2026, subject to rule-based age relaxation, not an invented fixed relaxation schedule. Mandatory documented experience: 1 year in eligible Central/State Government research institutions, PSUs, autonomous bodies or universities. Academic entry: First-class bachelor degree in Science.

What a senior applicant should notice: The daily work is a scientific operations responsibility: samples, buffers, routine molecular and biochemical assays, calibration/use records, stock, cleaning and contamination controls. Candidates should compare their actual prior duties to the facility tasks, not rely on a generic “one-year experience” label. Code 2 has one OBC and one EWS reserved seat in addition to one UR seat; reserved applicants must have the notice-described certificates to claim those reservations. A BSc first class and twelve months in a private laboratory must not be equated without verifying the employer category specified by RGCB.

Work-content analysis: For exam preparation, practise mapping an experiment from sample receipt to records: label integrity, reagent expiration, instrument status, blank/control handling and exceptions. The employer expects support across divisions, not ownership of a named research programme. The official notification is not a universal competency checklist for clinical laboratory licensing.

Relevant technical focus: Scientific laboratory setup, aliquoting and buffer/reagent preparation, PCR support, centrifuge, microscope and spectrophotometer care, sample logs, chemical and consumable inventories and biomedical waste handling.

Pay-check: Level-5 7th CPC, independent central pay-matrix entry basic ₹29,200/month versus upper matrix cell ₹92,300. Gross/in-hand/allowances for an appointed RGCB candidate are Not specified. Entry/basic and the high end of the pay scale are not alternative offers to new joiners.

Post-specific rejection-prevention checklist:

  • A first-class Science bachelor degree is the mandatory academic gate; an MSc is not separately compulsory.
  • One documented relevant year in the specified institutional sectors is mandatory.
  • Group II allocates UR 1, OBC 1 and EWS 1; this is not a three-UR vacancy.
  • Work and experience evidence should be legible and dated; incomplete uploads can be rejected at first screening.
  • Tier III practical covers Group-II job tasks and must be passed despite carrying no added marks.

Selection consequence: Tier I (200) + Tier II (100) establish a maximum 300-mark written score; Tier III is job-related Pass/Fail and must be cleared. This position has no separately announced interview or verbal-exam mark allocation. Application and exam logistics are covered in the linked recruitment and exam article; separate application and separate Tier III practical required if shortlisted for more than one code.

Duties

Maintain reproducible laboratory support including specimen processing, buffer/reagent work, routine instrument handling, logbook accuracy, inventory/safety and coordination with research teams.

Responsibilities
  • Maintain reproducible laboratory support including specimen processing, buffer/reagent work, routine instrument handling, logbook accuracy, inventory/safety and coordination with research teams.
  • Observe research/laboratory safety and record accuracy associated with the notified role.
  • Comply with RGCB institute rules and participate in role-specific skills testing where shortlisted.
Post-specific instructions
  • A first-class Science bachelor degree is the mandatory academic gate; an MSc is not separately compulsory.
  • One documented relevant year in the specified institutional sectors is mandatory.
  • Group II allocates UR 1, OBC 1 and EWS 1; this is not a three-UR vacancy.
  • Work and experience evidence should be legible and dated; incomplete uploads can be rejected at first screening.
  • Tier III practical covers Group-II job tasks and must be passed despite carrying no added marks.
  • Apply before 14 December 2026, 17:00; online only, no fee; separate application per chosen post code.
  • First-class classification/experience will be reckoned at the official 14 December closing date.
  • All three exam tiers are held only in Thiruvananthapuram; successful appointment may be elsewhere in India.
  • Official details: https://rgcb.res.in/positions/
Reservation note

Official Code 2 vertical split: UR 1, OBC 1, EWS 1 = 3. Do not add OBC/EWS seats that are not earmarked for this code; UR open competition. No distinct PwBD count in this recruitment table.

Selection stages for this post
Institutional Screening Committee — Essential CredentialsTier I — 100 Objective MCQs (200 Marks)Tier II — Descriptive Academic/Role Paper (100 Marks)Tier III — Position-Specific Practical Pass/FailFinal Written-Merit Ranking And Verification/Appointment
33 vacancies

Technical Assistant Group I — Laboratory Records and Operational Support

Qualification: First-class Plus Two, Higher Secondary, VHSE or equivalent (Plus Two / Higher Secondary / VHSE or accepted equivalent); minimum 1 documented relevant year(s) from explicitly named institute/employer categories. First class required; no exact minimum numerical percentage stated.
Age: Maximum 35 years
Pay: ₹19,900 – ₹63,200 / month
UR: 2OBC: 1
Educational qualification

First-class Plus Two, Higher Secondary, VHSE or equivalent (Plus Two / Higher Secondary / VHSE or accepted equivalent); minimum 1 documented relevant year(s) from explicitly named institute/employer categories. First class required; no exact minimum numerical percentage stated.

Experience

Required: Yes · Description: At least 1 documented year(s) of relevant work in Central/State Government research institutions, PSU, autonomous body or university. Employer class, work nature and period matter; private-only experience is not explicitly accepted. · Minimum Years: 1

Age relaxation

Description: Upper age 35 on 14 December 2026; relaxation according to RGCB/Government of India rules. Official notice gives no numeric category-by-category relaxation table. Minimum age is Not specified.

Job location
India
Skills
Lab registersdaily operational logsinventory and indent trackingsimple invoice processeshygieneautoclave and waste-disposal awarenessreception/hand-offs and reliable records
Post description

🧾 Code 3 | Technical Assistant Group I — Laboratory Records and Operational Support — the role-specific candidate brief

Official opportunities: 3 positions, 2 UR, 1 OBC; Level 2 (7th CPC); maximum 35 years on 14 December 2026, subject to rule-based age relaxation, not an invented fixed relaxation schedule. Mandatory documented experience: 1 year in eligible Central/State Government research institutions, PSUs, autonomous bodies or universities. Academic entry: First-class Plus Two, Higher Secondary, VHSE or equivalent.

What a senior applicant should notice: The Group-I title can sound clerical, but this is work inside research/clinical/molecular laboratories where mistakes in logs, cleaning, sample hand-offs or material indents can propagate into scientific workflows. The 12th-pass route is not an experience-free freshers opening. First-class Higher Secondary or VHSE and one year of relevant documented eligible-sector experience both matter. Two UR seats and one OBC seat are allocated, with no separate EWS seat for this code.

Work-content analysis: A realistic readiness drill is to explain how to handle an unlabeled sample without guessing its identity, document an inventory discrepancy and check the chain from lab indent to receipt to invoice. Such scenarios help demonstrate safe administrative judgement and are not a published list of precise Tier-III questions.

Relevant technical focus: Lab registers, daily operational logs, inventory and indent tracking, simple invoice processes, hygiene, autoclave and waste-disposal awareness, reception/hand-offs and reliable records.

Pay-check: Level-2 7th CPC, independent central pay-matrix entry basic ₹19,900/month versus upper matrix cell ₹63,200. Gross/in-hand/allowances for an appointed RGCB candidate are Not specified. Entry/basic and the high end of the pay scale are not alternative offers to new joiners.

Post-specific rejection-prevention checklist:

  • First class in Plus Two/Higher Secondary/VHSE or equivalent is required, not bare pass class.
  • One documented relevant year from the listed institutional sector categories is essential.
  • Do not misreport Grade I as 3 OBC vacancies; it is 2 UR plus 1 OBC.
  • Monthly entry basic is a Level-2 reference, not a guaranteed in-hand salary.
  • Practical skill assessment is separately required if also shortlisted for Group II or Officer.

Selection consequence: Tier I (200) + Tier II (100) establish a maximum 300-mark written score; Tier III is job-related Pass/Fail and must be cleared. This position has no separately announced interview or verbal-exam mark allocation. Application and exam logistics are covered in the linked recruitment and exam article; separate application and separate Tier III practical required if shortlisted for more than one code.

Duties

Support routine laboratory administration and workflow with accurate registers, stock/indent/invoice documents, safe hygiene and autoclave/waste-disposal compliance.

Responsibilities
  • Support routine laboratory administration and workflow with accurate registers, stock/indent/invoice documents, safe hygiene and autoclave/waste-disposal compliance.
  • Observe research/laboratory safety and record accuracy associated with the notified role.
  • Comply with RGCB institute rules and participate in role-specific skills testing where shortlisted.
Post-specific instructions
  • First class in Plus Two/Higher Secondary/VHSE or equivalent is required, not bare pass class.
  • One documented relevant year from the listed institutional sector categories is essential.
  • Do not misreport Grade I as 3 OBC vacancies; it is 2 UR plus 1 OBC.
  • Monthly entry basic is a Level-2 reference, not a guaranteed in-hand salary.
  • Practical skill assessment is separately required if also shortlisted for Group II or Officer.
  • Apply before 14 December 2026, 17:00; online only, no fee; separate application per chosen post code.
  • First-class classification/experience will be reckoned at the official 14 December closing date.
  • All three exam tiers are held only in Thiruvananthapuram; successful appointment may be elsewhere in India.
  • Official details: https://rgcb.res.in/positions/
Reservation note

Official Code 3 vertical split: UR 2, OBC 1 = 3. Do not add OBC/EWS seats that are not earmarked for this code; UR open competition. No distinct PwBD count in this recruitment table.

Selection stages for this post
Institutional Screening Committee — Essential CredentialsTier I — 100 Objective MCQs (200 Marks)Tier II — Descriptive Academic/Role Paper (100 Marks)Tier III — Position-Specific Practical Pass/FailFinal Written-Merit Ranking And Verification/Appointment
Sarkari Sapna

Eligibility & Qualification

Recruitment-level qualifications and eligibility rules. Post-specific conditions are also shown inside each vacancy card.

First-class degree / higher secondary by exact post code

Code 1 first-class named BE/BTech or MSc; Code 2 first-class bachelor in Science; Code 3 first-class Plus Two/HS/VHSE. Institution does not give a universal minimum %

Documented work in accepted institution categories

Code 1 >=2 years; Codes 2 and 3 >=1 year relevant experience in Central/State Government research institutions, PSUs, autonomous bodies or universities.

Min: 1Max: 2Mandatory

35-year upper age calculated on closing date

Maximum 35 on 14 December 2026; relaxation per RGCB/GOI rules, numerical relaxation values not stated; minimum age not stated.

Max: 35Mandatory

Indian citizenship only

All candidates must be Indian citizens, as unambiguously stated by RGCB.

OBC-NCL and EWS reservation certificates

For the 2 OBC and 1 EWS earmarked seats, valid OBC-NCL and EWS Income and Asset documents are necessary. No independent category quota is presumed for Code 1.

Separate applications and practical tests for multiple codes

Separate online applications are required for different posts; if shortlisted for Tier III at more than one code, separate job-specific skill tests are necessary.

Proper channel/NOC for serving personnel

Central/State Government/PSU/Central autonomous employees must send hard copy through proper channel or produce NOC at selection; ordinary applicants should not mail paper forms.

Sarkari Sapna

Age Limit & Relaxation

Recruitment-level age criteria. Post-specific age conditions remain visible inside each vacancy card.

Minimum age
Not specified
Maximum age
35
Reference date
14 Dec 2026
Age relaxation: Up to 35 years at closing (14 Dec 2026), relaxation according to RGCB/GOI rules. No numerical relaxation schedule or minimum age published. Do not infer a specific 3/5/10-year waiver without notice-specific proof.
Sarkari Sapna

Application Fee

Category-wise application fee information.

Applicant category
All eligible candidates
Exempted
ApplicationNon-refundable

The 28 Oct RGCB notice explicitly states no application fee; do not pay third-party intermediaries.

Sarkari Sapna

Salary & Pay Scale

Post-wise salary, stipend or pay-matrix information.

Technical Officer — Research Instrumentation and Engineering Systems
₹44,900 – ₹1,42,400 / month
77th CPC Pay Level-7 (indicative pay matrix ₹44,900–₹142,400); RGCB notice publishes the level only

RGCB officially notifies 7th CPC Level-7 for Code 1. ₹44,900 is the independent Central 7th CPC pay-matrix entry basic and ₹142,400 the last published matrix cell, not verified gross/in-hand or individual pay fixation. Benefits/DA/HRA and guaranteed take-home: Not specified. Salary figure is an externally grounded pay-matrix reference, not a separate advertised cash stipend.

Technical Assistant Group II — Molecular Laboratory Operations
₹29,200 – ₹92,300 / month
57th CPC Pay Level-5 (indicative pay matrix ₹29,200–₹92,300); RGCB notice publishes the level only

RGCB officially notifies 7th CPC Level-5 for Code 2. ₹29,200 is the independent Central 7th CPC pay-matrix entry basic and ₹92,300 the last published matrix cell, not verified gross/in-hand or individual pay fixation. Benefits/DA/HRA and guaranteed take-home: Not specified. Salary figure is an externally grounded pay-matrix reference, not a separate advertised cash stipend.

Technical Assistant Group I — Laboratory Records and Operational Support
₹19,900 – ₹63,200 / month
27th CPC Pay Level-2 (indicative pay matrix ₹19,900–₹63,200); RGCB notice publishes the level only

RGCB officially notifies 7th CPC Level-2 for Code 3. ₹19,900 is the independent Central 7th CPC pay-matrix entry basic and ₹63,200 the last published matrix cell, not verified gross/in-hand or individual pay fixation. Benefits/DA/HRA and guaranteed take-home: Not specified. Salary figure is an externally grounded pay-matrix reference, not a separate advertised cash stipend.

Sarkari Sapna

Selection Process

Selection stages in the order configured for this recruitment.

1

Institutional Screening Committee — essential credentials

Applications are first checked for exact first-class academic route, verified duration and institutional relevance of experience, readable uploads and reservation evidence. Meeting minima never assures invitation.

2

Tier I — 100 objective MCQs (200 marks)

90 minutes. General Intelligence, General Awareness, Quantitative Aptitude and English Language; +2 for a right response and minus 0.50 per wrong. No official sectional distribution or cutoff published.

3

Tier II — descriptive academic/role paper (100 marks)

90 minutes. Ten questions offered; answer any five; if more answered, only first five valued. Academic knowledge and Code 1/2/3 role tasks. Per-question marks not explicitly published.

4

Tier III — position-specific practical Pass/Fail

After institute-determined written shortlist, take a separate practical for each eligible application code. Merely qualifying adds no score; failing blocks selection. List posted on RGCB website and campus notice board without individual email.

5

Final written-merit ranking and verification/appointment

Among Tier-III-pass applicants, ranking uses Tier I plus Tier II (max 300). Result posted publicly, selected candidates emailed; originals, reservation, employment/proper channel/NOC checked as applicable. Panel validity one year from approval, deployment anywhere in India.

Sarkari Sapna

Important Dates

Application and recruitment milestones published with this job.

Notification
BRIC–RGCB published TECH/01/2026
28 Oct 2026

Official RGCB Positions site dated 28 October.

Application End
Online application closes at 17:00 IST
14 Dec 2026

Advertised official closing time.

Sarkari Sapna

Official Links & Resources

Application links, notification documents and verified sources in one place.

Sarkari Sapna

Latest Recruitment Updates

Exam and lifecycle records directly connected to this recruitment.

Sarkari Sapna profile photo
Posted by
Sarkari Sapna

सरकारी नौकरी, भर्ती, परीक्षा और career information को सरल, सटीक और उपयोगी रूप में समझाने पर केंद्रित

View profile