Dr Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya logo
Dr Harisingh Gour VishwavidyalayaNEWApplications are open

DHSGSU Sagar Curator Recruitment 2026: Museology Eligibility, 3-Year Museum Experience, ₹40,000 & Dual Deadlines

Dr. Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya, Sagar (Central University), advertisement R/2026/NTC-01 dated 01 Nov 2026: one UR Curator (contract) in Ancient Indian History, Culture & Archaeology, ₹40,000/month for up to 12 months. Essential: 55% Master's in Museology/History of Art OR specified humanities/art Master's plus recognised Museology diploma/certificate; 3 years in a government-controlled nationally/regionally important museum, including one year practical collection/conservation/exhibition. Age 40 as on 30 Nov, subject to applicable relaxations. Apply online by 30 Nov; printed papers must reach by 7 Dec, 6 PM via Speed/Registered Post. Screening and interview by email; 2025 applicants reapply but may claim receipt-backed fee waiver.

R/2026/NTC-01Posted 01 Nov 202630 days left
Total vacancies
1
Last date
30 Nov 2026
Application mode
Online
Job location
Madhya Pradesh
Organization profile

About the Recruiting Organization

Organization information attached to this recruitment record.

Dr Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya logo
Recruiting AuthorityRecruiting authority

Dr Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya

AutonomousCentral UniversityCentralHigher Education
Organization code
DHSGSU
Official jobs
View all jobs
Official website
Sarkari Sapna

About this Recruitment

Recruitment-specific overview from the published record.

DHSGSU Curator Recruitment 2026: Museum Experience, Two Degree Routes and a Two-Deadline Application

Dr. Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya, Sagar | Curator (Contract) | 1 UR vacancy | ₹40,000 per month | Advertisement R/2026/NTC-01 dated 1 November 2026

Dr. Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya, a Central University in Sagar, Madhya Pradesh, has advertised one contractual Curator position in the Department of Ancient Indian History, Culture & Archaeology. Online applications open on 1 November 2026 and close on 30 November 2026. The application is not finished merely by submitting an online form: the printed online application with self-attested documents must also reach the university by 7 December 2026, 6:00 PM, through Speed Post or Registered Post.

The pay is ₹40,000 per month, and the advertised engagement is purely temporary, for no more than 12 months. It is not a regular faculty or permanent museum-service appointment. The vacancy is UR (Unreserved); the university has announced no second or additional post in this notice.

🏛️ Official vacancy and deadlines

Recruitment detailVerified information
EmployerDr. Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya, Sagar (Central University)
DepartmentAncient Indian History, Culture & Archaeology
AdvertisementR/2026/NTC-01, dated 01.11.2026
Post and reservationCurator (on Contract) — 1 UR
Monthly remuneration₹40,000
EngagementContractual / purely temporary; not exceeding 12 months
Maximum age40 years, subject to applicable Government of India/UGC relaxations
Qualifications/age assessed on30 November 2026 (online application closing date)
Online application opens1 November 2026
Online application closes30 November 2026
Paper application must reach7 December 2026 by 6:00 PM
Hard-copy deliverySpeed Post / Registered Post only
SelectionScreening followed by interview of shortlisted applicants
Interview dateNot announced; call letters sent to eligible shortlisted applicants by email

🎓 Two degree pathways — an essential distinction

The university provides two alternative routes, both requiring at least 55% marks in an eligible Master's degree from a recognised university. They are not interchangeable in the way that some general recruitment summaries suggest.

Route A — directly relevant museum/art postgraduate degree. A recognised Master's degree in Museology or History of Art, carrying at least 55% marks or an accepted equivalent, meets the specified subject route. The notice does not add a separate Museology diploma to this particular route.

Route B — allied humanities and archaeology degree, with museum training. A recognised Master's degree carrying at least 55% in Ancient Indian History, Sanskrit, Pali, Prakrit, Persian, Arabic, Archaeology, Anthropology, Fine Arts, an equivalent or another allied subject is accepted with a Museology diploma or certificate from a recognised institution. A candidate with Archaeology or History credentials alone should not overlook this additional Museology certificate/diploma condition.

Degree routeMaster's minimumAdditional subject-document requirement
Museology / History of Art55%No separate Museology diploma specified for this route
Ancient Indian History / Sanskrit / Pali / Prakrit / Persian / Arabic / Archaeology / Anthropology / Fine Arts / equivalent allied subjects55%Recognised Museology diploma/certificate required

An applicant with, for example, an Archaeology Master's and a museum internship should not assume the internship by itself replaces the formal Museology diploma/certificate for Route B. Conversely, a Museology postgraduate should not be made to obtain an extra certificate when the notice has not prescribed one for Route A. Equivalence and eligibility remain subject to university scrutiny.

A crucial comparison: History of Art and Fine Arts are not identical qualification routes

The advertisement's wording matters here. A master's degree in Museology or History of Art falls in the first route. Fine Arts appears among the subjects in the second route; that route additionally calls for a recognised diploma/certificate in Museology. The same distinction applies to the listed ancient-history and language subjects. Reading the list as “any postgraduate arts degree with 55%” removes a condition that the university has expressly imposed.

The first route also retains the museum-experience requirement. A direct Master's in Museology is not an alternative to the required employment history; the academic and professional conditions operate together. Nor does a higher percentage in an unrelated degree necessarily make it an eligible qualification. The appropriate evidence is the actual award, subject, marks and—where relevant—the separate Museology credential.

Illustrative eligibility comparisons (the university decides equivalence):

Example profileDegree-route readingMuseum experience still required?
MA Museology, 55% or aboveDirect named subjectYes — 3 years with practical component
MA History of Art, 55% or aboveDirect named subjectYes — 3 years with practical component
MA Archaeology, 55% + recognised Museology certificateNamed allied route with additional Museology credentialYes
MA Fine Arts, 55% but no Museology credentialAdditional credential missing from named allied routeYes — and degree-route documents remain incomplete
MA Sanskrit, 55% + Museology diplomaNamed allied route with additional Museology credentialYes

These examples explain the written qualification structure; they are not pre-approval of any candidate or a determination of degree equivalence.

🗃️ Three years in a qualifying museum — and one year of hands-on collection work

Irrespective of the academic route, candidates must have three years' experience in a museum of national or regional importance, under the control of a Central Government, State Government or Union Territory. Within those three years, the notice requires one year of practical experience in collection, conservation/preservation and exhibition of art objects.

This is a significant filter. A three-year stint in an unrelated cultural office, a general art gallery or an academic archaeology programme is not automatically equivalent to the museum experience the university has specified. Candidates should use their institution's records to demonstrate both its recognised character and the nature of the work they actually performed.

The practical-year requirement is part of the three-year experience condition, not a separately advertised four-year requirement. The notice's phrasing refers to work involving art-object collections, preservation/conservation and exhibitions. A certificate saying only “museum assistant” without roles, dates and work details may leave a screening committee unable to verify the required hands-on exposure.

The one-year museum component is within the three-year requirement

The advertisement requires three years of museum experience, including one year of practical work with art objects. The practical year is not described as a fourth additional year. However, an applicant cannot treat generic three-year office employment as qualifying practical museum service. The nature of the employing museum and the work performed are both relevant.

The appointment requirement has two simultaneous tests:

  1. Institutional test: service must relate to a museum of national or regional importance under the control of the Central Government, a State Government or a Union Territory.
  2. Practical-work test: within the eligible experience, at least a year must involve the collection, conservation/preservation and exhibition of art objects.

A convincing evidence file should therefore connect where the applicant worked with what the applicant did. For example, a letter simply showing “three years as assistant” but not identifying museum control, the department or practical art-object work may leave key aspects unclear. The university does not prescribe a special experience-certificate format in this notice, so an employer-issued certificate or other credible records should be accurate, dated and specific rather than based on a self-declared job title.

Research conducted in a museum, publications and other practical training are included under the desirable criteria. They strengthen a relevant profile but do not automatically substitute for three years of essential museum service.

What stronger experience evidence looks like

A careful application should make it possible to identify the employing museum, the government authority controlling it, exact service dates, the nature of collection work, and evidence of hands-on conservation/preservation or exhibition work. Where an experience certificate is brief, supporting letters and the applicant's duties record can help explain the work, but the official notification does not prescribe a particular supplementary certificate format.

The university also names museum-based research or published research work and practical training/experience in the relevant field as desirable. These are valuable differentiators at screening, but they do not remove the prescribed Master's-degree or three-year qualifying museum-experience requirements.

Why the character of the museum matters

The phrase “Museum of National or Regional importance under the control of Central/State Govt. or Union Territory” is restrictive. It is not the same as experience in any art gallery, commercial heritage project, school collection room or independently run exhibition space. A candidate with mixed experience should examine which periods actually meet the notified description and have documentary support.

A detailed service chronology can help prevent avoidable ambiguity:

Evidence to organiseWhat it establishes
Name and governing authority of museumWhether institutional setting matches the notification
Exact employment start and end datesWhether three years have been completed by the relevant cutoff
Designation and work sectionContext of professional museum experience
Dates and nature of conservation/preservation dutiesPractical art-object work within the three-year experience
Exhibition or collections-related assignmentsWhether the one-year practical requirement is demonstrated
Research work or relevant trainingAdditional desirable strengths, not replacements for essential service

There is no advertised marks formula allocating points to each type of experience. The table above is a way of organising proof against the published conditions, not a scoring model.

🏺 A curator in a university setting: the experience that matters

The post belongs to the Department of Ancient Indian History, Culture & Archaeology, a department whose institutional history includes archaeological field research and teaching from the 1950s. The university also maintains the Gour Sangrahalaya museum presence at its Sagar campus. These facts provide context for why experience in collections, material culture and preservation is relevant to a Curator appointment.

The recruitment notification, however, does not give a separate detailed daily-duty schedule or name an exact museum building for this post. Applicants should avoid treating a university museum's public visiting hours as their employment shift, or assuming a particular excavation, collection or project will be assigned. The dependable information is the department, qualifications, museum-experience standard, selection procedure and temporary engagement published by the university.

For candidates considering this role, the distinction is practical: knowing the history of objects and maintaining, preserving, documenting and displaying those objects are related but not identical professional capabilities. The advertised eligibility asks for evidence of both academic preparation and museum practice.

💰 Fees: the current applicants and the 2025 applicants are not treated identically

📊 DHSGSU Curator 2026 — advertised application fees by category

Applicant fee groupFee (₹)
General / OBC / EWS1000
SC / ST / Women / PwBD / Ex-servicemen500

The 1 November 2026 notice expressly recognises an earlier Curator advertisement, R/NT/2025/01 dated 14 January 2025. Candidates who applied for that earlier contractual Curator opening must apply afresh in the present recruitment. However, they need not pay the application fee again if they provide the details of the old payment and upload the previous fee receipt to claim the waiver.

This is a substantive benefit for repeat applicants, but the exemption is conditional on supplying proof; it is not a blanket fee waiver for every candidate who had considered the older vacancy. It also does not mean the university will automatically transfer the old application to the new recruitment.

The ordinary fee is non-refundable. The advertisement creates an express exception if the university withdraws an advertisement for a post, in which case the application fee collected for that withdrawn advertisement will be refunded. Do not interpret an unsuccessful shortlisting or a decision not to join as qualifying for a refund.

₹1,000 versus ₹500: fee categories do not determine the UR seat

UR describes the reservation classification of the single vacancy, not a declaration that only a General-category applicant may apply. Separately, the university lists two fee groups. Women applicants appear expressly in the ₹500 fee group. Candidates claiming fee concessions should supply the supporting information required by the portal; do not assume a fee concession also creates a reservation entitlement for this particular UR post.

The university has not published applicant counts, selection probabilities or a category-wise reservation roster beyond the one UR vacancy. Returning applicants with an eligible earlier fee receipt are a separate exemption, not an additional vacancy category.

Returning applicants from R/NT/2025/01: an important exception

The university specifically references its earlier Curator contract advertisement R/NT/2025/01 dated 14 January 2025. Anyone who applied then must still submit a fresh online application for the 2026 notification. The new application will be assessed against the currently prescribed eligibility and information.

Such returning candidates need not pay the application fee again, provided they give details of the previously paid fee and upload a copy of the old receipt to claim the waiver. An old application number by itself does not satisfy the new application requirement. This waiver is confined to the applicants and circumstances stated in the advertisement; it should not be read as a general zero-fee policy.

Fee refund: the limited exception

The default rule is that an application fee is non-refundable. The notification nevertheless expressly allows a refund if the university withdraws the advertisement for the post. An applicant who chooses not to appear for an interview, posts documents late, or is not shortlisted should not presume a refund under that narrow provision.

📮 A two-part application: online by 30 November, paper received by 7 December

Part 1 — Complete the online form

Use the university's Samarth non-teaching recruitment portal: dhsgsunt.samarth.edu.in. The portal is scheduled to be live from 1 November 2026, with online applications closing on 30 November 2026. Upload the required academic, experience, category and supporting certificates accurately. An incomplete online submission will not be considered.

The university has not printed an exact clock time for the online deadline. Treat 30 November as the closing calendar date and follow any clock-time displayed by the authorised portal instead of assuming acceptance until midnight.

Part 2 — Print and dispatch the hard copy

After online submission, send the printed application, signed as required, together with all self-attested educational qualifications, testimonials and relevant supporting documents in a closed envelope, by Speed Post or Registered Post only. Address it to:

The Assistant Registrar (Recruitment Cell)
Dr. Harisingh Gour Vishwavidyalaya
Sagar, Madhya Pradesh – 470003

The hard-copy package must reach the Recruitment Cell by 7 December 2026, 6:00 PM. Posting it on 7 December is not enough if it arrives later. Ordinary post, courier or personal hand delivery are not among the specifically authorised modes in this notice.

On the front of the envelope, identify Advertisement No. R/2026/NTC-01 and Curator (on Contract), with the applicant's name, address and mobile details; the official PDF provides a sample envelope layout.

For existing government/university employees: the notice says applications should go through the proper channel. Such candidates must not assume that merely checking an online declaration completes their employer's required process.

The two deadlines are not alternatives

Stage A: Submit the online application by 30 November 2026 using the University's Samarth non-teaching recruitment portal. Upload the required supporting material and review the eligibility entries before submission. The notification does not give an exact closing hour for the online portal, so no separate online cutoff time should be assumed.

Stage B: After the online submission, dispatch the hard copy of the online form, together with self-attested testimonials, qualification certificates and all supporting documents, in a closed envelope. The papers must actually reach the Assistant Registrar (Recruitment Cell), DHSGSU, Sagar (MP) 470003 by 7 December 2026, at or before 6:00 PM. Permitted channels are Speed Post or Registered Post only. This is a receipt deadline, not merely the last date for booking a postal parcel.

The official second-page envelope illustration includes “Advt. No” and “Post Applied for” as well as the applicant's return details. Copying that pattern can reduce confusion at the receiving office, particularly where many university recruitments are active. Retain a complete copy of the submitted form, the enclosures and a dispatch or tracking record for your own reference.

The practical trap is straightforward: an applicant can complete the web form on time yet still lose eligibility if the packet reaches Sagar after the physical-receipt deadline. The university explicitly disclaims responsibility for postal delay. A digital acknowledgement therefore should not be mistaken for proof that the required physical package has reached the Recruitment Cell.

🧾 Applicant document review — what has to be provable

Document or factWhy it matters for this vacancy
Master's degree, all marksheets and mark percentageProves the eligible subject and 55% minimum
Museology diploma/certificate, if using Route BConfirms the additional requirement for allied-subject applicants
Original museum employment / service certificatesEstablishes three years and nature of qualifying museum
Evidence of at least one year of practical collections/preservation/exhibition workAddresses the practical component of required experience
Institution / museum identity and administrative controlHelps establish national/regional importance and government/UT control
Relevant publications / museum trainingSupports desirable qualification claims, where applicable
Applicable reservation/fee category certificateSupports the requested fee group and relaxations
Old advertisement fee receipt, for eligible 2025 applicantsEnables consideration of the no-repeat-fee condition
Printed online form and self-attested supporting recordsRequired for the second, postal stage of application

No specific number of research publications is made a mandatory eligibility threshold in this vacancy. It would therefore be incorrect to replace the three-year museum requirement with a publication count or to describe research publications as compulsory for every candidate.

Check the supporting documents by requirement, not merely by filename

For this vacancy, educational qualification, museum service, practical collections work and age each have different evidentiary purposes. A marksheet alone cannot show preservation experience, while an experience letter cannot replace the required Museology diploma/certificate for the allied-degree route.

Question the screening committee needs answeredUseful matching evidence
Is the degree subject within an accepted route?Degree and detailed mark sheets showing the precise subject
Is the 55% threshold met?Marks/grade evidence and applicable recognised equivalence
Is a Museology credential additionally needed?Recognised certificate/diploma when applying via an allied subject
Were three years completed in the prescribed museum setting?Dated service certificate identifying museum, government control and tenure
Is the one-year practical component traceable?Relevant duty/service statements or authentic proof of collection, conservation and exhibition work
Does the applicant meet the age condition at the cutoff?Correct DOB with supporting age proof
Is the claimed fee or exemption supported?Category proof, or 2025 Curator fee receipt for the specific waiver
Will the university receive the complete application?Submitted online printout, self-attested enclosures and Speed/Registered Post tracking

The notice does not prescribe one universal checklist of named documents for every background. The central obligation is to upload necessary evidence online and send all supporting records with the physical printout; incomplete applications are liable to rejection.

🎤 Screening, interview and final engagement

A university Screening Committee may devise shortlisting criteria to restrict how many applicants are called for interview. Meeting the minimum academic and museum-experience conditions does not guarantee an interview invitation. The call letter and interview correspondence will be sent by email only to eligible shortlisted candidates.

The notice does not announce an interview date, time, venue or written-test schedule. Applicants therefore need to keep their registered email accurate and check the university's official recruitment page for authorised communications. No TA/DA will be paid for attending the interview.

Candidates called for interview or a test where applicable must present original age, academic, experience and other certificates for verification. Failure to produce originals may prevent participation or lead to cancellation of candidature. At engagement, the university requires verification of character and antecedents; selected candidates must also produce a medical-board certificate issued by a government hospital/board.

The offer of engagement governs the precise conditions of the appointment. The selected applicant must accept those conditions within the prescribed time and sign the required stamped contract agreement. The university may choose not to fill the post or create a waiting list; an offer can be made to the next person on the panel if a selected candidate declines or subsequently leaves, subject to the competent authority's approval.

What happens after scrutiny?

The Screening Committee may devise criteria to restrict the number of eligible candidates invited to interview. Thus the university's minimum qualifying threshold is not a promise of shortlisting. The interview communication will be sent to eligible shortlisted applicants by email only; candidates should keep the address supplied in the form correct and accessible. The advertisement does not give an interview date, venue, question paper, syllabus or minimum interview score.

Applicants attending an interview should have original proof of age, qualifications and professional experience ready for inspection. The university says failure to produce originals for checking against self-attested copies may result in exclusion from interview or cancellation of candidature. No TA/DA is payable for attending.

Selection is also not the final formality. The selected person must submit a Government Hospital/Medical Board certificate; character and antecedent verification is mandatory, and engagement is provisional pending those checks. The university will issue an Offer of Engagement stating the contract terms. The offer may be withdrawn if the candidate does not accept within the specified period. A duly stamped Contract Agreement is required at appointment.

The university may decide not to fill the position or may prepare a waiting-list panel. A waiting list is a contingency if a higher-ranked candidate declines or leaves; it is not an advertised second vacancy.

🔍 Important difference from a permanent university Curator vacancy

The advertisement promises a contract not exceeding 12 months, not permanent employment and not a guaranteed extension. Its stated ₹40,000 monthly remuneration is not described as a regular Central Government pay-matrix level. Before accepting an offer, candidates should examine the university's contract terms rather than infer pension, benefits or a career ladder from the fact that the university is centrally funded.

Official references: Full university advertisement — R/2026/NTC-01, 1 November 2026, University recruitment notice, and University Samarth application portal.

The 12-month cap changes how this opportunity should be valued

The notice describes the job as contractual and purely temporary for a period not exceeding 12 months. It provides no automatic renewal promise, permanent absorption right, annual increment table or regular central-university pay level. ₹40,000 is the notified monthly emolument, not a statement of Pay Matrix Level or salary plus unlisted allowances.

The prospective appointment will be governed by university rules and the individual offer/contract. Applicants already in service must apply through proper channel. Disqualifying false claims, unsuitable character reports and attempts to influence selection may have consequences even after engagement begins. A carefully documented application is therefore important at both the screening and appointment stages.

Official notice and application links

For application queries, the university prints ssa@dhsgsu.edu.in and rcell.su@gmail.com. Corrections and amendments, if issued, are to be published on the university website.

ContractContractual Curator, Not Exceeding 12 MonthsOnsiteHigher Education
Sarkari Sapna

Post-wise Vacancies

Open a post to view qualification, experience, age, salary, location, responsibilities and post-specific instructions.

1 vacancies

Curator (Contract) — Ancient Indian History, Culture & Archaeology

Qualification: Master’s 55% in Museology / History of Art (or accepted equivalent); OR Master’s 55% in Ancient Indian History, Sanskrit, Pali, Prakrit, Persian, Arabic, Archaeology, Anthropology, Fine Arts or accepted allied/equivalent discipline WITH a recognised Museology diploma/certificate. Mandatory for both: at least 3 years in a government-controlled national/regional museum, including 1 year practical collections/conservation/preservation/exhibition work. Relevant museum research/publications and training are desirable.
Age: Maximum 40 years
Pay: ₹40,000 – ₹40,000 / month
Educational qualification

Master’s 55% in Museology / History of Art (or accepted equivalent); OR Master’s 55% in Ancient Indian History, Sanskrit, Pali, Prakrit, Persian, Arabic, Archaeology, Anthropology, Fine Arts or accepted allied/equivalent discipline WITH a recognised Museology diploma/certificate. Mandatory for both: at least 3 years in a government-controlled national/regional museum, including 1 year practical collections/conservation/preservation/exhibition work. Relevant museum research/publications and training are desirable.

Experience

Required: Yes · Description: Minimum 3 years in a Central/State/UT-government-controlled museum of national or regional importance; includes 1 year of practical art-object collection, preservation/conservation and exhibition work (not an extra fourth year). Museum research/published work and practical training desirable only. · Minimum Years: 3

Age relaxation

Description: Upper age 40 as on 30 November 2026; relaxations according to prevailing Government of India/UGC policy, without fixed category-wise figures in this notification.

Job location
Sagar, Madhya Pradesh, India
Skills
Museum collections and object recordsCollection preservation and conservation practiceArt-object exhibition workMuseologyCultural history and material heritageMuseum-based scholarly researchCollection provenance and documentation
Post description

Curator (Contract) — one UR vacancy in Sagar

Monthly emolument: ₹40,000. Tenure: purely temporary, maximum 12 months. Age: 40 years maximum on 30 November 2026, subject to relevant Government of India/UGC relaxations.

Essential academic credentials — one of two alternatives

Route 1: A recognised Master's degree with at least 55% marks in Museology or History of Art (or officially accepted equivalent).

Route 2: A recognised Master's degree with at least 55% marks in Ancient Indian History, Sanskrit, Pali, Prakrit, Persian, Arabic, Archaeology, Anthropology, Fine Arts, or an accepted equivalent/allied subject, plus a recognised Museology diploma/certificate. This additional Museology qualification is explicitly attached to the second academic pathway.

Experience — mandatory for either route

A minimum three years' service in a museum of national or regional importance controlled by the Central Government, a State Government or Union Territory. This must include one year of practical work in art-object collection, conservation/preservation and exhibition. The practical year is part of the three years, not an alternative to them. Museum-based research/publications and related practical training are listed as desirable, not substitutes for this essential service.

Application and selection

Use the official non-teaching Samarth portal to apply by 30 November 2026; upload the required evidence. The printed online form and self-attested certificates must reach the Assistant Registrar (Recruitment Cell), DHSGSU, Sagar MP 470003 by 7 December 2026, 6 PM in a closed envelope by Speed Post or Registered Post only. Applicants who paid for the earlier 14 January 2025 Curator notice R/NT/2025/01 must reapply in 2026, but may claim the no-repeat-fee provision with the old receipt. Screening determines which eligible candidates are interviewed; calls are emailed. Appointment requires original certificates, health and character checks and a duly stamped contract. No TA/DA is provided for interview.

Post-specific instructions
  • Apply online on DHSGSU Non-Teaching Samarth portal from 01 Nov through 30 Nov 2026; upload necessary evidence. The notification gives no exact online cutoff time.
  • Printed online application and self-attested supporting records must be RECEIVED by the Assistant Registrar, Recruitment Cell, DHSGSU, Sagar MP 470003 by 07 Dec 2026, 6 PM. Speed Post/Registered Post only.
  • Include the advertisement number R/2026/NTC-01 and post name Curator (Contract) on the envelope along with sender details, following the official envelope example.
  • Master’s in Museology/History of Art with 55% is one degree route; other notified Master's subjects require an additional recognised Museology diploma/certificate.
  • Mandatory 3-year qualifying government-controlled national/regional museum experience must include 1 year of hands-on collections, conservation/preservation and exhibition experience.
  • Standard fee: General/OBC/EWS ₹1,000; SC/ST/Women/PwBD/Ex-servicemen ₹500. Earlier R/NT/2025/01 Curator fee payers apply afresh with old fee receipt to claim exemption.
  • Interview invitations only for shortlisted candidates by email. Bring originals for verification if called. No TA/DA is payable for interview.
  • Selected applicant must provide Government Medical Board certificate, undergo character/antecedent verification, accept offer within allotted time and sign a stamped contract.
Reservation note

Exactly one vacancy marked 01-UR (Unreserved). No separate SC/ST/OBC/EWS vacancy count is advertised. The lower application fees for specified categories do not imply reserved vacancies in this single UR post.

Selection stages for this post
Online Application And Prescribed Paper ReceiptUniversity Screening Committee: Academic And Museum-Experience ShortlistingInterview Of Shortlisted Candidates — Schedule By EmailOriginal Document Verification, Health/Character Checks And Contractual Engagement
Sarkari Sapna

Eligibility & Qualification

Recruitment-level qualifications and eligibility rules. Post-specific conditions are also shown inside each vacancy card.

Two Master's-degree qualification paths; 55% and Museology certificate condition

Museology/History of Art Master's with 55%, or Master's with 55% in specified allied subjects with recognised Museology diploma/certificate. Both routes additionally require prescribed three-year museum service.

Three years in qualifying government-controlled museum with one year practical object work

Museum of national/regional importance controlled by Central/State/UT government; three years museum experience, including a year of practical collection, preservation/conservation and art-object exhibition work.

Min: 3Mandatory
Sarkari Sapna

Age Limit & Relaxation

Recruitment-level age criteria. Post-specific age conditions remain visible inside each vacancy card.

Minimum age
Not specified
Maximum age
40
Reference date
30 Nov 2026
Age relaxation: Age maximum 40 years as at application closing date. Govt of India/UGC relaxations apply per current policy; no separate numeric category table in the official notice.
Sarkari Sapna

Application Fee

Category-wise application fee information.

Applicant category
General / OBC / EWS
₹1,000
ApplicationNon-refundable

₹1,000. Standard nonrefund rule, except if the university withdraws the advertisement for the post.

Applicant category
SC / ST / Women / PwBD / Ex-servicemen
₹500
ApplicationNon-refundable

₹500. General nonrefund rule except advertisement withdrawal. Category concession is separate from the one UR vacancy.

Applicant category
Eligible applicants who paid for earlier Curator advertisement R/NT/2025/01
Exempted
ApplicationNon-refundable

Must apply afresh and upload the earlier fee-payment receipt/details to claim the no-repeat-fee condition.

Sarkari Sapna

Salary & Pay Scale

Post-wise salary, stipend or pay-matrix information.

Curator (Contract) — Ancient Indian History, Culture & Archaeology
₹40,000 – ₹40,000 / month

₹40,000 monthly remuneration, purely temporary contract no longer than 12 months. The notification does not specify a regular pay level or additional allowance.

Sarkari Sapna

Selection Process

Selection stages in the order configured for this recruitment.

1

Online application and prescribed paper receipt

Online Samarth form and uploads required by 30 Nov 2026. Printed application plus all self-attested testimonials must reach Assistant Registrar (Recruitment Cell), Sagar MP 470003 by Speed/Registered Post only on/before 07 Dec 2026 at 18:00.

2

University Screening Committee: academic and museum-experience shortlisting

University Screening Committee checks 55% Master's degree route, any compulsory Museology diploma/certificate, government-controlled national/regional museum experience (3 years including 1 practical year) and supporting documents. Merely meeting minimum qualifications does not guarantee shortlisting.

3

Interview of shortlisted candidates — schedule by email

Interview call letters and correspondence will be sent to eligible shortlisted candidates by email only. No interview date/time published. Original age, degree and experience documents must be produced when called; no TA/DA for interview.

4

Original document verification, health/character checks and contractual engagement

Optional

Conditional engagement: originals verified, Government Medical Board certificate required, character/antecedents checks, offer acceptance and stamped contract. Temporary employment not exceeding 12 months; no right to regular university service.

Sarkari Sapna

Important Dates

Application and recruitment milestones published with this job.

Notification
Curator contract advertisement R/2026/NTC-01 dated 1 November
01 Nov 2026

Date printed on page 1 of university notification; website recruitment listing appeared 30 October 2026.

Application Start
Samarth online Curator application opens
01 Nov 2026

Official PDF page 2: Samarth recruitment link available from 1 Nov 2026.

Application End
Last calendar date for online application
30 Nov 2026

No hour/minute specified in advertisement; follow the authorised portal for any clock-time cutoff.

Other
Hard-copy application must reach Recruitment Cell by 6:00 PM
07 Dec 2026

Printed online form and self-attested enclosures must reach the Recruitment Cell by 18:00 via Speed Post/Registered Post only; dispatch alone by that date does not meet receipt condition.

Sarkari Sapna

Official Links & Resources

Application links, notification documents and verified sources in one place.

Sarkari Sapna profile photo
Posted by
Sarkari Sapna

सरकारी नौकरी, भर्ती, परीक्षा और career information को सरल, सटीक और उपयोगी रूप में समझाने पर केंद्रित

View profile