

OSSSC Ophthalmic Officer Recruitment 2026: 238 Group-C District Cadre Posts, Apply 5 Nov–5 Dec
OSSSC Ophthalmic Officer Recruitment 2026: official short advertisement IIE-103/2026-3226/OSSSC dated 30 October 2026 confirms 238 District Cadre Group-C vacancies in 29 district establishments of Odisha Health & Family Welfare Department. Registration/re-registration: 5–29 November; final online application: 5 November–5 December 2026. Detailed notification containing age, qualifications, pay, category/district roster and selection rules is still awaited; do not infer them from past recruitments.
About the Recruiting Organization
Organization information attached to this recruitment record.

About this Recruitment
Recruitment-specific overview from the published record.
OSSSC Ophthalmic Officer Recruitment 2026 — 238 District Cadre Vacancies | Short Advertisement
Notice IIE-103/2026-3226/OSSSC | Published 30 October 2026 | Odisha Health & Family Welfare Department | Application begins 5 November 2026
The Odisha Sub-ordinate Staff Selection Commission (OSSSC) has published the short advertisement, not yet the complete recruitment rulebook, for 238 Ophthalmic Officer vacancies in 29 district establishments. This is a genuine new District Cadre Group-C recruitment. Candidates can now identify the correct notice, mark the two different online deadlines and prepare to register. But the notice itself explicitly reserves the final district-wise/category-wise seats, scale of pay, age, eligibility and terms for a detailed advertisement to be issued shortly. Those fields cannot responsibly be invented from a previous Ophthalmic Officer cycle.
Publication status (31 October 2026): Preliminary short-advertisement coverage. Official total and application dates are confirmed. Education, age, salary, application fee, selection pattern and detailed vacancy distribution are Not specified — detailed advertisement awaited. This article will be updated against the same recruitment and URL when OSSSC issues the full notice.
📌 At a glance: verified, not guessed
| Officially announced item | Current information |
|---|---|
| Recruiting Commission | Odisha Sub-ordinate Staff Selection Commission (OSSSC) |
| Notification reference | IIE-103/2026-3226/OSSSC |
| Notification date | 30 October 2026 |
| Position | Ophthalmic Officer |
| Cadre / classification | District Cadre, Group-C |
| Requisitioning department | Health & Family Welfare Department, Government of Odisha |
| Total vacancies | 238 |
| District establishments mentioned | 29; individual district allotments awaited |
| Registration / re-registration opens | 5 November 2026 |
| Registration / re-registration closes | 29 November 2026 |
| Online application submission begins | 5 November 2026 |
| Online application submission ends | 5 December 2026 |
| Application mode | Online only through OSSSC portal |
| Category-wise and district-wise roster | Not specified in short advertisement |
| Academic / technical eligibility | Not specified in short advertisement |
| Upper/lower age and cut-off | Not specified in short advertisement |
| Pay level / salary | Not specified in short advertisement |
| Application fee / exemption | Not specified in short advertisement |
| Examination / selection pattern | Not specified in short advertisement |
🧮 What the figure 238 actually means
The official line refers to 238 numbers of District Cadre Group-C posts of Ophthalmic Officer, in 29 district establishments. The figure 238 is the total across the notified recruitment, not 238 posts in every district. Likewise, 29 establishments are not a district roster and cannot be divided into equal vacancy quotas: 238 ÷ 29 is only an arithmetic average, not an official allocation. The short notice does not publish a UR/SEBC/SC/ST/PwD breakdown, district names, a women's reservation table or vacancy carry-forward classification. Candidates who require a particular district or reservation category must read the detailed advertisement when it is released.
Current vacancy table — one job profile, one recruitment identity
| Post / cadre | Advertised posts |
|---|---|
| Ophthalmic Officer — District Cadre, Group-C | 238 |
| Total | 238 |
A vacancy-based Pie Chart is intentionally omitted at this preliminary stage: there is no genuine category-wise or district-wise parts-of-whole dataset in the short advertisement. It would be misleading to fabricate a UR/SEBC/SC/ST pie or assume equal allotments.
🗓️ Two separate deadlines: first registration, then final submission
There are two online windows. New users and those requiring re-registration should not interpret 5 December as permission to register for the first time after 29 November. The commission prints registration/re-registration as one event and application submission as another. Both begin 5 November, but their closing dates differ.
| Online action | Start date | Last official date |
|---|---|---|
| Registration / Re-registration | 5 November 2026 | 29 November 2026 |
| Submission of online application | 5 November 2026 | 5 December 2026 |
View bar chart: OSSSC registration and final-application window lengths
| Official online window | Calendar days, inclusive |
|---|---|
| Registration / Re-registration, 5–29 November | 25 |
| Online application submission, 5 November–5 December | 31 |
The graph compares calendar-day durations derived directly from published start/end dates, not an exam score, seat allocation or guarantee of portal uptime. Both windows overlap for the first 25 days. The final 6 days (30 November–5 December) are after the stated registration cut-off, but the detailed portal instructions will govern how existing registered candidates complete their applications.
No clock time is mentioned beside either deadline in this short notice. Do not assume a 5 PM, 11:59 PM or midnight cutoff until OSSSC publishes it.
🖥️ How to approach the official application portal
The notice expressly allows online applications only and directs candidates to www.osssc.gov.in. The responsible sequence is: open the Commission's official website; identify the entry for Ophthalmic Officer-2026 bearing reference IIE-103/2026-3226/OSSSC; read all subsequently published detailed instructions; complete registration/re-registration within the published period; then fill, verify and finally submit the required online application before the separate December deadline. The short notice does not specify an offline hard-copy step, so do not add one merely because other employers require it.
A candidate should keep a record of the official registration/application confirmation, subject to what the portal actually provides. Avoid sending identity documents, exam fees or applications to third-party recruitment websites. A direct job-specific form URL is not asserted here because the current primary notice names the official OSSSC portal rather than an independently verified deep link.
🎓 Eligibility: what is not yet established
The phrase Ophthalmic Officer describes the advertised job title; it does not by itself establish a required Diploma in Ophthalmic Assistance, a 12th Science subject combination, council registration, Odia language proficiency or any minimum examination percentage for this 2026 recruitment. The short notice delegates these requirements to the detailed document. It would also be incorrect to infer eligibility by copying qualification criteria from a previous OSSSC notification, even if it used the same post name.
Current educational qualification: Not specified. The authoritative 2026 course(s), recognition, relevant registration and any equivalent-qualification conditions must be checked against the detailed advertisement. This is not a claim that no education is required.
Current experience requirement: Not specified. Do not assume either mandatory experience or guaranteed fresher eligibility. It has not been stated.
🎂 Age limit, reservation and domicile
Minimum age, maximum age, age-calculation date and relaxations: Not specified in the short advertisement. The Commission's detailed rules may distinguish different categories, but no numeric ceiling or concession may be treated as confirmed now.
Reservation roster: Not specified. The short advertisement confirms 238 total seats only. No category-wise numbers, gender-wise distribution, PwD allocations or district-by-district seat details are provided. State domicile or language rules are likewise not printed in this short document. Candidates should not let a social-media infographic turn an unstated criterion into an official rule.
💰 Pay and application charges
Salary / Pay Level: Not specified. Group-C describes the cadre and cannot be used to derive an exact 7th CPC level, basic salary, gross remuneration or take-home pay for this notice. Any numerical salary circulated before the detailed PDF is published must be treated as unverified for Advt. IIE-103/2026-3226/OSSSC.
Application fee and refund/exemptions: Not specified. The short notice does not give a fee amount or fee-payment instructions. Therefore this draft does not encode a fictitious ₹0 fee, non-refundable amount or category-specific exemption. The candidate should use the official portal's current instructions when those are available.
📝 Selection, syllabus and future lifecycle
The short advertisement does not announce a written test, CBRE, marks distribution, duration, negative marking, skill test, interview, medical standard, shortlist ratio, exam date, admit-card release, answer key, result or document-verification schedule. None of those events is currently an official Ophthalmic Officer-2026 exam notice. Do not confuse notifications for Radiographer-2026 or older combined recruitment examinations appearing on the same OSSSC homepage with this particular advertised post.
Once published, the correct detailed notification may establish a specific selection process. Until then, the proper editorial status is Selection process: Not specified — awaiting detailed advertisement, not a fabricated syllabus. An exam, admit card or result record will be added only when an exact matching OSSSC notice exists.
📂 Sensible preparation before the application opens
Candidates can prepare a personal checklist without representing it as an official document requirement. Keep accessible any identity document, date-of-birth proof, certificates/marksheets for your actual qualifications, category or disability certificates if applicable, and an active phone number/email. These are general preparation suggestions, not a published OSSSC Ophthalmic Officer-2026 mandatory upload list. Wait for the portal to announce file formats, accepted certificates and any registration requirements before paying for new documents or submitting declarations.
⚠️ Five mistakes that can cost applicants their chance
- Using 5 December as the registration deadline. Registration/re-registration ends 29 November, while submission of the completed online application ends 5 December.
- Publishing a guessed eligibility formula. The short notice explicitly postpones education, age, pay and detailed terms to a later advertisement.
- Treating the 238 posts as 29 equal district quotas. Total vacancies and establishment count are different kinds of information.
- Assuming a fee is ₹0 because this short notice does not mention one. A blank fee field means unknown, not a waiver.
- Attaching unrelated old admit cards or exam patterns. Only new lifecycle notices that exactly match the Ophthalmic Officer-2026 recruitment should appear here.
❓ Applicant questions — answered only to the extent officially known
Q. Is there a confirmed recruitment in 2026? Yes. The OSSSC short advertisement dated 30 October 2026 expressly invites online applications for 238 Ophthalmic Officer Group-C district-cadre posts.
Q. Can I register on 1 December 2026? The published registration/re-registration window closes 29 November; do not rely on 1 December as a registration date.
Q. Can I submit a completed application on 1 December? The printed application-submission window extends through 5 December, subject to portal instructions and completion of registration by its own deadline.
Q. Does the vacancy table identify every district? No. It mentions 29 district establishments but does not print the 29 district names or district-by-district shares.
Q. How many vacancies are reserved for women, SC, ST, SEBC or PwD? Not specified in the short advertisement. Await the full roster.
Q. What diploma or registration certificate is mandatory? Not specified in this notice; do not treat an earlier recruitment's qualifications as the 2026 rule.
Q. What is the upper age? Not specified; the number and reference date must come from the full notice.
Q. What is the monthly salary or fee? Not specified; neither can be calculated from the words Group-C alone.
Q. Has a written exam date been announced? No exam date is given in the current Ophthalmic Officer short notice.
Q. Will this page become a different job when the detailed PDF arrives? No. This article follows the same OSSSC IIE-103/2026-3226/OSSSC and 238-seat recruitment identity; subsequent confirmed facts belong in an update to this one page, not a second duplicate job listing.
🔗 Original authority and update policy
Official recruitment authority: Odisha Sub-ordinate Staff Selection Commission (OSSSC), Government of Odisha, https://osssc.gov.in. The homepage's Recruitment News lists ADVERTISEMENT No. IIE-103/2026-3226/OSSSC, dated 30.10.2026. The user-supplied signed SHORT ADVERTISEMENT provides the 238-post count, 29 establishments, online-only mode and exact registration/submission windows. The Commission says the complete district-wise/category-wise vacancy, pay, age, eligibility and conditions will be made available shortly on its portal.
Editorial update rule: When the detailed advertisement is available, verify the exact notice reference and refresh this same recruitment record with official category and district tables, post-specific education, age and relaxation, fees, salary, actual exam scheme and application links. Do not create a new slug, treat a later corrigendum as a separate job or silently replace today's confirmed dates without citing the new official revision.
Source status: official short advertisement only, last checked 31 October 2026. Not an eligibility clearance or confirmation of future selection events.
Post-wise Vacancies
Open a post to view qualification, experience, age, salary, location, responsibilities and post-specific instructions.
OSSSC-OPHTHALMIC-OFFICER-2026238 vacanciesOphthalmic Officer (District Cadre, Group-C)
Qualification: Not specified — Odisha OSSSC 30 October 2026 SHORT ADVERTISEMENT expressly says detailed eligibility and terms will be published shortly. Do not import old Ophthalmic Officer Diploma/registration criteria as 2026 facts.Age: Pay: Not specified
Ophthalmic Officer (District Cadre, Group-C)
Not specified — Odisha OSSSC 30 October 2026 SHORT ADVERTISEMENT expressly says detailed eligibility and terms will be published shortly. Do not import old Ophthalmic Officer Diploma/registration criteria as 2026 facts.
Description: Not specified — no age ceiling, minimum, reference date or category relaxation announced in short advertisement.
Ophthalmic Officer — 238 Group-C District Cadre vacancies (2026 short notification)
Directly confirmed: OSSSC, Odisha Health & Family Welfare Department, 238 total posts at 29 district establishments, notice dated 30 Oct 2026. Registration/re-registration: 5–29 November; form submission: 5 November–5 December.
The post is described as District Cadre Group-C, but the preliminary notice does not say which of the 29 establishments have seats, which categories receive seats, or what qualifications, registration, age and pay apply. Do not treat Group-C as an answer to these missing questions.
Education: Not specified (detailed advertisement awaited). Age: Not specified. Experience: Not specified. Salary / Pay Level: Not specified. Application fee: Not specified. Selection and syllabus: Not specified. No exam date or admit card is announced.
A complete applicant-facing update will be made against this same 238-seat recruitment when the detailed PDF is issued. Until then, registered candidates must watch the 29 November registration cutoff, and all applicants must not confuse it with the 5 December form submission cutoff. The Commission permits online applications only through its official portal.
What candidates should do now
Bookmark the original Commission recruitment news for reference IIE-103/2026-3226/OSSSC. Check for the detailed document before submitting statements about education or categories. Prepare your actual educational and identity records; the exact mandatory document checklist has not been published. An individual district or category share cannot be calculated from the headline 238 and 29 establishment counts.
Post title: Ophthalmic Officer. Actual 2026 duty statement and scope of work are not specified in the short advertisement; await detailed recruitment rules.
- Review official OSSSC detailed advertisement when it becomes available.
- Complete OSSSC online Registration / Re-registration between 5 and 29 November 2026.
- Complete and submit the separate online application by 5 December 2026 (time not specified).
- Do not infer eligibility, fee, salary or district preference from the short advertisement or older recruitment cycles.
- Advt IIE-103/2026-3226/OSSSC, dated 2026-10-30; total 238 (single Ophthalmic Officer post profile) across 29 district establishments.
- Online registration/re-registration: 2026-11-05 to 2026-11-29. Online application submission: 2026-11-05 to 2026-12-05.
- Do not hardcode category-wise or district-wise vacancy numbers: OSSSC explicitly promises them in the pending detailed advertisement.
- Qualification, age, fees, numeric pay, eligibility, selection method, syllabus and exam date: Not specified in short advertisement.
- No offline application process or last submission clock time is printed; use the OSSSC official portal and later instructions.
- Preserve the same source_key and slug when full advertisement and later lifecycle notices are received.
Total 238 seats confirmed. No official vertical UR/SEBC/SC/ST or horizontal PwBD/women/ex-servicemen allocation in short advertisement; district-wise roster also awaits detailed PDF. Never invent numbers.
Eligibility & Qualification
Recruitment-level qualifications and eligibility rules. Post-specific conditions are also shown inside each vacancy card.
Online-only filing
Applications will be received through online mode only on the OSSSC portal, as printed in the short advertisement.
Registration deadline separate from submission deadline
Registration/re-registration ends 29 November 2026, whereas submission of the online application ends 5 December 2026. Follow both windows.
Detailed eligibility and roster not yet released
OSSSC states that scale of pay, age, eligibility, district-wise and category-wise seats and other terms will be provided in the detailed advertisement shortly. This record must be updated from that document rather than importing earlier recruitment rules.
Age Limit & Relaxation
Recruitment-level age criteria. Post-specific age conditions remain visible inside each vacancy card.
Salary & Pay Scale
Post-wise salary, stipend or pay-matrix information.
Not specified — the 30 October 2026 OSSSC SHORT ADVERTISEMENT says the scale of pay will be published in the detailed advertisement; no pay amount or pay level is published.
Selection Process
Selection stages in the order configured for this recruitment.
OSSSC short advertisement publication
30 October 2026: official short advertisement No. IIE-103/2026-3226/OSSSC; 238 Ophthalmic Officer posts in 29 Odisha district establishments. Full qualification, salary, roster and terms will be notified separately.
Online Registration / Re-registration
5 November–29 November 2026, as printed in the Commission short advertisement. Registration deadline is earlier than the final online application deadline.
Online application submission
5 November–5 December 2026. Online mode only via OSSSC website. No exact clock time provided in current short advertisement.
Later recruitment selection process, when officially notified
OptionalDetails of examination, merit, verification or any other stages are NOT published in the short advertisement. This is a pending placeholder, not an announced examination event.
Important Dates
Application and recruitment milestones published with this job.
IIE-103/2026-3226/OSSSC; official 238 posts and 29 district establishments; detailed ad awaited.
Both processes show same start date 05.11.2026.
The registration deadline is 29 November. Not the same as final application submission deadline.
The short advertisement publishes 05.12.2026. Closing clock-time is not stated.
Official Links & Resources
Application links, notification documents and verified sources in one place.
सरकारी नौकरी, भर्ती, परीक्षा और career information को सरल, सटीक और उपयोगी रूप में समझाने पर केंद्रित