

Central Railway Cultural Quota Recruitment 2026–27 — Theatre Actor & Harmonium Player, 2 Level-2 Posts
RRC Central Railway Cultural Quota 2026–27: 2 Level-2 vacancies—Theatre Actor (Male) 1 and Harmonium Player 1. Apply online 5 Nov (10 AM)–4 Dec 2026 (6 PM). Separate recognised Acting/Drama or Harmonium qualification essential in addition to Class 12 (50% subject to waivers) or Class 10+CCAA/NCVT-SCVT ITI. Written 50 marks/50 MCQs/60 minutes with 40% qualifying, practical 35 and credentials 15; no interview. Standard age 18–30 on 1 Jan 2027. Fees ₹500/₹250 with conditional refund. 7th CPC Level-2; pay amount not specified in notice.
About the Recruiting Organization
Organization information attached to this recruitment record.

About this Recruitment
Recruitment-specific overview from the published record.
Central Railway Cultural Quota Recruitment 2026–27 — Theatre Actor and Harmonium Player, Level-2
Railway Recruitment Cell, Central Railway | Employment Notice RRC/CR/CULTURAL/03/2026 | 5 November 2026
Central Railway has advertised two Level-2 Cultural Quota positions: one in Theatre Acting (Male) and one in Harmonium performance. The closing time is 6:00 PM on 4 December 2026; applications opened at 10:00 AM on 5 November 2026. These are Railway recruitment vacancies against the cultural quota, not temporary theatre workshops, entertainment contracts or a recruitment for musicians without a recognised professional certificate. Applicants must satisfy both a permitted general academic route and the separate mandatory discipline-specific artistic qualification.
A crucial feature of this notification is the combination of 50-mark written assessment, 35-mark live talent demonstration and 15-mark appraisal of cultural certificates/awards. The written score is a gateway: an applicant who does not secure at least 20 of 50 marks does not become eligible for the practical stage. No personal interview is prescribed. The precise test and demonstration dates are to be announced by RRC. This distinction matters when planning travel, documents, practice and exam preparation.
🗓️ Notice, vacancies and application calendar
| Event | Official detail |
|---|---|
| Employment Notice | RRC/CR/CULTURAL/03/2026, dated 05/11/2026 |
| Quota and year | Central Railway Cultural Quota, 2026–27 |
| Online application starts | 5 November 2026, 10:00 AM |
| Online application ends | 4 December 2026, 6:00 PM |
| Number of positions | 2, one in each advertised artistic discipline |
| Railway pay | Level-2 under the 7th CPC pay matrix; exact rupee basic pay not printed in this notice |
| Reference date for age | 1 January 2027 |
| Written / CBT date | Not announced in the notification |
| Practical demonstration and DV date | Not announced in the notification |
| Application website | https://www.rrccr.com/Home/Home |
Vacancies: discipline, not community reservation
| Advertised cultural discipline | Posts | Essential professional credential |
|---|---|---|
| Theatre Actor (Male) | 1 | Government-recognised degree/diploma/certificate in Acting or Drama |
| Harmonium Player | 1 | Government-recognised degree/diploma/certificate in Harmonium |
| Total | 2 | Both academic and cultural requirements apply |
The two places are open without community-wise reservation. There is no announced UR/OBC/SC/ST/EWS post-wise roster to distribute among these two disciplines. Fee concessions and age relaxations for eligible categories still apply separately; they must not be mistaken for reserved vacancies. The notice also states that, if no suitable person is available in one artistic discipline, a suitable candidate from the other notified discipline can be considered and vice versa, irrespective of gender. This exception should be read alongside the initial 'Theatre Actor (Male)' label; it does not mean the initial advertised positions have been rewritten.
🎓 The two layers of eligibility
An applicant must pass one of the following academic alternatives, and hold the recognised professional cultural credential for the particular position.
| General academic route | Exact condition |
|---|---|
| 12th standard | Recognised 12th/equivalent with at least 50% aggregate; 50% is not insisted on for SC, ST, ex-servicemen, PwBD or candidates with qualifications above the 12th level |
| 10th + completed Act Apprenticeship | Recognised matriculation plus Course Completed Act Apprenticeship |
| 10th + ITI | Recognised matriculation plus an ITI approved by NCVT/SCVT |
The 50% waiver does not remove the need for a recognised Acting/Drama or Harmonium qualification. A candidate with impressive stage experience but no required artistic certificate is not eligible merely on the basis of performances. Conversely, holding the cultural certificate without passing one permitted academic route is also insufficient.
For Theatre Actor, the professional credential must be in Acting/Drama, issued by a government-recognised university/institution. For Harmonium Player, it must be specifically in Harmonium. A general music performance record is not itself a substitute for the notified discipline-specific qualification.
The institutional-recognition certificate — easy to miss
Along with the Acting/Drama or Harmonium degree/diploma/certificate, applicants are instructed to upload a separate certificate issued by that institution confirming its government recognition or status under the relevant central/state government framework. This is unusually important: the awarding institution’s recognition evidence is distinct from the candidate’s individual course-completion document.
The notice permits a candidate who did not upload the recognition certificate to take the written examination provisionally, provided the other requirements are met. However, the missing certificate must be presented at Document Verification; failure at that stage leads to rejection. Candidates should arrange the document now rather than relying on provisional admission.
The note about Clerk-cum-Typist typing speed (30 wpm English/25 wpm Hindi after appointment) is a conditional rule in the notification. It is not a pre-application typing test or a third advertised cultural discipline.
🎭 Theatre Actor (Male) — what can strengthen a qualifying application
The mandatory credential is Acting/Drama. The notice separately lists desirable, not universally compulsory, evidence: proficiency in scriptwriting and direction; three years' Acting/Scriptwriting/Direction experience, preferably with Doordarshan, All India Radio, a reputed/national television channel or a qualifying theatre group; individual State/National awards; State/National/International theatre-festival participation; and knowledge of lighting operation/design or set design.
For a theatre-group claim, the notification describes a reputed group in terms of significant performance platforms and national-calibre artists or group artists active in AIR, television and film. An unsupported club membership is not equivalent to the documented record requested. Record the production, role, organiser, venue/date and proof together where these are available, rather than relying only on a generic reference letter.
🎹 Harmonium Player — performance evidence the notice actually values
The essential professional qualification is a recognised Harmonium course credential. Separately desirable are three years of Harmonium-playing experience, especially in AIR/Doordarshan or reputed television/music groups; individual award-winning performances at State/National level; ability to perform Lehara and accompaniment to solo classical/instrumental musicians; and documented keyboard proficiency in Hindi film or semi-classical songs with relevant recognised musical-group certification.
The notice does not publish an examination raga list, a minimum number of compositions, a compulsory scale or a fixed performance duration. Practice in rhythm stability, melodic accompaniment and live responsiveness is sensible preparation, not an officially published section-wise practical syllabus. A music degree in another instrument cannot be automatically treated as the required Harmonium certificate.
📊 How the selection score is built — 100 marks
🥧 Official share of selection marks: written, practical and credentials
| Evaluated component | Marks |
|---|---|
| Written Test / CBT / Tab Mode | 50 |
| Practical Demonstration / Talent Test | 35 |
| Confirmation by Testimonials / Certificates / Awards | 15 |
The 50+35+15 structure is not a claim that the written paper has 50 questions from each listed general subject. The notice gives 50 total MCQs, bilingual English/Hindi, 60 minutes, and broad areas only: General Awareness, Mathematics, Mental Ability and the notified Cultural Discipline. It does not divide those 50 questions among the four areas. The minimum qualifying requirement for the next stage is 40% of 50 = 20 marks. The marking penalty is one-third of the marks assigned to an objective question for each wrong answer; with the published 50-mark/50-question arrangement, this is approximately 0.333 mark per wrongly answered one-mark question. No interview takes place.
Written test: making the 60 minutes count
A practical 50-question/60-minute approach should protect time for the discipline-related questions as well as the general subjects. Practice accurate arithmetic without assuming calculators are permitted: the notice forbids calculators and electronic communication devices in the examination premises. For General Awareness, prepare to identify major public and cultural developments; for Mathematics and Mental Ability, prepare ordinary quantitative/reasoning work suitable for multiple-choice examination. The railway has not specified chapter-by-chapter weightages; any practice topic beyond the four notified headings is a candidate preparation suggestion, not an official test blueprint.
For the theatre discipline, revise terminology and working methods of acting, stage direction, scripting and theatre production in the context of a professional live demonstration. For the harmonium discipline, prepare basic music-theory vocabulary and practical identification of instrument technique and accompaniment, but do not assume an undisclosed compulsory raga set. The exact question standard is not specified.
Practical assessment and certificates are not interchangeable
The 35-mark practical assesses a demonstration in the notified field. The 15-mark credential head concerns corroboration of talent with testimonials, performance records and awards. Do not treat the 15 marks as a guaranteed addition for merely submitting one certificate; the notification does not publish a certificate-wise scoring table. Originals and self-attested copies need to be brought to the practical/DV stage. Candidates must bring their own cultural kits and be prepared for a possible two-to-three-day stay, with travel and accommodation at personal expense. No TA/DA or accommodation is guaranteed for the selection process.
🧮 Age: the notified birth-date boundaries
The ordinary age band is 18 to 30 years as on 1 January 2027. The notification states both endpoints are inclusive:
| Applicant category | Earliest permitted date of birth | Latest permitted date of birth |
|---|---|---|
| UR — standard band | 01 January 1997 | 01 January 2009 |
| OBC-NCL — standard relaxation | 01 January 1994 | 01 January 2009 |
| SC/ST — standard relaxation | 01 January 1992 | 01 January 2009 |
In addition, documented upper-age relaxation is specified for eligible ex-servicemen (defence service + 3 years under the notified service condition); PwBD (UR 10 years, OBC 13 years, SC/ST 15 years); qualifying widowed/divorced/judicially separated women who have not remarried (UR 35, OBC 38, SC/ST 40 years); certain railway quasi-administrative staff (actual service up to five years); and qualifying railway substitutes with three continuous years (UR 40, OBC 43, SC/ST 45 years). These are conditional concessions, not universal limits. Read paragraphs 3.4–3.8 and prepare proof of eligibility. OBC applicants need the Central Government non-creamy-layer certificate, in the prescribed format.
💳 Examination fee, conditional refund and EBC distinction
📊 Examination fee at application: the two notified payment classes
| Applicant fee class | Fee in INR |
|---|---|
| General and all applicants outside the reduced-fee group | 500 |
| SC/ST, Ex-servicemen, PwBD, women, minorities and EBC | 250 |
| Payment class | Pay at application | Potential refund after qualifying attendance conditions |
|---|---|---|
| Standard-fee applicants | ₹500 | ₹400 |
| Reduced-fee applicants | ₹250 | ₹250 |
Refund requires the applicant to be eligible under the notice and actually appear in the written test. Applicable bank charges are deducted. Ineligible candidates who applied regardless cannot claim the advertised refund. Online payment is integrated into the application, and the e-receipt should be saved.
Economically Backward Class (EBC) in this fee provision means family annual income below ₹50,000 under the notification; it is not the same as EWS seat reservation. EBC supporting evidence must conform to Annexure B and the eligible issuing authority, while minority applicants seeking the reduced-fee treatment have the Annexure A self-declaration and corresponding affidavit obligation at DV. Those are proof requirements for a fee concession, not separate vacant categories.
📎 Upload checklist and verification traps
The application must be made online at the official RRC Central Railway website. Applicants should provide their names and birth dates exactly as recorded on the matriculation or equivalent certificate. Where a legal change of name occurred before application, supporting legal/Gazette evidence is needed at DV. Keep an active personal mobile number and email address for later notices.
| Upload | Official specification |
|---|---|
| Photograph | Recent colour photo, 3.5 × 3.5 cm, JPG/JPEG, 100 DPI, 20–70 KB; clear frontal view without cap/sunglasses |
| Signature | 3.5 × 2.5 cm, JPG/JPEG, 100 DPI, 20–30 KB; running handwriting in English/Hindi, not block capitals |
| General education | Marksheet/certificate for the selected 12th or matriculation-plus-Apprenticeship/ITI route |
| Cultural qualification | Appropriate Acting/Drama or Harmonium certificate |
| Recognition evidence | Separate proof of the issuing institution's recognised status — mandatory by DV |
| Date of birth | 10th/equivalent mark sheet/certificate or school-leaving certificate showing date of birth |
| Category evidence | As applicable for age/fee concession: approved community, PwBD or EBC documents |
Aadhaar or the specified enrolment ID is generally requested; the notice gives alternate government ID routes for applicants from Jammu & Kashmir, Meghalaya and Assam. Candidates must not post physical copies of the application to RRC. Keep the online Registration ID, a printed application and the fee e-receipt. The notification warns against filing multiple variants of an application with different photos, contact details or personal qualifications.
OBC-NCL applicants: the notification requires a Central Government format certificate issued on or after 1 April 2026 when applicable. SC/ST concessionary railway travel: where the proper community certificate was uploaded, an eligible candidate's later e-call letter may incorporate second-class free travel authority; the conditions and original document checks are specified in paragraph 11.2. This is not a general free-travel benefit for every candidate.
🪪 What follows after application
RRC will announce the eligibility status and written-test schedule through its website and contact channels. The e-call letter is ordinarily available about seven days before the written examination, when the date is issued; no fixed calendar date can currently be inferred. Bring the e-call letter, original approved photo ID, a recent photograph and applicable original community certificate to the examination.
Qualifying written-test candidates move to original-document verification and practical demonstration. The institutional-recognition certificate for the artistic course must be produced by DV even if provisional written-stage admission was allowed. Selected candidates remain subject to medical standards, original-document/character checks and a Railway appointment order. Employment may be anywhere on Central Railway, not necessarily in Mumbai. The specific railway unit, department and pay-level basic amount are not given here.
Important employer and applicant safeguards
Applicants already working in PSU/government organisations are asked to produce an NOC at practical demonstration. There is no recruitment interview. Candidates should not trust intermediaries, agents or private coaching centres claiming to appoint applicants for RRC. No timetable for the written test, document verification, practical test, answer key or final panel is published in this 5 November notice.
Official references
- Central Railway Cultural Quota 2026–27: complete Employment Notice and Annexures A–D
- Railway Recruitment Cell, Central Railway — apply online and future selection notices
Enquiries on the online cultural application: cultural@rrccr.com.
Post-wise Vacancies
Open a post to view qualification, experience, age, salary, location, responsibilities and post-specific instructions.
1 vacanciesTheatre Actor (Male)
Qualification: One of the three permitted general academic alternatives PLUS a distinct Degree/Diploma/Certificate from a Government-recognised institute in Acting/Drama. Institutional recognition evidence required by original-document verification. The cultural course is essential regardless of the general academic route.Age: 18–30 yearsPay: 7th CPC Level-2; initial minimum of level plus applicable allowances
Theatre Actor (Male)
One of the three permitted general academic alternatives PLUS a distinct Degree/Diploma/Certificate from a Government-recognised institute in Acting/Drama. Institutional recognition evidence required by original-document verification. The cultural course is essential regardless of the general academic route.
Required: No · Description: Three years of qualifying acting/scriptwriting/direction experience is DESIRABLE, not a mandatory minimum; proof from theatre groups/media, awards or festivals is helpful.
Description: As on 1 January 2027, ordinary age 18–30; SC/ST upper age +5 years and OBC-NCL +3. Other documented exemptions: ex-servicemen qualifying defence service plus 3 years; PwBD UR/OBC/SC-ST +10/+13/+15; eligible widowed/divorced/judicially separated women UR/OBC/SC-ST caps 35/38/40; qualifying railway quasi-administrative workers actual service up to 5 years; qualifying railway substitutes with three continuous years UR/OBC/SC-ST caps 40/43/45. See original para 3.
Theatre Actor (Male) — one notified cultural-quota vacancy
Professional identity: The notified title is Theatre Actor (Male), with one initial discipline-specific vacancy. The same notice contains an exceptional adjustment clause: if a suitable candidate in one of the two disciplines is unavailable, the other discipline's suitable candidate may be chosen and vice versa, irrespective of gender. This should not be confused with a general male-only examination for both disciplines. There is no community-wise reservation of the two positions.
1. The two independent qualifications
Theatre candidates must satisfy at least one academic route — recognised 12th with 50% aggregate (subject to the express exemptions); recognised 10th plus Course Completed Act Apprenticeship; or recognised 10th plus NCVT/SCVT-approved ITI. Separately and always, the applicant must possess Acting/Drama degree, diploma or certificate from a government-recognised institution. A drama production record cannot cure the absence of a qualifying professional course. The cultural institution must also issue confirmation of its legally recognised government status, to be uploaded if available and produced by the time of DV.
2. What the notice rewards, without making it an entry barrier
The desirable criteria name scriptwriting, direction, and ideally three years of acting/scripting/directing experience in Doordarshan, AIR, national/reputed television or qualified theatre groups; performance award records; festival participation; and stage lighting or set-design expertise. The notice does not make those three years compulsory for every eligible applicant. A candidate with the mandatory course and fewer years is not automatically disqualified on that basis alone.
Individual awards at State or National competitions and documented participation in State, National or International festivals are relevant supporting records. For group theatre, the notification's 'reputed group' definition refers to artists/platforms with nationally recognised performance exposure or engagement in AIR, television or films. Keep a chronological set of original certificates, production credits, casting/role proof and event identifiers: a vague claim such as 'five productions performed' without corroboration is weak evidence for the separately evaluated 15-mark talent-confirmation head.
3. A genuinely useful preparation plan
The written test is 50 bilingual MCQs in 60 minutes, covering General Awareness, Mathematics, Mental Ability and the cultural subject. Within theatre preparation, practise the fundamental vocabulary of scene construction, character objectives, stage positioning, dialogue delivery, rehearsal process and the difference between direction and performance. These are preparation areas, not an additional officially prescribed chapter list: RRC has not published theatre-topic question allotments or the duration/content of the practical scene.
For the 35-mark Practical Demonstration, practise short, varied repertoire pieces that show clear diction, pacing, voice dynamics, pauses, physical awareness and adaptability. Be ready to explain actual training and stage responsibilities if asked as part of the talent presentation, but remember that there is no separate personal interview. Because costume, props or other artistic tools are the candidate's responsibility, prepare portable essentials consistent with any later e-call instructions.
4. Documents and assessment risks specific to acting
Bring original Acting/Drama qualification evidence and confirmation that the awarding institution is recognised in the notified government manner. Where an educational institution cannot issue that recognition letter before the online form closes, the notice allows provisional written-stage participation but requires the proof at DV. Bring any scriptwriting/direction, theatre-festival, AIR/Doordarshan/television and award certificates that accurately relate to you. Exaggerating a group’s national standing or submitting a forged festival award can result in disqualification.
Theatre candidates still face the same 50/35/15 score framework, 20/50 written qualifying minimum, one-third negative mark per erroneous answer, age cut-off 01 January 2027, and 04 December 2026, 6 PM online deadline. The posting after successful appointment may be anywhere on Central Railway.
- Perform theatre/acting in the relevant cultural discipline, subject to the Railway’s deployment
- Participate in assessed Practical Demonstration and documented talent evaluation
- Apply online at the RRC Central Railway official website by 04 December 2026, 6:00 PM; keep the Registration ID and application printout.
- Submit the recognised Acting/Drama professional credential and secure the awarding institution's government-recognition confirmation for original-document verification.
- Upload photograph JPG/JPEG 20–70 KB (3.5 × 3.5 cm, 100 DPI) and running handwritten signature JPG/JPEG 20–30 KB (3.5 × 2.5 cm, 100 DPI).
- Bring original identity, academic qualification, category/fee entitlement and artistic performance evidence when called; no postal submission of the application is required.
- Written test requires at least 20/50 after negative marking to proceed; the examination date and practical timetable will be announced officially.
Both cultural disciplines are open to all communities without category-wise seat reservation. These two positions may be adjusted between disciplines if a suitable candidate is unavailable for one, subject to the notice and its irrespective-of-gender clause. Fee concessions/age relaxation remain separately applicable.
1 vacanciesHarmonium Player
Qualification: One of the three permitted general academic alternatives PLUS a distinct Degree/Diploma/Certificate from a Government-recognised institute in Harmonium. Institutional recognition evidence required by original-document verification. The cultural course is essential regardless of the general academic route.Age: 18–30 yearsPay: 7th CPC Level-2; initial minimum of level plus applicable allowances
Harmonium Player
One of the three permitted general academic alternatives PLUS a distinct Degree/Diploma/Certificate from a Government-recognised institute in Harmonium. Institutional recognition evidence required by original-document verification. The cultural course is essential regardless of the general academic route.
Required: No · Description: Three years of documented Harmonium playing is DESIRABLE; AIR/Doordarshan/reputed group exposure, awards and Lehara/classical accompaniment may add value.
Description: As on 1 January 2027, ordinary age 18–30; SC/ST upper age +5 years and OBC-NCL +3. Other documented exemptions: ex-servicemen qualifying defence service plus 3 years; PwBD UR/OBC/SC-ST +10/+13/+15; eligible widowed/divorced/judicially separated women UR/OBC/SC-ST caps 35/38/40; qualifying railway quasi-administrative workers actual service up to 5 years; qualifying railway substitutes with three continuous years UR/OBC/SC-ST caps 40/43/45. See original para 3.
Harmonium Player — one notified cultural-quota vacancy
Professional identity: This is one Level-2 position notified specifically for a Harmonium Player, not a generic keyboard operator, singer, percussionist or instrumentalist in another branch of music. The notification's exceptional cross-discipline filling clause applies only in the terms printed for these two notified cultural disciplines.
1. Certificate must identify Harmonium
The mandatory professional requirement is a government-recognised Degree, Diploma or Certificate in Harmonium, in addition to one general academic route: 12th with aggregate 50% where that threshold applies, or 10th plus a completed Act Apprenticeship, or 10th plus an NCVT/SCVT-recognised ITI. A BA, Diploma or certificate simply mentioning 'music' cannot be assumed to establish the specific Harmonium qualification without checking the awarded subject. Obtain the institution’s separate recognition confirmation; this is required no later than original-document verification.
2. Four separate kinds of supporting evidence
The desirable list values three years of documented Harmonium playing, preferably with reputed musical bodies or AIR/Doordarshan; individual State/National award-winning performance; Lehara and classical/instrumental solo accompaniment; and playing Hindi film/semi-classical music on keyboard, backed by suitable group certificates. The notification defines a reputed musical group by significant platforms and nationally established artists or artists with AIR/television/film involvement. One cannot automatically claim three-year professional experience from classroom lessons alone, and this experience is desirable rather than an independently compulsory minimum.
The distinction among these evidence types is material. Lehara is an accompaniment function where recurring melodic support and rhythmic steadiness matter. Solo classical/instrumental accompaniment tests listening, tempo continuity and responsiveness. Keyboard use for Hindi songs is a desirable additional ability, but a keyboard-only certificate does not replace a Harmonium credential. Festival participation and awards may support the 15-mark documentary head when appropriately evidenced; the exact per-certificate score is not published.
3. Prepare for the actual assessment without a fabricated syllabus
The common written examination consists of 50 English/Hindi MCQs for 50 marks over 60 minutes. Its official broad headings are General Awareness, Mathematics, Mental Ability and Cultural Discipline Related Subject. For Harmonium preparation, practise instrument construction/function, hand coordination, control of pitch and tempo, attentive accompaniment, rhythmic phrases and repertory that illustrates genuine Harmonium proficiency. This is structured candidate preparation, not a claim that RRC has announced a raga-wise timetable or 25 music questions.
The 35-mark practical calls for skill in the notified cultural discipline. Prepare a compact, representative programme that can show melodic phrasing, rhythm and accompaniment; ensure any portable equipment meets subsequent venue instructions. The notification does not state whether RRC will supply an instrument, how long each recital runs, or the exact exercises to be demonstrated. Carry your own relevant instrument/kit unless the later official instructions provide otherwise. Be prepared for two to three days of travel/stay if required for demonstration, with no promised TA/DA.
4. Verification and final conditions
Bring original Harmonium degree/diploma/certificate and government-recognition proof of its issuing institute, as well as marked awards/appearances and recognised-group credentials if claimed. Other original qualifications, a valid photo ID, appropriate category/fee documents and printed online application are also required at the notified stages. Applicant age is generally 18–30 on 01 January 2027, subject only to the published concessions. Written minimum 20/50, one-third negative marking and no interview apply here as well. Final appointment is conditional on the Railway’s medical and verification process, with posting anywhere on Central Railway.
- Perform Harmonium in the notified cultural discipline as assigned
- Demonstrate professional Harmonium capability during the Practical Demonstration
- Apply online at the RRC Central Railway official website by 04 December 2026, 6:00 PM; keep the Registration ID and application printout.
- Submit the recognised Harmonium professional credential and secure the awarding institution's government-recognition confirmation for original-document verification.
- Upload photograph JPG/JPEG 20–70 KB (3.5 × 3.5 cm, 100 DPI) and running handwritten signature JPG/JPEG 20–30 KB (3.5 × 2.5 cm, 100 DPI).
- Bring original identity, academic qualification, category/fee entitlement and artistic performance evidence when called; no postal submission of the application is required.
- Written test requires at least 20/50 after negative marking to proceed; the examination date and practical timetable will be announced officially.
Both cultural disciplines are open to all communities without category-wise seat reservation. These two positions may be adjusted between disciplines if a suitable candidate is unavailable for one, subject to the notice and its irrespective-of-gender clause. Fee concessions/age relaxation remain separately applicable.
Eligibility & Qualification
Recruitment-level qualifications and eligibility rules. Post-specific conditions are also shown inside each vacancy card.
One permitted general academic pathway
Recognised Class 12 with 50% aggregate subject to the notified exemptions OR recognised matriculation with completed Act Apprenticeship OR recognised matriculation plus NCVT/SCVT ITI. These are alternatives; none is sufficient without the artistic qualification.
Recognised Acting/Drama or Harmonium professional qualification
Theatre Actor requires a recognised Degree/Diploma/Certificate in Acting/Drama; Harmonium Player requires it specifically in Harmonium. Separate proof of institutional recognition is obligatory by DV.
Government recognition of the awarding cultural institution
Upload the institution-issued certificate of statutory/government recognition with the cultural credential where available. Without upload the written stage may be provisional, but original recognition evidence is compulsory at DV.
Desirable professional experience
Three years of artistic experience is desirable for each discipline, with the exact kinds of recognised media, stage, concert or theatre-group evidence detailed separately. The advertisement does not impose three years as a general mandatory eligibility minimum.
Indian nationality and specified alternative eligibility cases
Eligible Indian citizens and categories of Nepal/Bhutan subjects, pre-1962 Tibetan refugees and certain persons of Indian origin meeting the notice rules. The latter groups require the Government of India certificate of eligibility before appointment.
Written-stage qualifying condition
Written/CBT/Tab mode comprises 50 MCQs/50 marks in 60 minutes, with one-third negative marking and a minimum 40% written score to become eligible for DV and practical assessment.
Original documents and conduct requirements
Original education, relevant professional cultural certificate and recognition proof, DOB and approved photo ID, relevant category credentials, and NOC if employed in PSU/government must be produced when notified; application information must be truthful and consistent.
Railway medical fitness
Successful applicants must meet the applicable Railway medical fitness standard for the assigned post, as determined by the Railway administration after the selection assessment.
Age Limit & Relaxation
Recruitment-level age criteria. Post-specific age conditions remain visible inside each vacancy card.
Application Fee
Category-wise application fee information.
₹500 payable online. ₹400 may be refunded to eligible candidates who actually attend the written test, after bank-charge deductions. Not a full ₹500 refund.
₹250 payable online. Same ₹250 may be refunded for eligible applicants who actually appear in written test, less bank charges. Minority Annexure A/affidavit or EBC income Annexure B conditions apply as relevant; EBC family income must be <₹50,000/year.
Salary & Pay Scale
Post-wise salary, stipend or pay-matrix information.
The advertisement expressly specifies Level-2 and admissible allowances but does not print a numerical basic-pay amount. Do not infer a take-home salary or consolidated package.
The advertisement expressly specifies Level-2 and admissible allowances but does not print a numerical basic-pay amount. Do not infer a take-home salary or consolidated package.
Selection Process
Selection stages in the order configured for this recruitment.
Application scrutiny and professional-qualification screening
Online applications and mandatory educational plus discipline-specific Acting/Drama or Harmonium documents are checked. Professional-institution recognition evidence is essential by document verification; submission rules under paragraphs 2(B), 7–10 apply.
Written Test / CBT / Tab Mode
Fifty objective multiple-choice questions, 50 marks, 60 minutes, in English and Hindi. General Awareness, Mathematics, Mental Ability and notified cultural discipline. Minimum 40% (20/50) to advance; one-third of the mark allotted to a question deducted for each wrong answer. RRC will announce date and venue.
Original Document Verification
Those qualifying the written test are considered for original-document examination, including artistic qualification and recognition certificate, education, date of birth, identity and category/fee-concession evidence where applicable.
Practical Demonstration / Talent Test
Practical display of the appropriate theatrical or Harmonium talent, marked out of 35. Candidates should arrive with their own discipline-specific kits and anticipate possible 2–3-day attendance at their own expense when notified.
Testimonials / Certificates / Awards Assessment
Up to 15 marks for documented awards, qualifications and cultural performance credentials under the prescribed talent-confirmation head. This is part of the 100-mark recruitment assessment, not a separate seat reservation.
Medical fitness, final checks and appointment
Final appointment requires Railway medical fitness, verification of character/antecedents, educational and other certificates, and the administration’s appointment decision. Posting can be anywhere on Central Railway.
Important Dates
Application and recruitment milestones published with this job.
Employment Notice RRC/CR/CULTURAL/03/2026; 2026–27 cultural-quota cycle.
10:00 AM Indian Standard Time.
6:00 PM Indian Standard Time; online submission only.
Official Links & Resources
Application links, notification documents and verified sources in one place.
Official actions
Verified sources
Latest Recruitment Updates
Exam and lifecycle records directly connected to this recruitment.
सरकारी नौकरी, भर्ती, परीक्षा और career information को सरल, सटीक और उपयोगी रूप में समझाने पर केंद्रित