

Orissa High Court Civil Judge Senior Division LDCE 2026: 30 Posts, 245 Marks, Advt 05/2026
Orissa High Court Civil Judge (Senior Division) LDCE 2026, Advertisement 05/2026: 30 departmental vacancies for Civil Judge (Junior Division) officers with three qualifying years by 1 April 2026. Pay scale ₹1,11,000–1,63,030. Two two-hour law papers of 100 marks each, Viva 30 and three-year service-record evaluation 15, giving 245 marks overall. Applications 9–25 November.
About the Recruiting Organization
Organization information attached to this recruitment record.

About this Recruitment
Recruitment-specific overview from the published record.
Orissa High Court Civil Judge (Senior Division) LDCE 2026 — 30 Vacancies, 245 Marks and Full Law Syllabus
🏛️ Recruiting authority: High Court of Orissa, Cuttack
Advertisement: No. 05 of 2026, 4 November 2026 (posted on the Court Recruitment Corner 5 November 2026)
Recruitment route: Promotion to Civil Judge (Senior Division) through Limited Departmental Competitive Examination under the O.S.J.S. and O.J.S. Rules, 2007, with subsequent amendments.
📌 Verified facts
| Item | Official details |
|---|---|
| Vacancies | 30 |
| Eligible applicants | Serving Civil Judge (Junior Division) officers meeting the qualifying-service rule |
| Required service | At least 3 qualifying years as Civil Judge (Junior Division) |
| Service reference date | 1 April 2026 |
| Pay scale | ₹1,11,000–₹1,63,030 plus admissible D.A. and other allowances |
| Online application start | 9 November 2026, 10:00 AM IST |
| Online application last date | 25 November 2026, 11:59 PM IST |
| Written examination | Two papers, 100 marks each, two hours each |
| Viva-Voce | 30 marks |
| Last three years' Service Reports | 15 marks |
| Final assessment | 245 marks |
🏛️ The 30 vacancies are a departmental promotion opportunity—not open Civil Judge recruitment
Advertisement 05 of 2026 is for promotion to the Civil Judge (Senior Division) cadre through a Limited Departmental Competitive Examination (LDCE). The Court invites eligible Civil Judge (Junior Division) officers; the advertisement does not invite new law graduates, private advocates or first-time candidates to the judicial service. In a batch of three judicial advertisements released together, this is the one with the ₹1,11,000–₹1,63,030 salary scale and 245 total selection marks.
The cadre distinction matters. The High Court's consolidated judicial-service rules identify Junior Division and Senior Division as different judicial cadres. Advertisement 05/2026 measures the eligible officer's Junior Division judicial-service tenure; Advertisement 04/2026 measures both Junior and Senior Division service for the separate District Judge LDCE; Advertisement 03/2026 uses the direct District Judge experience routes. A candidate who chooses the wrong route could find their application ineligible even though all three notices share the same 9–25 November application window.
🎓 The three-year test is tied to a specific service-entry date
The sole express service threshold in Advertisement 05/2026 is three completed years as Civil Judge (Junior Division) on 1 April 2026. The signed notice explicitly says that the date of entry into judicial service in the Junior Division cadre is used for calculating these three years.
| Check | Official rule | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Eligible cadre | Civil Judge (Junior Division) | This is restricted departmental competition |
| Qualifying service | At least 3 completed years | Shorter service does not meet the requirement |
| Reference date | 1 April 2026 | Later service accumulation cannot change eligibility on that date |
| Service calculation begins | Actual entry into judicial service as Junior Division Civil Judge | Counted from the notified entry event, not from LL.B. graduation or Bar enrolment |
Illustrative date comparison: entry into Junior Division judicial service on 1 April 2023 gives three years as of 1 April 2026, assuming the entire period is qualifying service. Entry on 2 April 2023 falls one day short of three completed years on that reference date. The illustration demonstrates the calculation only; the competent authority decides whether a given officer's actual service qualifies under the rules.
There is no seven-year combined-service requirement in this advertisement. That seven-year condition belongs to District Judge LDCE Advertisement 04/2026, not this Civil Judge Senior Division process. Nor does the 2026 Civil Judge Senior Division advertisement give a new external LL.B.-based eligibility route, a separate age band or a caste-wise vacancy split. Stating a typical age limit from some other Civil Judge recruitment would be misleading.
🧮 The selection score has three parts: 200 + 30 + 15 = 245
The Court sets two written law papers of 100 marks each, followed by 30 Viva-Voce marks and 15 marks for evaluation of three preceding years' CCR/PAR/ACR reports. The combined maximum is 245, not 200 and not 230. The last figure, 230, belongs to both separate District Judge recruitment routes, each with a different assessment structure.
🥧 245-mark Civil Judge LDCE merit composition
| Component | Marks |
|---|---|
| Written Paper I + II | 200 |
| Viva-Voce | 30 |
| Three-year CCR/PAR/ACR review | 15 |
The written papers are the largest component at 200/245. Nevertheless, the Court expressly demands 40% in Viva, meaning 12 out of 30, for appointment. The service-report marks may distinguish candidates with similar written and interview scores, but the notice does not publish a fixed report-grade-to-marks table.
Three years of CCR/PAR/ACR are considered, immediately preceding the examination year. The Court does not prescribe, in this notice, a separate ten-mark disposal-rate assessment or twenty-mark judgment portfolio. Those extra elements are part of District Judge LDCE Advertisement 04/2026 and must not be imported into this 30-post selection.
📚 Civil Law Paper I — 100 marks in two hours
Paper I has 30 marks for CPC 1908, 30 marks for Personal Laws, and 40 marks collectively for the announced group of other civil and Odisha-specific laws. The third group is broader than a generic CPC/Contract/Property outline: it includes Odisha Survey and Settlement, Odisha Prevention of Land Encroachment and Odisha Hindu Religious Endowments, alongside land reforms and procedural/commercial enactments.
📊 Paper I Civil Law statutory-group marks
| Component | Marks |
|---|---|
| CPC 1908 | 30 |
| Personal Laws | 30 |
| Other civil and Odisha laws | 40 |
The forty-mark statutory group includes the Transfer of Property Act, Specific Relief Act, Limitation Act, Law of Contract, Odisha Consolidation of Holdings and Prevention of Fragmentation of Land Act, Odisha Estate Abolition Act, Odisha Land Reforms Act, Arbitration and Conciliation Act, Commercial Courts Act, Odisha Survey and Settlement Act, Odisha Prevention of Land Encroachment Act and Odisha Hindu Religious Endowments Act. These laws collectively receive 40 marks; no individual Act in the group is assigned a guaranteed sub-score in the advertisement.
A useful preparation distinction is between general civil adjudication (CPC), personal legal relationships (Personal Laws) and the substantive/local statutes (property, relief, limitation, contracts, land-administration and religious endowments). That is an explanatory way to organise the Court's subjects, not a Court-issued list of exact questions or topics likely to appear.
⚖️ Criminal Law Paper II — four equal 25-mark bands
📊 Paper II Criminal Law statutory-group marks
| Component | Marks |
|---|---|
| CrPC/BNSS | 25 |
| IPC/BNS | 25 |
| Evidence Act/BSA | 25 |
| Special and regulatory enactments | 25 |
The first 25 marks group the CrPC 1973 with BNSS 2023. The second 25 group the IPC 1860 with BNS 2023. The third 25 group the Indian Evidence Act 1872 with Bharatiya Sakshya Adhiniyam 2023. The fourth 25 cover all the special legislation named in the notice together. This makes Paper II's structure exceptionally easy to misstate: the four bands are equally weighted, but the final band contains multiple separate laws.
The listed fourth-group subjects are Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006; Essential Commodities Act; Environment (Protection) Act; Water (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act, 1974; Protection of Women from Domestic Violence Act, 2005; Juvenile Justice (Care and Protection of Children) Act; and POCSO Act. The 30-post Civil Judge Senior Division notice does not enumerate NDPS, Prevention of Corruption or SC/ST (Prevention of Atrocities) in this group. Those named laws occur in a different advertisement's special-law syllabus. Applicants should use the actual signed examination scheme they are entering.
🎯 Two simultaneous written minimums control access to Viva
The notice requires at least 50% combined marks across both written papers and at least 45% in each written paper. Because both are worth 100, the arithmetic is direct: 100 out of 200 total and at least 45 out of 100 individually. Neither condition replaces the other.
| Illustrative Paper I / Paper II score | Reading of official thresholds |
|---|---|
| 58 / 52 | 110 aggregate, both papers at least 45; written thresholds satisfied |
| 76 / 35 | 111 aggregate, but Paper II under 45; individual-paper requirement missed |
| 47 / 48 | Both papers at least 45, but 95 aggregate; combined 50% requirement missed |
Candidates reaching the written minima may proceed to the Viva under the Court's process. The notice does not state a 1:10 shortlisting ratio for this LDCE, so such a ratio should not be assumed from District Judge Direct Recruitment. The Viva itself carries 30 marks; a candidate must secure at least 12 to satisfy the published final-selection condition. The Court then determines merit from the written papers, Viva and three-year appraisal review.
The exam date, centre, hall-ticket release, question count, question type and negative-marking provisions are not stated in this signed advertisement. Do not rely on circulating guesses about any of them.
🧾 Filing the correct form and preparing the work record
The online window is 9 November 2026, 10:00 AM to 25 November 2026, 11:59 PM. On the High Court's website, the correct entry is Limited Departmental Competitive Examination for Civil Judge (Senior Division), 2026. The officer must intimate the concerned Controlling Authority and use the prescribed online channel, not a physical submission or an unrelated District Judge application.
The advertisement specifically requires a recent, clearly visible passport-size colour photograph and a full, correctly oriented signature on white background. It does not publish a separate category-wise breakdown, a numeric fee or a list of academic certificates for outsiders. Applicants should not infer that a fee was formally waived merely because no fee is specified here. For multiple forms, the Court will consider only the latest version with the higher acknowledgement number. Incorrect or incomplete applications may be rejected.
Once the eligible list, examination date, e-admission letter and Viva arrangements are released, they will be placed on the official High Court website. Admission letters are not posted. Missing any required examination stage can lead to rejection. TA/DA is not payable for attending the examination. After promotion, the selected officers are subject to probation under Rule 33; the advertisement does not expressly prescribe the separate District Judge training clause for this 30-post Civil Judge promotion.
The advertised ₹1,11,000–₹1,63,030 pay scale is accompanied by normally admissible allowances. A selected officer's exact pay fixation, posting and take-home amount cannot be determined from the recruitment PDF alone. The total 30 vacancies may change at the Court's discretion, and any actual new exam/admission/result announcement should be identified from the Court's own subsequent notice.
🔗 Original Civil Judge Senior Division LDCE notice
Read Advertisement 05/2026 — signed five-page official PDF. The High Court Recruitment Corner carries official stage notices; the Examination Portal should be used for the correct application when listed. Form assistance: 9437498780 or ohcrecruitment1948@gmail.com, working days 10:30 AM–4:30 PM during the application period.
Post-wise Vacancies
Open a post to view qualification, experience, age, salary, location, responsibilities and post-specific instructions.
30 vacanciesCivil Judge (Senior Division) — Limited Departmental Competitive Examination
Qualification: The notice is a departmental examination confined to Civil Judge (Junior Division) officers with at least three years qualifying service as on 1 April 2026. No separate academic qualification route for external applicants is specified.Age: Not specifiedPay: ₹1,11,000 – ₹1,63,030 / month
Civil Judge (Senior Division) — Limited Departmental Competitive Examination
The notice is a departmental examination confined to Civil Judge (Junior Division) officers with at least three years qualifying service as on 1 April 2026. No separate academic qualification route for external applicants is specified.
Required: Yes · Description: Three completed years of qualifying service as Civil Judge (Junior Division) by 1 April 2026; counted from the officer’s initial date of entry into that cadre. · Minimum Years: 3
Civil Judge (Senior Division) — 30 departmental vacancies
This advertised route is Limited Departmental Competitive Examination for already serving Civil Judge (Junior Division) officers, not an open entrance examination for new law graduates. The candidate must have completed three qualifying years in that cadre on 1 April 2026, calculated from the date of initial entry into judicial service as a Civil Judge (Junior Division).
The original document provides 30 vacancies, but does not state category-wise allocation, an independent age limit or an application fee. The pay scale is ₹1,11,000–₹1,63,030 with normal admissible allowances. Selected officers will be placed on probation under Rule 33 of the Orissa Superior Judicial Service and Orissa Judicial Service Rules, 2007, as amended.
What the examination tests
Paper I is 100 marks across CPC 30, Personal Laws 30 and other civil/Odisha statutes 40. It names Odisha Survey and Settlement, Odisha Prevention of Land Encroachment and Odisha Hindu Religious Endowments Acts within the broad group. Paper II is 100 marks across CrPC/BNSS 25, IPC/BNS 25, Evidence/BSA 25 and the prescribed group of other legislation 25. Each paper lasts two hours. The combined written requirement is 50%, with at least 45% in each paper to progress to Viva.
The Viva carries 30 marks, with at least 40% (12) required for selection, while the previous three years' CCR/PAR/ACR reports carry another 15 marks. The final merit is therefore out of 245. Do not confuse this three-year, fifteen-mark review with the five-year, twenty-mark reports and additional disposal/judgment checks used for District Judge LDCE.
Filing and official status
Complete the form online under the exact Civil Judge (Senior Division) LDCE 2026 option between 9 and 25 November 2026. Inform your Controlling Authority, upload a correctly oriented recent colour photograph and a full signature with a white background, and retain your acknowledgment. Written and Viva dates are not given in the advertisement. There is no postal delivery of admission letters; applicants should follow the High Court Recruitment Corner for official notices.
Original signed 5-page notification.
The eligible officer is defined by Junior Division service
This is a 30-post Limited Departmental Competitive Examination for promotion into Civil Judge (Senior Division). The applicant must already be serving in the Civil Judge (Junior Division) cadre and must have three completed qualifying years on 1 April 2026. Those years are counted from the original date of entry into judicial service as a Junior Division Civil Judge. The notice contains no additional seven-year combined-service requirement—that belongs to the separate District Judge LDCE.
No invented academic or age rule should replace this service condition
The signed departmental notice does not publish a fresh LL.B. route for external applicants, a separate age range or a category-wise distribution of its 30 seats. It also does not state a separate fee figure. These absences must not be turned into invented age ceilings, free-application guarantees or reserved-seat counts. The vacancy is real, but its eligibility is expressly restricted to existing judicial officers.
Examination topics and weightage
Two two-hour, 100-mark written papers cover Civil Law and Criminal Law. Paper I allocates 30 to CPC, 30 to Personal Laws and 40 collectively to the published civil/land statutes, including the three distinctive Odisha statutes on survey/settlement, land encroachment and Hindu religious endowments. Paper II allocates 25 each to CrPC/BNSS, IPC/BNS, Evidence/BSA and its published list of special legislation. A candidate must have 50% in the two papers combined and at least 45% in each to be considered for Viva.
Final score, service appraisal and probation
Viva carries 30, with 12 marks required under its 40% final-selection minimum. CCR/PAR/ACR evaluation for the three years preceding the examination year carries 15. Maximum merit is therefore 200 + 30 + 15 = 245. The five-judgment portfolio and five-year disposal-rate marks of District Judge LDCE do not apply to this exam. Selected officers are subject to probation under Rule 33 of the governing judicial-service rules.
Filing deadlines and official updates
The specified application period runs from 9 November 2026 at 10:00 AM to 25 November 2026 at 11:59 PM. Use the High Court's correct Civil Judge Senior Division LDCE 2026 online option and notify the appropriate controlling authority. Upload the clearly visible colour photo and full signature against a white background. No written-exam date, e-admission letter or result has been published in this advertisement. The High Court states that admission letters will not be sent by post. The notified pay scale is ₹1,11,000–₹1,63,030 with admissible allowances.
- Apply online between 9 November 2026 at 10:00 AM and 25 November 2026 at 11:59 PM IST for the correct Civil Judge (Senior Division) LDCE.
- Inform the relevant Controlling Authority of the application.
- Upload a recent properly oriented passport-size colour photograph and full clearly visible signature on a white background.
- If submitting multiple forms, only the latest form with the higher acknowledgment number will be considered.
- Check the High Court official website for eligible list, examination/viva dates and e-admission letter; letters will not be posted.
The advertisement announces 30 departmental posts without a category-wise roster. No category numbers are inferred.
Eligibility & Qualification
Recruitment-level qualifications and eligibility rules. Post-specific conditions are also shown inside each vacancy card.
Three years as Civil Judge (Junior Division)
Minimum of three qualifying years of judicial service as Civil Judge (Junior Division) completed as of 1 April 2026. The qualifying period is counted from the date of entry into the Junior Division cadre.
Eligibility limited to serving Junior Division judicial officers
This is a limited departmental competitive examination and does not constitute a general vacancy open to outside applicants.
Intimation to controlling authority
Applicants must inform their concerned Controlling Authorities of submitting the online form.
Salary & Pay Scale
Post-wise salary, stipend or pay-matrix information.
Notified pay scale, with admissible dearness allowance and other allowances under applicable rules. This is a scale, not a guaranteed take-home amount.
Selection Process
Selection stages in the order configured for this recruitment.
Civil Judge Senior Division LDCE Written Examination
Two written 100-mark papers lasting two hours each; at least 50% aggregate and 45% in each paper.
Civil Judge Senior Division LDCE Viva-Voce
Oral test of 30 marks, requiring at least 40% of available marks for final selection.
Three-Year CCR/PAR/ACR Evaluation
Official judicial performance/conduct records from the three years immediately preceding examination year are evaluated for 15 marks.
Important Dates
Application and recruitment milestones published with this job.
Recruitment Corner published the advertisement on 5 November 2026.
Opening time: 10:00 AM IST.
Closing time: 11:59 PM IST.
Official Links & Resources
Application links, notification documents and verified sources in one place.
Official actions
Verified sources
Latest Recruitment Updates
Exam and lifecycle records directly connected to this recruitment.
सरकारी नौकरी, भर्ती, परीक्षा और career information को सरल, सटीक और उपयोगी रूप में समझाने पर केंद्रित