Orissa High Court logo
Orissa High CourtNEWApplications open soon

Orissa High Court District Judge LDCE 2026: 46 Posts, 230-Mark Selection, Advt 04/2026

Orissa High Court District Judge LDCE 2026: 46 departmental vacancies for eligible Civil Judge (Senior Division) officers with three years in the senior cadre and seven combined judicial-service years by 1 April 2026. Pay scale ₹1,44,840–1,94,660. Written papers total 150 marks; viva 30, service reports 20, disposal rate 10 and five judgments 20. Online forms 9–25 November.

Advertisement No. 04 of 2026Posted 04 Nov 202621 days left
Total vacancies
46
Last date
25 Nov 2026 ? 11:59 PM
Application mode
Online
Job location
Odisha
Organization profile

About the Recruiting Organization

Organization information attached to this recruitment record.

Orissa High Court logo
Recruiting AuthorityRecruiting authority

Orissa High Court

OtherHigh CourtJudiciary
Organization code
HC-ORISSA
Official jobs
View all jobs
Official website
Sarkari Sapna

About this Recruitment

Recruitment-specific overview from the published record.

Orissa High Court District Judge LDCE 2026 — 46 Posts, Judicial Service Eligibility and 230-Mark Assessment

🏛️ Issued by: High Court of Orissa, Cuttack
Advertisement No.: 04 of 2026, signed 4 November 2026, displayed in the official Recruitment Corner 5 November 2026.
Cadre: District Judge; selection through the Limited Departmental Competitive Examination, governed by the Orissa Superior Judicial Service and Orissa Judicial Service Rules, 2007, as amended.

📌 Essential details

ParticularOfficial detail
Number of posts46
Who is eligibleQualifying Civil Judge (Senior Division) officers only
Service cut-off1 April 2026
Minimum Senior Division service3 qualifying years
Minimum Junior + Senior Division combined service7 qualifying years
Pay scale₹1,44,840–₹1,94,660 plus admissible D.A. and allowances
Online application begins9 November 2026, 10:00 AM IST
Last date25 November 2026, 11:59 PM IST
Written papersTwo × 75 marks; two hours per paper
Merit componentsWritten 150 + Viva 30 + Service Reports 20 + Disposal Rate 10 + Judgment Quality 20

🏛️ District Judge LDCE is a promotion competition, not a second direct-entry route

Advertisement 04/2026 concerns 46 District Judge cadre vacancies through the Limited Departmental Competitive Examination. The relevant candidates are judicial officers already serving in the Civil Judge (Senior Division) cadre and satisfying the stated service tests. An LL.B. degree, seven years of practice at the Bar, or a wish to enter judicial service does not by itself open this departmental channel. The separate 38-post District Judge Direct Recruitment has different eligibility, a different paper structure and a different selection composition even though both use the District Judge salary scale.

The High Court's consolidated OSJS/OJS rules, amended through 19 December 2025, describe the three recognised ways of filling District Judge cadre posts—usual promotion, LDCE and direct recruitment—and identify LDCE as a merit-based departmental channel. The precise advertised 2026 vacancies and conditions, however, come from Advertisement 04/2026 itself. It would be inaccurate to merge the 46 departmental posts with the 38 direct-entry seats and present a single 84-seat application form.

🎓 Both service conditions must be satisfied on 1 April 2026

The eligibility sentence has two separate minimums joined by 'and':

Service measureRequired minimumWhich event starts the calculation?
Qualifying service as Civil Judge (Senior Division)3 yearsDate of notification of promotion into the Senior Division cadre
Combined Junior + Senior Division service7 yearsJunior Division entry into judicial service, continuing through the relevant Senior Division service

An officer who has eight total years but only two years of qualifying Senior Division service fails the first requirement. Likewise, an officer with three years of Senior Division service and only six combined years fails the second. The Court's notice does not allow the extra total years to replace a shortfall in the Senior Division period, or vice versa.

Illustration: Assume an officer entered the Junior Division cadre on 1 March 2018 and the Senior Division promotion was notified on 15 March 2023. As of 1 April 2026, the combined period exceeds seven years and the Senior Division period exceeds three years, so those illustrative dates meet both service-duration tests. By contrast, a Senior Division promotion first notified on 15 April 2023 would leave the Senior Division tenure short of three years on 1 April 2026, however long the earlier Junior Division service. These dates illustrate the advertised counting rule; they are not actual applicants or additional official cutoffs.

The most important documentary distinction is the promotion notification date. Informal assignment, a pay-scale change or the date someone began handling a particular category of case should not be casually substituted for the entry and promotion dates identified by the Court. Applicants can reconcile their service entry, promotion order and controlling-authority records before completing the form.

🧮 The 230-mark evaluation is more than a written examination

The advertised scheme has five assessment headings: written examination (Paper I 75 plus Paper II 75), Viva-Voce 30, performance reports 20, disposal rate 10 and quality of judgments 20. The two papers together contribute 150/230 marks. But even a strong written performance cannot erase the remaining 80 marks, which include judicial work records and Viva.

🥧 Distribution of the 230 final-merit marks

ComponentMarks
Written examination150
Viva-Voce30
Five-year CCR/PAR/ACR20
Five-year disposal record10
Quality of five judgments20

The service record + disposal + judgment-quality components make up 50/230 marks. Those 50 marks are not another classroom test: they concern the officer's existing judicial work. This is the most consequential difference from a conventional multiple-paper recruitment examination. The notice does not give an independent minimum qualifying score for every appraisal component; none should be invented.

Five-year performance records: CCR/PAR/ACR — 20 marks

The three names refer to the relevant confidential or performance-appraisal reporting instruments. The advertisement assesses the five years immediately preceding the examination year, not merely whichever three reports the candidate chooses. The Court publishes the maximum mark of 20 but does not supply a public table automatically converting each possible report grade into marks in this advertisement. Applicants should therefore avoid interpreting a self-assessed report grade as a guaranteed score.

Five-year case-disposal rate — 10 marks

The Court assigns another 10 marks to disposal rate for the preceding five years. These are not ten marks merely for the number of decisions listed on the application. The notice provides a distinct assessed component and does not announce a candidate-facing universal minimum disposal percentage or fixed conversion formula. Officers should ensure their official workload/disposal records are accurate rather than circulating unsupported 'safe disposal' targets.

Quality of judgments — 20 marks across five judicial decisions

This is the most document-specific requirement in the 46-post advertisement. A candidate must submit two judgments of their choice, together with a list of ten contested judgments delivered by that officer in the Civil Judge (Senior Division) cadre. The list must give court name, case number, parties' names and date of delivery. The Court will randomly select three additional judgments from that ten-judgment list. Consequently five judgments in total are evaluated.

Judgment selection methodNumber actually evaluated
Candidate-chosen judgments2
Additional judgments selected at random from ten listed contested judgments3
Total judgments assessed5

The list of ten is not the same thing as ten additional judgments that all earn individual marks; three of those ten are selected for assessment. The advertisement does not specify a mandatory judgment word count, a point-by-point marking rubric, or a required legal subject for the chosen judgments. Presenting such details as official would be misleading. Clear identification of the decided cases and compliance with the specified portfolio structure are the practical necessities explicitly supported by the notice.

📚 The 75 + 75 written scheme has different subject weightage from the other two notices

Each LDCE paper lasts two hours and carries 75 marks. Paper I is Civil Law; Paper II is Criminal Law. Paper I allocates 25 marks each to CPC, Personal Laws and the entire group of other specified civil laws. Paper II allocates 20 marks each to the CrPC/BNSS pair, IPC/BNS pair and Evidence/BSA pair; 15 marks collectively cover special laws. In contrast, District Judge Direct Recruitment has two 100-mark law papers plus a qualifying General English paper, while Civil Judge Senior Division LDCE has two 100-mark papers with a different statute list.

📊 Civil Law Paper I topic marks

ComponentMarks
CPC 190825
Personal Laws25
Other civil and Odisha legislation25

📊 Criminal Law Paper II topic marks

ComponentMarks
CrPC/BNSS20
IPC/BNS20
Evidence/BSA20
Special Acts15

Do not treat each Act in the 'other laws' category as a separate 25- or 15-mark allocation. Those are shared subject-group totals. The Paper I group includes the law relating to motor accident and claims; the Paper II group expressly includes NDPS, Prevention of Corruption, SC/ST (Prevention of Atrocities) and the named child-protection laws. A candidate studying the Civil Judge Senior Division LDCE syllabus would encounter a different list.

🎯 The qualifying written rule is two tests at once

An officer is called for Viva only after scoring at least 50% overall across both written papers and at least 45% in each individual paper, subject to the Court's selection procedures. Because the combined written maximum is 150, the aggregate minimum is 75; because each paper is 75, 45% of one paper is 33.75 marks. This is the mathematical threshold from the advertisement, not a claim about how partial marks will be rounded during assessment.

Example Paper I / Paper II marksReading of the rule
40 / 4080/150; both individual scores exceed 45%; written thresholds satisfied
60 / 2585/150 but Paper II is below 45%; aggregate alone does not qualify
35 / 35Both above 45% individually, but only 70/150; aggregate minimum missed

The Court additionally requires 40% of the 30-mark Viva-Voce, meaning at least 12 marks, for final selection. The ultimate merit total combines written examination, Viva, five-year CCR/PAR/ACR assessment, five-year disposal rate and judgment-quality evaluation. A candidate should not assume written qualification, Viva qualification and final selection are interchangeable outcomes.

📝 Application route, current status and future court notices

The form opens at 10:00 AM on 9 November 2026 and closes at 11:59 PM on 25 November 2026. The correct option is the High Court's District Judge LDCE 2026, not the Direct Recruitment exam or Civil Judge Senior Division LDCE. The notice instructs officers to apply online only and to intimate the Controlling Authority. A legible, properly oriented recent passport-size colour photograph and clearly visible full signature on a white background must be uploaded.

No separate application fee, written examination date, hall-ticket release date, judgment-assessment appointment, Viva date or final-result publication date is announced in Advertisement 04/2026. The absence of a stated fee does not itself establish that every applicant is entitled to a formally notified zero-fee waiver. Forms submitted outside the online channel and inaccurate/incomplete forms can be rejected; on multiple submissions, only the latest application carrying the higher acknowledgement number is considered.

There is no postal admission letter. The Court will publish stage notices, eligible lists and e-admission letters on its official website. Failure to attend a notified selection stage can lead to rejection. No examination travel or daily allowance is payable. On recruitment, Rule 30-A training and Rule 33 probation are expressly prescribed. The notified pay scale is ₹1,44,840–₹1,94,660 plus permissible allowances; it is a scale, not an assured salary credited each month.

🔗 Original District Judge LDCE notice

Read Advertisement 04/2026 — signed six-page official PDF. Future examination-stage announcements are published in the High Court Recruitment Corner. For form-submission assistance, the notice lists 9437498780 and ohcrecruitment1948@gmail.com, working days 10:30 AM–4:30 PM during the application period.

RegularRegularOnsiteJudiciary
Sarkari Sapna

Post-wise Vacancies

Open a post to view qualification, experience, age, salary, location, responsibilities and post-specific instructions.

46 vacancies

District Judge — Limited Departmental Competitive Examination

Qualification: No fresh standalone educational degree requirement is specified for this departmental examination. Eligibility is defined through service in the judicial cadre: three qualifying years in Civil Judge (Senior Division) and seven total qualifying years in Junior and Senior Divisions, both as of 1 April 2026.
Age: Not specified
Pay: ₹1,44,840 – ₹1,94,660 / month
Educational qualification

No fresh standalone educational degree requirement is specified for this departmental examination. Eligibility is defined through service in the judicial cadre: three qualifying years in Civil Judge (Senior Division) and seven total qualifying years in Junior and Senior Divisions, both as of 1 April 2026.

Experience

Required: Yes · Description: Combined qualifying judicial service at least seven years, including a separate minimum of three years in the Senior Division. Reference date 1 April 2026. · Minimum Years: 7

Job location
Odisha, India
Post description

District Judge — 46 departmental vacancies (Advt 04/2026)

These 46 openings are for advancement through the Limited Departmental Competitive Examination, not external direct appointment from the Bar. The eligibility reference is 1 April 2026. The applicant must have at least three qualifying years in the Civil Judge (Senior Division) cadre and, independently, seven qualifying years when Junior and Senior Division judicial service is combined.

The High Court expressly distinguishes the dates from which the qualifying service is counted. Senior Division service begins at the date of notification of promotion to the cadre; Junior Division service starts at original entry into the judicial service as Civil Judge (Junior Division). Both counts should be checked before filing an application.

There is only one advertised cadre and 46 total vacancies. The original notice does not give a category-wise roster or age limits, and it does not publish an application fee. The notified salary scale is ₹1,44,840–₹1,94,660 with admissible allowances.

Exam, judgment portfolio and merit

The two written papers are 75 marks each, lasting two hours each. Paper I covers CPC, personal laws and notified central/Odisha civil statutes. Paper II covers criminal procedure, substantive penal law, evidence and a special-enactment group. The candidate requires at least 50% in the written aggregate and 45% in each paper to be called for viva. The Viva is 30 marks, with at least 12 marks required for final selection.

The final 230 marks comprise written 150, Viva 30, previous five years' CCR/PAR/ACR reports 20, case-disposal rate for the preceding five years 10 and quality of five judgments 20. For the judgment assessment, the candidate supplies two selected judgments and ten listed contested judgments from the Senior Division cadre; the Court chooses three additional judgments randomly from the list for evaluation. The list must specify court, case number, litigants and date of delivery.

Apply and follow official notices

Online applications run 9 November 2026, 10:00 AM–25 November 2026, 11:59 PM IST, under District Judge LDCE 2026 in the High Court Recruitment Corner. Applicants must inform their Controlling Authorities and upload a legible colour photograph and full signature on white. Only the most recent application with the higher acknowledgment number is considered when multiple forms exist. The Court will announce stage dates and electronic admission letters on its website, not through postal mail. Judicial training and probation are governed by the 2007 service rules as amended.

Read the official six-page advertisement.

Eligibility turns on two service periods, not academic re-entry

The 46 advertised vacancies are for promotion into the District Judge cadre through LDCE. Only qualified serving Civil Judge (Senior Division) officers can compete. By 1 April 2026, an officer must have completed at least three years' qualifying Senior Division service and at least seven total years of Junior/Senior Division judicial service. The Senior Division promotion-notification date and original entry into Junior Division judicial service are the two controlling career milestones. Meeting one condition without the other is insufficient.

The written examination is 150 marks, but total merit is 230

There are two two-hour papers of 75 marks each, rather than the three-paper, 300-written-mark direct-recruitment scheme. Civil Law Paper I assigns 25/25/25 to CPC, Personal Laws and the combined civil/Odisha statute group. Criminal Law Paper II assigns 20/20/20/15 to CrPC-BNSS, IPC-BNS, Evidence-BSA and special statutes. Candidates must obtain 50% aggregate in both papers and 45% individually to proceed to Viva. At least 12/30 in Viva is needed for selection.

Judicial work history has its own 50 marks

The Court reviews five years' CCR/PAR/ACR reports for 20 marks, five years' case-disposal rate for 10 marks and five judgments' quality for 20 marks. The judgment portfolio has an unusual exact method: submit two chosen judgments, list ten contested judgments delivered as Senior Division judge, and let the Court randomly select three more from the list. The latter three plus the chosen two make five judgments assessed. A list of ten is a selection pool, not ten extra scoring events.

Practical filing conditions and appointment

The proper application is District Judge LDCE 2026 under the High Court's examination portal, open 9 November, 10 AM to 25 November, 11:59 PM. Upload the specified colour photo and signature and give the required controlling-authority intimation. A separate fee, examination date and admission-letter date are not stated in the notice. No postal admission letters or TA/DA are promised. The official pay scale is ₹1,44,840–₹1,94,660 with admissible allowances; the appointed officers are subject to Rule 30-A training and Rule 33 probation.

Post-specific instructions
  • Apply online between 9 November 2026 at 10:00 AM and 25 November 2026 at 11:59 PM IST, selecting District Judge LDCE 2026.
  • Inform the concerned Controlling Authority of the online application.
  • Upload a recent passport-size colour photograph and a full legible signature with white background.
  • Prepare two personally chosen judgments and a separate list of ten contested Civil Judge (Senior Division) judgments with court, case number, parties and date of delivery.
  • If submitting more than one form, only the most recent form with the higher acknowledgment number will be considered.
  • Check the High Court official site for the eligible list, examination dates and e-admission letter, which will not arrive by post.
Reservation note

The official notice states 46 vacancies but no vertical-category or horizontal-category allocation; do not infer a split.

Selection stages for this post
District Judge LDCE Written ExaminationDistrict Judge LDCE Viva-VoceFive-Year CCR/PAR/ACR EvaluationFive-Year Disposal Rate EvaluationQuality Assessment Of Five Judgments
Sarkari Sapna

Eligibility & Qualification

Recruitment-level qualifications and eligibility rules. Post-specific conditions are also shown inside each vacancy card.

Three qualifying Senior Division judicial-service years

At least three years as Civil Judge (Senior Division) counted from notification of promotion to that cadre, completed by 1 April 2026.

Min: 3Mandatory

Seven combined Junior/Senior Division judicial-service years

At least seven years combining Civil Judge (Junior Division) and Civil Judge (Senior Division) qualifying service completed by 1 April 2026. This condition is additional to the three-year senior-cadre requirement.

Min: 7Mandatory

Serving judicial officer eligible for departmental competition

Only judicial officers meeting the stipulated cadre/service conditions may apply; the notice does not open this route to outside advocates or fresh law graduates.

Intimation to controlling authority

An applicant must apply online and inform the concerned Controlling Authority.

Sarkari Sapna

Salary & Pay Scale

Post-wise salary, stipend or pay-matrix information.

District Judge — Limited Departmental Competitive Examination
₹1,44,840 – ₹1,94,660 / month
₹144,840–₹194,660

Notified pay scale, with admissible dearness allowance and other allowances under applicable rules. This is a scale, not a guaranteed take-home amount.

Sarkari Sapna

Selection Process

Selection stages in the order configured for this recruitment.

1

District Judge LDCE Written Examination

Two written papers of 75 marks each; two hours each; 50% total and not below 45% in each paper for Viva eligibility.

2

District Judge LDCE Viva-Voce

Thirty-mark oral examination; minimum 40% score required for final selection.

3

Five-Year CCR/PAR/ACR Evaluation

Review of service reports for the five years immediately preceding examination year; 20 marks.

4

Five-Year Disposal Rate Evaluation

Assessment of court-case disposal rate over the preceding five years; 10 marks.

5

Quality Assessment of Five Judgments

Candidate provides two selected judgments and lists ten contested Senior Division judgments; three are picked at random for a five-judgment, 20-mark evaluation.

Sarkari Sapna

Important Dates

Application and recruitment milestones published with this job.

Notification
Advertisement signed at Cuttack
04 Nov 2026

Recruitment Corner published the advertisement on 5 November 2026.

Application Start
Online applications open at 10:00 AM IST
09 Nov 2026

Opening time: 10:00 AM IST.

Application End
Online application deadline at 11:59 PM IST
25 Nov 2026

Closing time: 11:59 PM IST.

Sarkari Sapna

Official Links & Resources

Application links, notification documents and verified sources in one place.

Sarkari Sapna

Latest Recruitment Updates

Exam and lifecycle records directly connected to this recruitment.

Sarkari Sapna profile photo
Posted by
Sarkari Sapna

सरकारी नौकरी, भर्ती, परीक्षा और career information को सरल, सटीक और उपयोगी रूप में समझाने पर केंद्रित

View profile