Jammu and Kashmir Services Selection Board logo
Jammu and Kashmir Services Selection BoardNEWApplications open soon

JKSSB JE Civil 2026: 458 Level-6 Posts — Jal Shakti Item 266 vs PWD R&B Item 267, Eight-Category Roster

JKSSB Advt 11/2026 announces 458 UT-cadre JE Civil posts in two separate items: Jal Shakti 266 (282) and Public Works R&B 267 (176). Eight-column J&K reservation, 3-year Civil Diploma/degree/AMIE, J&K domicile by 29 Dec, age as of 1 Jan 2026, Level-6 pay and English written/OMR-only merit. Applications 30 Nov–29 Dec; exact exam date and syllabus pending.

Advertisement Notification No. 11 of 2026Posted 27 Oct 202663 days left
Total vacancies
458
Last date
29 Dec 2026
Application mode
Online
Job location
Jammu and Kashmir
Organization profile

About the Recruiting Organization

Organization information attached to this recruitment record.

Jammu and Kashmir Services Selection Board logo
Recruiting AuthorityRecruiting authority

Jammu and Kashmir Services Selection Board

State GovernmentSubordinate Services Selection BoardUnion TerritoryState Recruitment

Recruiting authority for Jammu and Kashmir Government departments.

Organization code
JKSSB
Official jobs
View all jobs
Official website
Sarkari Sapna

About this Recruitment

Recruitment-specific overview from the published record.

JKSSB JE Civil 2026: 458 UT-cadre Level-6 posts — why Item 266 and 267 must be analysed separately

Jammu and Kashmir Services Selection Board | Advertisement Notification No. 11 of 2026, 27 October 2026 | Annexure-A, Item 266 and Item 267

458 Junior Engineer (Civil) posts have been requisitioned for two different J&K Government departments: Jal Shakti 282 and Public Works (Roads & Buildings) 176. Both are UT-cadre Level-6 posts, but they carry different item numbers, reservation rosters and employing departments. An applicant who simply chooses the department with the larger total may overlook how many seats actually fall in their own category. This guide reconstructs the official Annexure-A row by row, explains eligibility and domicile deadlines, and separates what the notice confirms from what JKSSB has yet to publish.

Application window: 30 November–29 December 2026; the portal's actual closing clock time is not specified in the signed notice. At publication of the notification in October, the application window has not opened yet. Candidates should not submit through third-party links claiming to be an early JKSSB application portal.

⚠️ The decisive restriction: a valid Jammu and Kashmir domicile certificate must be held on or before 29 December 2026 (unless JKSSB officially extends the cut-off). Merely studying in J&K or desiring a J&K posting does not replace the prescribed domicile proof. The notice also requires the educational qualification and category eligibility to be established by the application cut-off.

🧭 Read the recruitment correctly before choosing an item

Advertised dimensionOfficial position
Recruitment authorityJammu and Kashmir Services Selection Board (JKSSB)
AdvertisementNo. 11 of 2026, issued 27 October 2026
Service/cadreJunior Engineer (Civil), UT Cadre
Item 266Jal Shakti Department — 282
Item 267Public Works (R&B) Department — 176
Total458 posts (subject to lawful revision)
LevelUT Government Pay Level-6: ₹35,400–₹1,12,400
Education3-year Civil Engineering Diploma OR Civil Engineering degree OR AMIE Sections A & B
Age benchmark1 January 2026; category-dependent upper limits
DomicileJ&K certificate valid by 29 December 2026
ApplyOnline only; 30 Nov–29 Dec 2026
TestObjective written/OMR, English only, negative marking ¼ per wrong answer
Syllabus, exact date, duration, question countNot announced in Advt. 11/2026
InterviewNot prescribed for these two JE items

The Board states that vacancy counts may increase or decrease and final selection is subject to applicable legal proceedings. Do not mistake today's 458 as a fixed guarantee of 458 appointments.

📊 458 vacancies: department share and 8-category reservation map

This is one advertisement, but two department-specific merit/preference choices. The smaller PWD allocation is not a different pay grade: both rows are Level-6.

📊 View 458 posts by employing department

Employing departmentSeats
Jal Shakti (266)282
PWD R&B (267)176

The Jal Shakti row accounts for 61.6% of the advertised positions; PWD R&B holds 38.4%. Those percentages are derived from the official 282/176 figures, not applicant success probabilities. Do not apply them as category cutoffs or exam weightages.

The following eight categories are distinct vertical roster columns in Annexure-A. In particular, ST-1 and ST-2 must remain separate, not silently merged for the application or category-wise vacancy display.

📊 Explore the complete 8-category vertical reservation roster

Reservation categoryTotal vacancies
OM184
SC37
ST-146
ST-246
OBC36
ALC/IB18
RBA45
EWS46

Arithmetic audit: OM 184 + SC 37 + ST-1 46 + ST-2 46 + OBC 36 + ALC/IB 18 + RBA 45 + EWS 46 = 458. The 184 Open Merit positions are not a separate “General-only” category: applicable law governs competition for OM seats. ESM/PwBD horizontal reservation is not additional headcount; the advertisement prescribes applicable horizontal rules without publishing a separate item-by-item count here. Adding assumed ESM or PwBD seats on top of 458 would exaggerate vacancies.

Category concentration inside the two departments

Because both items are selectable, the real decision for an applicant is which item holds more posts in their category, not which department merely has the higher combined total.

📊 Jal Shakti Item 266 — compare each official reservation column

Item 266 categorySeats
OM113
SC23
ST-128
ST-228
OBC22
ALC/IB11
RBA28
EWS29

📊 PWD R&B Item 267 — compare each official reservation column

Item 267 categorySeats
OM71
SC14
ST-118
ST-218
OBC14
ALC/IB7
RBA17
EWS17

For example, ST-1 and ST-2 each have 28 Jal Shakti seats and 18 PWD seats. ALC/IB has 11 in Jal Shakti and 7 in PWD. EWS has 29 versus 17. Neither department's individual roster is interchangeable with the combined total and neither guarantees a separate exam paper.

🏗️ Item 266: Jal Shakti Department — 282 posts, distinct vacancy roster

The notification does not offer an undifferentiated pool of 458 Junior Engineer seats. Item 266 is a separate UT-cadre departmental choice, with 282 vacancies. In this item OM 113 (40.1%) and the other seven J&K vertical categories follow the exact Annexure-A distribution. Candidates should study their own category within the chosen item, not simply cite the all-department total.

Official J&K categoryItem 266 seats
OM113
SC23
ST-128
ST-228
OBC22
ALC/IB11
RBA28
EWS29
Total282

Competition signal, not a selection forecast. The higher/lower raw seats show where positions are available; a seat count alone cannot predict the cutoff. The official notice does not publish applicant volumes, exam marks, minimum qualification marks or category-wise selection cutoffs.

The qualification gateway is a government-recognised three-year Diploma in Civil Engineering, Civil Engineering degree from an Indian university, or AMIE Sections A and B (India). These are alternative routes, not cumulative requirements. A short-term civil certificate, unrecognised equivalent or unrelated engineering degree should not be represented as acceptable. Any equivalence claim must survive verification by the competent authority.

Pay and status: UT Cadre, Level-6 ₹35,400–₹1,12,400 pay-matrix scale. The first figure is the Level-6 starting basic pay; it is not a promise of ₹1,12,400 starting salary, nor a verified monthly take-home figure. Location/site/allowances/initial in-hand are not specified in Annexure-A. Posting will be governed by the UT Government appointment and service rules.

Selection is exam-only for merit: a JKSSB objective written/OMR examination determines merit; document verification establishes that an otherwise successful candidate actually met domicile, age, education and reservation requirements by the relevant cut-off. The 16-page advertisement does not prescribe an interview or a second engineering paper.

🧾 Choice and form risk: select the exact Item Number, confirm the relevant department, and review preference order before submission. Under the notification, changing department/cadre preferences after submission is not permitted. Only one online application is allowed per same item; applications for different eligible items and their merit-cum-preferences require attention to the portal instructions when those are published.

Department context. Jal Shakti is the named indenting and employing department. Water-supply, hydraulic structures and associated civil infrastructure are plausible professional contexts, not a job-description or syllabus officially issued by JKSSB. Candidates should not assume a particular dam, water-supply project, posting district or job duty from the name alone.

🏗️ Item 267: Public Works (Roads & Buildings) Department — 176 posts, distinct vacancy roster

The notification does not offer an undifferentiated pool of 458 Junior Engineer seats. Item 267 is a separate UT-cadre departmental choice, with 176 vacancies. In this item OM 71 (40.3%) and the other seven J&K vertical categories follow the exact Annexure-A distribution. Candidates should study their own category within the chosen item, not simply cite the all-department total.

Official J&K categoryItem 267 seats
OM71
SC14
ST-118
ST-218
OBC14
ALC/IB7
RBA17
EWS17
Total176

Competition signal, not a selection forecast. The higher/lower raw seats show where positions are available; a seat count alone cannot predict the cutoff. The official notice does not publish applicant volumes, exam marks, minimum qualification marks or category-wise selection cutoffs.

The qualification gateway is a government-recognised three-year Diploma in Civil Engineering, Civil Engineering degree from an Indian university, or AMIE Sections A and B (India). These are alternative routes, not cumulative requirements. A short-term civil certificate, unrecognised equivalent or unrelated engineering degree should not be represented as acceptable. Any equivalence claim must survive verification by the competent authority.

Pay and status: UT Cadre, Level-6 ₹35,400–₹1,12,400 pay-matrix scale. The first figure is the Level-6 starting basic pay; it is not a promise of ₹1,12,400 starting salary, nor a verified monthly take-home figure. Location/site/allowances/initial in-hand are not specified in Annexure-A. Posting will be governed by the UT Government appointment and service rules.

Selection is exam-only for merit: a JKSSB objective written/OMR examination determines merit; document verification establishes that an otherwise successful candidate actually met domicile, age, education and reservation requirements by the relevant cut-off. The 16-page advertisement does not prescribe an interview or a second engineering paper.

🧾 Choice and form risk: select the exact Item Number, confirm the relevant department, and review preference order before submission. Under the notification, changing department/cadre preferences after submission is not permitted. Only one online application is allowed per same item; applications for different eligible items and their merit-cum-preferences require attention to the portal instructions when those are published.

Department context. Public Works (R&B) is the named indenting and employing department. Roads, bridges and related public infrastructure are the broad administrative field, but the advertisement does not promise an assignment to a particular road project, district or design/supervision role.

🎓 Eligibility audit — three routes, one Civil Engineering requirement

The exact official alternatives are not a generic “any engineering diploma/degree”:

Eligible routeWhat must be established
Civil Engineering DiplomaThree-year Diploma in Civil Engineering from a government-recognised institute
Civil Engineering DegreeDegree in Civil Engineering from an Indian university
AMIESections A and B, India, as expressly listed in Annexure-A

The applicant must have secured the relevant qualification on or before the 29 December 2026 online-application cut-off. A pending final-year result, an unrecognised discipline, or an equivalence assumption cannot be treated as automatically acceptable. For a claimed equivalent award, JKSSB may demand an equivalence certificate or a decision by the competent authority; its decision under the rules controls.

Diploma-versus-degree myth: the advertisement places both qualifications in the same JE Level-6 row. It does not specify separate diploma and degree vacancy pools, a degree bonus, minimum percentage, experience years or an additional interview. A graduate should not claim higher priority by degree alone, and a diploma holder should not be told that a B.Tech is mandatory.

Documentation worth obtaining before the portal opens: degree/diploma/AMIE marksheets and completion proof, domicile issued by the competent J&K authority, matriculation certificate for consistent identity/DOB, and the correct reservation certificate if applying in a reserved category. Degrees from certain institutions outside J&K may trigger the university Bonafide Certificate requirement at DV (see below).

🪪 Domicile and reservations — the two cut-off tests that routinely decide eligibility

A valid J&K domicile certificate is mandatory for this UT-cadre drive. Its issue/validity must meet the 29 December 2026 cut-off, unless the Board issues a formal extension. Both departments use the same domicile rule.

Reservation benefits require an independently valid prescribed-format certificate on or before the cut-off. The notice instructs uploading the category certificate while applying and explicitly warns that a later upload opportunity will not be provided. ST-1, ST-2, RBA, ALC/IB, OBC and EWS are specific J&K legal categories, not broad substitutes or central-state categories with similar names. If a reserved-status claim fails verification, rejection or consideration under OM may follow the applicable rules, not an automatic conversion the applicant can demand.

For ESM, the relevant horizontal-reservation rule requires a Form-XIV certificate and, in the stated circumstances, a sworn affidavit before a 1st Class Judicial Magistrate concerning previous ESM horizontal-reservation benefit. PwBD, where eligible under the post's suitability norms, may have prescribed scribe/compensatory-time arrangements; this is an accommodation and horizontal-reservation issue, not a new vertical column in Annexure-A.

🎂 Exact age rules — use 1 January, not the application closing date

The official date is 1 January 2026—not the advertisement date or 29 December application deadline. Open Merit: 40 years (not born before 01-01-1986). SC, ST-1, ST-2, RBA, ALC/IB, EWS and OBC: 43 years (not before 01-01-1983). Physically Challenged Person: 42 years (not before 01-01-1984), as the notification specifically states; do not automatically append the usual category relaxation. No applicant can be born after 01-01-2008. Ex-servicemen: subtract the length of Armed Forces service from actual age; the resultant age cannot exceed the prescribed upper age by more than three years. Read any subsequent official clarification if overlapping categories arise.

📊 Compare published upper-age ceilings

Applicant age categoryMaximum age in years
Open Merit40
PwBD category42
Other listed reserved categories43
Category / eligibility routeBorn not beforeBorn not after
Open Merit01 Jan 198601 Jan 2008
SC / ST-1 / ST-2 / RBA / ALC/IB / EWS / OBC01 Jan 198301 Jan 2008
Physically Challenged Person01 Jan 198401 Jan 2008

The notice provides a separate ex-serviceman service-deduction formula: after subtracting qualifying Armed Forces service from actual age, the resultant age may exceed the applicable upper limit by no more than three years. It is incorrect to replace that with an unconditional “+3” for every ESM applicant. For overlap of ESM, disability and vertical categories, apply the original clause and authoritative rules rather than inventing a combined concession.

Example, purely to understand the reference date: an OM applicant born on 1 January 1986 is at the published earliest acceptable date; an OM applicant born on 31 December 1985 is older than the permitted DOB boundary. This is about DOB cut-off, not a prediction of selection.

💰 Salary analysis — Level-6 is a pay matrix, not a promised take-home figure

Both JE Civil items carry Level-6 ₹35,400–₹1,12,400. ₹35,400 is the initial basic-pay entry in that scale, and ₹1,12,400 is the published upper point of the pay range; it is not a joining offer. House Rent Allowance, Dearness Allowance, deductions, posting effects and net in-hand are governed by J&K service rules. The notice does not provide a verified salary-slip illustration, guaranteed monthly gross or post-wise job site. Accordingly, exact in-hand salary: Not specified.

Employment figureCorrect interpretation
₹35,400Level-6 minimum/starting basic entry
₹1,12,400Upper end of Level-6 pay scale, not starting pay
Annual CTCNot specified
Exact gross/in-handNot specified
Jal Shakti versus PWD scale differenceNone notified; both Level-6

The appointment is to a government JE cadre under the UT's extant conditions; it is not a one-year apprentice, project consultancy, or contract-pay scheme.

💳 Application fee and fee-payment mistakes

Applicant category shown in fee clauseFee (INR)
OM / OBC / RBA / ALC-IB and other categories not listed for reduced fee600
SC / ST-1 / ST-2 / EWS / PwBD500

Only online Net Banking, Credit Card or Debit Card fee payment is prescribed. A missing prescribed payment can invalidate the application; fees are normally non-refundable. The document does not state that EWS is exempt: EWS is explicitly in the ₹500 category. There is no advertised fee waiver for all applicants, nor a printed UPI-only payment option.

The later fee reminder on page 12 confirms SC, ST-1, ST-2, PwBD and EWS at ₹500. No extra “convenience charge” is quantified in the notification; avoid promising an exact final debit if a payment gateway separately displays lawful charges.

📝 Written/OMR examination: what JKSSB actually confirmed

Only a single written/OMR merit basis is specified for Item 266 and 267. The 16-page notice states an objective multiple-choice paper in English, with a penalty of one-fourth of the assigned marks for every wrong answer. It does not give a number of questions, total marks, test duration, officially weighted topic list, exam date, shift or named examination centre. The Board promises to publish a separate syllabus and exam schedule.

This distinction matters. Candidates may find older JKSSB JE Civil papers or coaching outlines online, but those are historical practice resources, not the officially notified syllabus for Advertisement 11/2026. No reliable source permits us to convert 2024 or earlier topic weightages into a 2026 paper. Our linked Detailed Exam Page separates official conditions from voluntary Civil Engineering preparation guidance.

No interview or engineering-aptitude merit multiplier is announced. The item rows say selection on marks in written/OMR only; the subsequent DV verifies eligibility and originals. An admit card issued for a provisional applicant does not mean their diploma, domicile and category status have already been approved.

🧮 Negative marking — calculate it without inventing total paper marks

If a question has M marks, the notice's penalty per wrong answer is M/4; not a fixed number of marks for every question unless the Board later fixes M. For an illustrative one-mark question, a correct response contributes +1 and a wrong response contributes −0.25. Example only: 60 correct and 20 incorrect one-mark answers produce 60 − 5 = 55; this does not mean the official JKSSB paper has 80 questions or a 100-mark maximum. Until the official detailed exam scheme appears, no such totals can be treated as factual.

Practical implication: train for accuracy and disciplined elimination rather than automatically attempting every doubtful MCQ. There is no authorised pass-percentage table or cutoff score in this advertisement.

🪪 Admit card, exam-day ID, and PwBD scribe arrangements

The notice says the admit-card download facility will be made available about one week before the exam, once JKSSB schedules the test. This is an approximate relative window, not an already confirmed issue date. No roll-number slip will be posted through India Post. Download from JKSSB's official website and print the hall ticket when released.

At the exam venue bring the printed admit card, two recent colour photographs (not older than six months, with date indicated) and original valid photo identity proof such as Aadhaar/E-Aadhaar, voter ID, driving licence, PAN, passport or accepted institution/employer ID. Check the centre's exact reporting time and any security additions in the eventual call letter. The Board explicitly prohibits phones, smart watches, Bluetooth, AI-enabled devices and other electronic communication tools, even if switched off.

For an eligible PwBD applicant, the notice provides 20 minutes compensatory time per examination hour and/or a self-arranged scribe subject to its medical-certificate and undertaking rules. The prospective scribe must meet age/education and independence constraints; Annexures B and C are supplied with the original PDF. Candidates using these facilities are advised to reach about one hour early and produce the required original/attested proofs at the venue.

🏁 Full recruitment lifecycle — stages to track, not invented releases

Stage 1 — Online application (future). Apply from 30 November 2026 through the official JKSSB procedure when published; final submission deadline 29 December 2026, time not printed. Select applicable Item 266/267 and preferences, review identity, upload live photo and prescribed documents, pay online and retain the submitted form. General candidates should not send application hard copies to the JKSSB office; in-service forwarding has separate conditions.

Stage 2 — Examination notice and separate syllabus (pending). JKSSB will announce venue, date, paper instructions and syllabus separately. The 27 October advertisement by itself is not a syllabus release.

Stage 3 — Admit card (pending). Download and print when JKSSB opens the portal, expected about a week before the yet-undated exam; no fabricated download link or date is supplied here.

Stage 4 — Objective written/OMR examination (date pending). Questions in English; −¼ of assigned marks for each wrong answer. Marks determine merit subject to applicable procedures.

Stage 5 — Provisional outcome / merit list (pending). The Board may publish exam result, shortlist or subsequent notices; none are attached as if already issued under No. 11/2026.

Stage 6 — Document Verification. Bring originals and self-attested copies of academic, domicile and reservation certificates, application printout, current photos and approved ID. For applicable graduates of institutions outside J&K (other than Central Universities), the notice mentions a Bonafide Certificate signed by university Controller/Registrar. Failure to attend or prove eligibility can end the application even after good exam marks.

Stage 7 — Final selection and allotment. Merit-cum-preference, applicable reservation and verified eligibility govern final placement; the Government's appointing authority applies current service rules. No joining date, final merit list or appointment letter is announced in this notification.

🖥️ Apply without losing eligibility over a form mistake

Before the form opens collect the J&K domicile certificate and reservation proof in the correct format; confirm exact name, father's name, mother's name and DOB against matriculation records. JKSSB instructs uploading a live photograph, signature 10–20 KB, and self-attested category/qualification certificates up to 200 KB PDF as applicable. These are notice-specific file-size instructions, not a licence to reduce readability.

When registration opens, select the correct Item 266 and/or Item 267 with attention to the Board's yet-to-be-published application procedure. If applying to multiple items, follow merit-cum-preference and item-specific instructions. The notice permits only one online form per same item number and the latest application is considered if duplicates are detected; duplicate exam appearances for the same item can result in debarment. Final submission is not editable, including department/cadre preferences.

Make sure the portal displays successful submission and payment, and preserve PDF/printout for DV. Don't post ordinary hard copies: the notice specifically says general online applicants should not send their filled forms to the JKSSB office; in-service candidates have a separate proper-channel signed forwarding requirement up to the DV deadline.

❓ Essential questions prospective JE applicants should resolve

Is a J&K domicile certificate mandatory? Yes. The notice explicitly requires one by the application cut-off, even if a candidate otherwise holds an eligible degree.

Are Diploma Civil holders eligible? Yes: a government-recognised three-year Civil Engineering diploma is separately listed as an alternative to a Civil Engineering degree or AMIE Sections A/B.

Can an Electrical or Mechanical diploma holder apply? The advertisement specifically lists Civil Engineering; do not infer acceptance of other branches.

Is an interview compulsory? No interview is prescribed. Annexure-A says selection on written/OMR examination merit only, followed by verification.

Can I use an older JE Civil syllabus? For general practice perhaps, clearly labelled historical, but JKSSB says the 2026 syllabus will be notified separately; older patterns are not binding.

Will the admit card come by post? No. The Board indicates online download around one week before its future exam date.

Are ST-1 and ST-2 one reservation group? No. Annexure-A lists 46 each overall in two separate columns and two separate departmental rosters.

What is the age limit for EWS? The notification specifically lists EWS under the 43-year maximum age rule on 1 January 2026; do not incorrectly put all EWS applicants under OM 40.

Will all 458 posts necessarily be filled? The Board reserves the possibility of a lawful vacancy change and eligibility/verification conditions still apply.

Does the pay range mean ₹1.12 lakh on joining? No. ₹35,400 is the initial basic Level-6 point; actual in-hand is not specified.

🔗 Official references and corrections

The controlling material is the 16-page JKSSB Advertisement Notification No. 11 of 2026, dated 27 October 2026, particularly Annexure-A, page 14, for both category-wise rosters, qualifying routes and written-merit condition. Page 2 gives the age table and domicile rule; page 5 contains the fee and general test scheme; pages 6–8 cover admit cards, accessible testing and DV; page 12 covers application details. The official JKSSB advertisements, separate syllabus notices and JKSSB home should be checked for any later amendment. Until an official corrigendum appears, do not promote social-media exam dates, invented marks weightages, fabricated admit-card PDFs or unannounced category cutoffs to facts.

Full TimeRegularOnsiteRecruitment
Sarkari Sapna

Post-wise Vacancies

Open a post to view qualification, experience, age, salary, location, responsibilities and post-specific instructions.

266282 vacancies

Junior Engineer (Civil) — Jal Shakti Department — UT Cadre Item 266

Qualification: 3-year government-recognised Civil Engineering diploma OR Civil Engineering degree from an Indian university OR AMIE Sections A & B; notice does not demand all routes together. Completion by application cut-off 29 Dec 2026. No advertised minimum marks percentage, mandatory experience, or general other-branch acceptance. Certificates/qualification must be valid by 29 Dec 2026; equivalence claims subject to JKSSB decision.
Age: 18–40 years
Pay: ₹35,400 – ₹1,12,400 / month
OM: 113SC: 23EWS: 29OBC: 22RBA: 28ST-1: 28ST-2: 28ALC/IB: 11
Educational qualification

3-year government-recognised Civil Engineering diploma OR Civil Engineering degree from an Indian university OR AMIE Sections A & B; notice does not demand all routes together. Completion by application cut-off 29 Dec 2026. No advertised minimum marks percentage, mandatory experience, or general other-branch acceptance. Certificates/qualification must be valid by 29 Dec 2026; equivalence claims subject to JKSSB decision.

Experience

Required: No · Description: No minimum professional experience is prescribed for the JE Civil posts under Annexure-A. Do not substitute assumed 1–2 years of site experience for the essential qualification.

Age relaxation

Description: The official date is 1 January 2026—not the advertisement date or 29 December application deadline. Open Merit: 40 years (not born before 01-01-1986). SC, ST-1, ST-2, RBA, ALC/IB, EWS and OBC: 43 years (not before 01-01-1983). Physically Challenged Person: 42 years (not before 01-01-1984), as the notification specifically states; do not automatically append the usual category relaxation. No applicant can be born after 01-01-2008. Ex-servicemen: subtract the length of Armed Forces service from actual age; the resultant age cannot exceed the prescribed upper age by more than three years. Read any subsequent official clarification if overlapping categories arise.

Job location
Jammu and Kashmir, India
Skills
Recognised Civil Engineering technical fundamentals (recruitment qualification area, not employer skills list)Accurate objective MCQ/OMR reading in EnglishCivil engineering calculations with one-fourth negative markingIdentity, J&K domicile and prescribed-category certificate accuracyTechnical documentation and basic engineering judgement
Post description

🏗️ Item 266: Jal Shakti Department — 282 posts, distinct vacancy roster

The notification does not offer an undifferentiated pool of 458 Junior Engineer seats. Item 266 is a separate UT-cadre departmental choice, with 282 vacancies. In this item OM 113 (40.1%) and the other seven J&K vertical categories follow the exact Annexure-A distribution. Candidates should study their own category within the chosen item, not simply cite the all-department total.

Official J&K categoryItem 266 seats
OM113
SC23
ST-128
ST-228
OBC22
ALC/IB11
RBA28
EWS29
Total282

Competition signal, not a selection forecast. The higher/lower raw seats show where positions are available; a seat count alone cannot predict the cutoff. The official notice does not publish applicant volumes, exam marks, minimum qualification marks or category-wise selection cutoffs.

The qualification gateway is a government-recognised three-year Diploma in Civil Engineering, Civil Engineering degree from an Indian university, or AMIE Sections A and B (India). These are alternative routes, not cumulative requirements. A short-term civil certificate, unrecognised equivalent or unrelated engineering degree should not be represented as acceptable. Any equivalence claim must survive verification by the competent authority.

Pay and status: UT Cadre, Level-6 ₹35,400–₹1,12,400 pay-matrix scale. The first figure is the Level-6 starting basic pay; it is not a promise of ₹1,12,400 starting salary, nor a verified monthly take-home figure. Location/site/allowances/initial in-hand are not specified in Annexure-A. Posting will be governed by the UT Government appointment and service rules.

Selection is exam-only for merit: a JKSSB objective written/OMR examination determines merit; document verification establishes that an otherwise successful candidate actually met domicile, age, education and reservation requirements by the relevant cut-off. The 16-page advertisement does not prescribe an interview or a second engineering paper.

🧾 Choice and form risk: select the exact Item Number, confirm the relevant department, and review preference order before submission. Under the notification, changing department/cadre preferences after submission is not permitted. Only one online application is allowed per same item; applications for different eligible items and their merit-cum-preferences require attention to the portal instructions when those are published.

Department context. Jal Shakti is the named indenting and employing department. Water-supply, hydraulic structures and associated civil infrastructure are plausible professional contexts, not a job-description or syllabus officially issued by JKSSB. Candidates should not assume a particular dam, water-supply project, posting district or job duty from the name alone.

🪪 Item 266 — actionable eligibility and recruitment audit

Age / domicile on different dates. Age is measured at 1 January 2026 (OM max 40, designated J&K reserved categories max 43, physically challenged category max 42; special ESM service rule). Domicile/education/category proof must exist by 29 December 2026. Conflating these dates is a direct avoidable eligibility error. Original academic qualification cannot be created retroactively after the application deadline.

Pay-matrix versus cash: ₹35,400–₹1,12,400 is a Level-6 scale; there is no special premium for the water-services department and no official promised gross or take-home. If a portal displays “salary ₹1.12 lakh/month on joining”, that is a misuse of the official upper pay-matrix figure.

Exam-specific route: this item feeds the linked JKSSB Junior Engineer (Civil) Written/OMR Examination 2026 — Advertisement 11/2026, Items 266 & 267. It does not have a separate published interview or a second stage carrying merit marks. Candidates should prepare objective English-medium technical problem solving while awaiting the separately notified exact syllabus; the notice makes every wrong answer costly at one-fourth of assigned marks.

DV-critical documents: preserve 10th certificate for DOB/identity, three-year Civil Engineering Diploma or Civil degree/AMIE A&B and completion marksheets, current J&K domicile, matching category documents and final application PDF. Other-UT (non-central-university) degrees may need the notified university Bonafide Certificate at DV. ESM horizontal claims require documentary undertakings as applicable; PwBD scribe/compensatory-time requires Annexures B/C as prescribed.

Two-item logic: this Item 266 must be selected deliberately. Department preferences are not changeable after final submission. One online form per same Item Number; for multiple eligible items, follow Board instructions and select the intended preferences without inventing a third application category.

What remains unannounced: exam date/venue, syllabus, full paper marks and duration, admit-card issue date, individual cutoff, category pass thresholds, posting district, final selection list and joining order. Listing a date or a weightage for any of these as official would be misleading.

Duties

Junior Engineer (Civil) in the Jal Shakti Department, J&K UT Cadre. The notice gives a title/pay/cadre/qualification roster but no position-specific daily duty list. Actual assigned duties and site will follow appointing authority rules.

Responsibilities
  • Perform Civil Engineering functions within assigned department after appointment subject to government service rules; exact day-to-day task profile is not specified in notice.
  • Maintain valid professional records and meet the terms of UT cadre appointment.
  • Meet eligibility and document verification requirements before joining; truthful category, domicile and academic declarations are required.
Post-specific instructions
  • Apply to exact Item 266 (Jal Shakti Department) for its own 282-seat reservation roster; do not use combined category totals as this item’s availability.
  • A recognised three-year Civil Engineering diploma OR Civil Engineering degree OR AMIE Sections A & B are the prescribed alternative qualifications.
  • Valid J&K domicile, applicable category certificate and completed qualification required on or before 29 Dec 2026; age calculated separately on 1 Jan 2026.
  • Online application opens 30 Nov 2026 and closes 29 Dec 2026; no closing hour or direct live portal URL is established in the October notice.
  • The original notice requires objective written/OMR English-only examination with negative marking one-fourth of marks for wrong answers; detailed syllabus/date later.
  • No interview is notified; written examination merit and later original-document verification control the recruitment.
  • Retain two recent photos with date, print admit card when later released and bring original photo ID to the exam.
  • Obtain application printout and correct original degree/diploma/AMIE, J&K domicile and reservation record for DV.
  • Level-6 monthly basic scale ₹35,400–₹1,12,400; exact starting in-hand is Not specified.
Reservation note

Official Annexure-A Item 266: OM 113, SC 23, ST-1 28, ST-2 28, OBC 22, ALC/IB 11, RBA 28, EWS 29, total 282. Separate ST-1 vs ST-2. ESM/PwBD horizontal benefits per applicable law, not added to this count.

Selection stages for this post
Objective Written/OMR JE Civil ExaminationMerit-Based Provisional Shortlisting And Original Document VerificationFinal UT-Cadre Appointment/Allotment Under Applicable Rules
267176 vacancies

Junior Engineer (Civil) — Public Works (Roads & Buildings) Department — UT Cadre Item 267

Qualification: 3-year government-recognised Civil Engineering diploma OR Civil Engineering degree from an Indian university OR AMIE Sections A & B; notice does not demand all routes together. Completion by application cut-off 29 Dec 2026. No advertised minimum marks percentage, mandatory experience, or general other-branch acceptance. Certificates/qualification must be valid by 29 Dec 2026; equivalence claims subject to JKSSB decision.
Age: 18–40 years
Pay: ₹35,400 – ₹1,12,400 / month
OM: 71SC: 14EWS: 17OBC: 14RBA: 17ST-1: 18ST-2: 18ALC/IB: 7
Educational qualification

3-year government-recognised Civil Engineering diploma OR Civil Engineering degree from an Indian university OR AMIE Sections A & B; notice does not demand all routes together. Completion by application cut-off 29 Dec 2026. No advertised minimum marks percentage, mandatory experience, or general other-branch acceptance. Certificates/qualification must be valid by 29 Dec 2026; equivalence claims subject to JKSSB decision.

Experience

Required: No · Description: No minimum professional experience is prescribed for the JE Civil posts under Annexure-A. Do not substitute assumed 1–2 years of site experience for the essential qualification.

Age relaxation

Description: The official date is 1 January 2026—not the advertisement date or 29 December application deadline. Open Merit: 40 years (not born before 01-01-1986). SC, ST-1, ST-2, RBA, ALC/IB, EWS and OBC: 43 years (not before 01-01-1983). Physically Challenged Person: 42 years (not before 01-01-1984), as the notification specifically states; do not automatically append the usual category relaxation. No applicant can be born after 01-01-2008. Ex-servicemen: subtract the length of Armed Forces service from actual age; the resultant age cannot exceed the prescribed upper age by more than three years. Read any subsequent official clarification if overlapping categories arise.

Job location
Jammu and Kashmir, India
Skills
Recognised Civil Engineering technical fundamentals (recruitment qualification area, not employer skills list)Accurate objective MCQ/OMR reading in EnglishCivil engineering calculations with one-fourth negative markingIdentity, J&K domicile and prescribed-category certificate accuracyTechnical documentation and basic engineering judgement
Post description

🏗️ Item 267: Public Works (Roads & Buildings) Department — 176 posts, distinct vacancy roster

The notification does not offer an undifferentiated pool of 458 Junior Engineer seats. Item 267 is a separate UT-cadre departmental choice, with 176 vacancies. In this item OM 71 (40.3%) and the other seven J&K vertical categories follow the exact Annexure-A distribution. Candidates should study their own category within the chosen item, not simply cite the all-department total.

Official J&K categoryItem 267 seats
OM71
SC14
ST-118
ST-218
OBC14
ALC/IB7
RBA17
EWS17
Total176

Competition signal, not a selection forecast. The higher/lower raw seats show where positions are available; a seat count alone cannot predict the cutoff. The official notice does not publish applicant volumes, exam marks, minimum qualification marks or category-wise selection cutoffs.

The qualification gateway is a government-recognised three-year Diploma in Civil Engineering, Civil Engineering degree from an Indian university, or AMIE Sections A and B (India). These are alternative routes, not cumulative requirements. A short-term civil certificate, unrecognised equivalent or unrelated engineering degree should not be represented as acceptable. Any equivalence claim must survive verification by the competent authority.

Pay and status: UT Cadre, Level-6 ₹35,400–₹1,12,400 pay-matrix scale. The first figure is the Level-6 starting basic pay; it is not a promise of ₹1,12,400 starting salary, nor a verified monthly take-home figure. Location/site/allowances/initial in-hand are not specified in Annexure-A. Posting will be governed by the UT Government appointment and service rules.

Selection is exam-only for merit: a JKSSB objective written/OMR examination determines merit; document verification establishes that an otherwise successful candidate actually met domicile, age, education and reservation requirements by the relevant cut-off. The 16-page advertisement does not prescribe an interview or a second engineering paper.

🧾 Choice and form risk: select the exact Item Number, confirm the relevant department, and review preference order before submission. Under the notification, changing department/cadre preferences after submission is not permitted. Only one online application is allowed per same item; applications for different eligible items and their merit-cum-preferences require attention to the portal instructions when those are published.

Department context. Public Works (R&B) is the named indenting and employing department. Roads, bridges and related public infrastructure are the broad administrative field, but the advertisement does not promise an assignment to a particular road project, district or design/supervision role.

🪪 Item 267 — actionable eligibility and recruitment audit

Age / domicile on different dates. Age is measured at 1 January 2026 (OM max 40, designated J&K reserved categories max 43, physically challenged category max 42; special ESM service rule). Domicile/education/category proof must exist by 29 December 2026. Conflating these dates is a direct avoidable eligibility error. Original academic qualification cannot be created retroactively after the application deadline.

Pay-matrix versus cash: ₹35,400–₹1,12,400 is a Level-6 scale; there is no special premium for the roads-and-buildings department and no official promised gross or take-home. If a portal displays “salary ₹1.12 lakh/month on joining”, that is a misuse of the official upper pay-matrix figure.

Exam-specific route: this item feeds the linked JKSSB Junior Engineer (Civil) Written/OMR Examination 2026 — Advertisement 11/2026, Items 266 & 267. It does not have a separate published interview or a second stage carrying merit marks. Candidates should prepare objective English-medium technical problem solving while awaiting the separately notified exact syllabus; the notice makes every wrong answer costly at one-fourth of assigned marks.

DV-critical documents: preserve 10th certificate for DOB/identity, three-year Civil Engineering Diploma or Civil degree/AMIE A&B and completion marksheets, current J&K domicile, matching category documents and final application PDF. Other-UT (non-central-university) degrees may need the notified university Bonafide Certificate at DV. ESM horizontal claims require documentary undertakings as applicable; PwBD scribe/compensatory-time requires Annexures B/C as prescribed.

Two-item logic: this Item 267 must be selected deliberately. Department preferences are not changeable after final submission. One online form per same Item Number; for multiple eligible items, follow Board instructions and select the intended preferences without inventing a third application category.

What remains unannounced: exam date/venue, syllabus, full paper marks and duration, admit-card issue date, individual cutoff, category pass thresholds, posting district, final selection list and joining order. Listing a date or a weightage for any of these as official would be misleading.

Duties

Junior Engineer (Civil) in the Public Works (Roads & Buildings) Department, J&K UT Cadre. The notice gives a title/pay/cadre/qualification roster but no position-specific daily duty list. Actual assigned duties and site will follow appointing authority rules.

Responsibilities
  • Perform Civil Engineering functions within assigned department after appointment subject to government service rules; exact day-to-day task profile is not specified in notice.
  • Maintain valid professional records and meet the terms of UT cadre appointment.
  • Meet eligibility and document verification requirements before joining; truthful category, domicile and academic declarations are required.
Post-specific instructions
  • Apply to exact Item 267 (Public Works (Roads & Buildings) Department) for its own 176-seat reservation roster; do not use combined category totals as this item’s availability.
  • A recognised three-year Civil Engineering diploma OR Civil Engineering degree OR AMIE Sections A & B are the prescribed alternative qualifications.
  • Valid J&K domicile, applicable category certificate and completed qualification required on or before 29 Dec 2026; age calculated separately on 1 Jan 2026.
  • Online application opens 30 Nov 2026 and closes 29 Dec 2026; no closing hour or direct live portal URL is established in the October notice.
  • The original notice requires objective written/OMR English-only examination with negative marking one-fourth of marks for wrong answers; detailed syllabus/date later.
  • No interview is notified; written examination merit and later original-document verification control the recruitment.
  • Retain two recent photos with date, print admit card when later released and bring original photo ID to the exam.
  • Obtain application printout and correct original degree/diploma/AMIE, J&K domicile and reservation record for DV.
  • Level-6 monthly basic scale ₹35,400–₹1,12,400; exact starting in-hand is Not specified.
Reservation note

Official Annexure-A Item 267: OM 71, SC 14, ST-1 18, ST-2 18, OBC 14, ALC/IB 7, RBA 17, EWS 17, total 176. Separate ST-1 vs ST-2. ESM/PwBD horizontal benefits per applicable law, not added to this count.

Selection stages for this post
Objective Written/OMR JE Civil ExaminationMerit-Based Provisional Shortlisting And Original Document VerificationFinal UT-Cadre Appointment/Allotment Under Applicable Rules
Sarkari Sapna

Eligibility & Qualification

Recruitment-level qualifications and eligibility rules. Post-specific conditions are also shown inside each vacancy card.

Valid Jammu and Kashmir domicile certificate by 29 December 2026

Candidates must be domiciles of Jammu and Kashmir UT and hold competent-authority-issued prescribed-form domicile certificate by online application closing date (unless officially extended).

Three alternative prescribed Civil Engineering credentials

Recognised 3-year Diploma in Civil Engineering, or Civil Engineering degree from an Indian university, or AMIE Sections A & B (India), completed on or before 29 Dec 2026. Equivalence claims may require competent-authority certificate.

Valid category documents at the application cut-off

Prescribed-category certificates must be valid by 29 Dec 2026 and uploaded during the online application; the notice disallows a later opportunity for missing category-document upload.

Item-specific application and non-editability of preferences

Select item 266 and/or 267 if eligible. One online application per same item, with no edits of filled department/cadre preferences after final submission.

Provisional admission, original proof at DV

Exam roll number/admit card does not establish final eligibility; original completion, domicile, reservation and identity records are checked later. Nonattendance at DV can invalidate selection.

Sarkari Sapna

Age Limit & Relaxation

Recruitment-level age criteria. Post-specific age conditions remain visible inside each vacancy card.

Minimum age
18
Maximum age
40
Reference date
01 Jan 2026
Age relaxation: The official date is 1 January 2026—not the advertisement date or 29 December application deadline. Open Merit: 40 years (not born before 01-01-1986). SC, ST-1, ST-2, RBA, ALC/IB, EWS and OBC: 43 years (not before 01-01-1983). Physically Challenged Person: 42 years (not before 01-01-1984), as the notification specifically states; do not automatically append the usual category relaxation. No applicant can be born after 01-01-2008. Ex-servicemen: subtract the length of Armed Forces service from actual age; the resultant age cannot exceed the prescribed upper age by more than three years. Read any subsequent official clarification if overlapping categories arise.
Sarkari Sapna

Application Fee

Category-wise application fee information.

Applicant category
OM / OBC / RBA / ALC-IB / other non-reduced categories
₹600
ApplicationNon-refundable

As per JKSSB page 5 and 12: ₹600 online via Net Banking, debit/credit card; nonrefundable.

Applicant category
SC / ST-1 / ST-2 / EWS / PwBD
₹500
ApplicationNon-refundable

Reduced fee ₹500 as specifically named in the notice. This is not a full exemption.

Sarkari Sapna

Salary & Pay Scale

Post-wise salary, stipend or pay-matrix information.

Junior Engineer (Civil) — Jal Shakti Department — Item 266
₹35,400 – ₹1,12,400 / month
6Level-6 ₹35,400–₹1,12,400

Published UT Level-6 BASIC pay-matrix range, not guaranteed monthly gross or in-hand. Starting basic ₹35,400; DA/HRA/deductions and exact take-home not specified.

Junior Engineer (Civil) — Public Works R&B — Item 267
₹35,400 – ₹1,12,400 / month
6Level-6 ₹35,400–₹1,12,400

Same Level-6 BASIC pay matrix as Item 266. Individual posting, gross, deductions and net in-hand not specified.

Sarkari Sapna

Selection Process

Selection stages in the order configured for this recruitment.

1

Objective written/OMR JE Civil examination

Merit for both item 266 and 267 is based on written/OMR exam only. Objective MCQs in English; 1/4 of marks assigned deducted per wrong answer. Date, duration, questions, marks, syllabus and centres to be notified separately; no interview.

2

Merit-based provisional shortlisting and original Document Verification

JKSSB verifies academic diploma/degree/AMIE, J&K domicile, category evidence, proof of age and prescribed documents. Candidates may require outside-UT university Bonafide Certificate and ESM forms. No DV date published.

3

Final UT-cadre appointment/allotment under applicable rules

Final selection/allotment according to written merit, official reservation and applicant department preferences, subject to verification and UT government service rules. No final selection date published.

Sarkari Sapna

Important Dates

Application and recruitment milestones published with this job.

Notification
JKSSB Advertisement No. 11/2026 officially issued
27 Oct 2026

Original page 1 and Annexure-A of the 16-page notice.

Application Start
Online applications open — JE Civil items 266 and 267
30 Nov 2026

Notification page 1; exact start hour is not specified.

Application End
Last date for online form and fee; certificates must meet the cut-off
29 Dec 2026

Notification page 1. The notice does not print a closing hour; keep application_end_time null.

Sarkari Sapna

Official Links & Resources

Application links, notification documents and verified sources in one place.

Sarkari Sapna

Latest Recruitment Updates

Exam and lifecycle records directly connected to this recruitment.

Sarkari Sapna profile photo
Posted by
Sarkari Sapna

सरकारी नौकरी, भर्ती, परीक्षा और career information को सरल, सटीक और उपयोगी रूप में समझाने पर केंद्रित

View profile